High Commissioner Mario Bot

Message from the High Commissioner

Kia oraand welcome to the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand’s website.

Our mission staff in Wellington and at our consulate in Auckland, both Canadians and New Zealanders, work to deliver a wide range of programs to advance Canada’s interests and priorities, including consular services, trade and business development, political and economic relations, development assistance and public affairs. We also represent Canada’s interests in the five Pacific Islands to which we are accredited: the Republic of Fiji, the Independent State of Samoa, the Kingdom of Tonga, the Republic of Kiribati and Tuvalu.

This work is undertaken on a solid foundation of warm bilateral relations. New Zealand and Canada are longstanding friends and in 2015 celebrated 75 years of diplomatic relations. The relationship is marked by shared fundamental values, including the promotion of democracy, human rights, good governance and the rule of law.

Through frequent high level visits between Canada  and New Zealand, our goal is to strengthen the effective working relationship we share on a broad range of issues, such as security and defence, human rights, multilateral trade negotiations, and environmental and indigenous issues.

Canada shares important business, trade and investment ties with New Zealand. Two-way trade between our countries exceeds $1 billion and continues to show impressive growth. Our Trade Office in Auckland supports Canadian companies in their business development efforts and both missions are always looking for new opportunities to expand these ties.

As a major player in the South Pacific, New Zealand assists us in understanding regional developments. We cooperate closely with New Zealand as a partner in the UN, the Commonwealth, APEC and the ASEAN Regional Forum.

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, the High Commission supports projects in our Pacific Islands of accreditation that promote human rights; expanded democratic participation (particularly by women); entrenching the rule of law; and strengthening economic governance.

In addition to providing consular and passport services to Canadian citizens, the High Commission also assists those interested in travelling to Canada or moving there for study or work. A growing number of New Zealanders take up such opportunities each year through the popular International Experience Canada programme.

If you are a Canadian resident or citizen visiting or living in New Zealand, please take a moment to register at the Registration of Canadians (ROCA) page so we can best assist you in case of a natural disaster or emergency situation.

I invite you to explore this site to learn more about our work in promoting Canadian interests in New Zealand and the South Pacific.

My wife Jennifer and I look forward to exploring as much of New Zealand as possible during our time in this wonderful country.

Mario Bot
High Commissioner

Biography - High Commissioner Mario Bot

In June 2015, Mario Bot assumed his responsibilities as Canada’s 21st High Commissioner to New Zealand with concurrent accreditation to the Republic of Fiji, the Republic of Kiribati, the Independent State of Samoa, the Kingdom of Tonga, and Tuvalu.

Prior to his current position, Mario Bot was assigned to the Embassy of Canada in Washington from 2010 to 2014 where he served as both the Consul General and the Executive Director of the Regional Services Centre for the United States. From 2006 to 2010, he was posted to the High Commission of Canada in London where he served as the Management and Consular Officer. In 1992, he joined the Office of the Inspector General in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. He served as both Director of Audit and Deputy Inspector General and inspected over 110 missions abroad. Prior to joining the Foreign Ministry, Mario Bot worked for Consulting and Audit Canada, an agency of the Government of Canada.

Mario Bot is a graduate of Carleton University with a Bachelor of Commerce degree. He is also a Chartered Professional Accountant - Certified Management Accountant.

Mario Bot was born in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. When not posted abroad, he and his spouse Thu Huong (Jennifer) Nguyen live in Ottawa. They enjoy hiking, travelling and sampling the cuisines of the world.

Career History:

2010 – 2014
Executive Director – Regional Services Centre and Consul General   
Canadian Embassy, Washington, DC, USA

2006 – 2010
Management and Consular Officer
High Commission of Canada, London, UK

2004 – 2006
Deputy Inspector General and Director of Audit
DFAIT, Ottawa

1997 – 2004
Director of Audit
DFAIT, Ottawa

1992 – 1997
Senior Auditor/Audit Manager
DFAIT, Ottawa

1977 – 1992
Consultant and Auditor
Consulting and Audit Canada, Agency of the Government of Canada

Haut-commissaire Mario Bot

Message du haut-commissaire

Kia ora et bienvenue sur le site Web du haut-commissariat du Canada auprès de la Nouvelle-Zélande.

L’équipe du haut-commissariat à Wellington et du consulat à Auckland, laquelle compte des Canadiens et des Néo-Zélandais, veille à la réalisation une vaste gamme de programmes permettant de faire avancer les intérêts et les priorités du Canada, y compris les services consulaires, le commerce et le développement des affaires, les relations politiques et économiques, l’aide au développement et les affaires publiques. Nous représentons aussi les intérêts du Canada dans les cinq îles du Pacifique dont nous détenons l’accréditation : la République des Îles Fidji, la République des Kiribati, l’État indépendant des Samoa, le Royaume des Tonga et Tuvalu.

Le travail que nous effectuons en Nouvelle-Zélande est soutenu par notre relation bilatérale chaleureuse. La Nouvelle‑Zélande et le Canada sont des amis de longue date, qui ont célébré en 2015 les 75 ans de leurs relations diplomatiques. Ces dernières sont fondées sur des valeurs fondamentales communes, notamment la promotion de la démocratie, le respect des droits de la personne, la saine gouvernance et la primauté du droit.

Par la voie de rencontres de haut niveau fréquentes entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande, nous visons à renforcer l’efficacité de notre relation de travail sur une vaste gamme d’enjeux, comme la sécurité et la défense, les droits de la personne, les négociations commerciales multilatérales, ainsi que les questions environnementales et autochtones.

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande entretiennent de solides liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement. En effet, le commerce bilatéral entre les deux pays dépasse le milliard de dollars et continue d’afficher une croissance importante. Notre bureau commercial d’Auckland appuie les entreprises canadiennes dans l’expansion de leurs affaires, et nos deux missions cherchent les occasions de renforcer les liens entre les deux pays.

En tant qu’acteur d’influence dans la région du Pacifique Sud, la Nouvelle-Zélande nous aide à comprendre les nouvelles réalités régionales. Nous collaborons étroitement avec elle à titre de partenaire au sein des Nations Unies, du Commonwealth, de l’APEC et du Forum régional de l’ANASE.

Par la voie du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, le haut-commissariat appuie dans les îles du Pacifique dont il détient l’accréditation des projets qui visent à promouvoir les droits de la personne, la participation à la démocratie (surtout des femmes), l’intégration de la primauté du droit et le renforcement de la gouvernance économique.

En plus de fournir des services consulaires et de passeport aux citoyens canadiens, le haut-commissariat aide les personnes qui souhaitent voyager au Canada ou y résider pour étudier ou travailler. De plus en plus de Néo-Zélandais saisissent une telle occasion chaque annéepar la voie du programme Expérience internationale Canada.

Si vous êtes un résident ou un citoyen canadien qui voyagez ou vivez en Nouvelle‑Zélande, prenez un moment pour remplir le formulaire d’Inscription des Canadiens à l'étranger, de sorte que nous puissions vous porter assistance en cas de catastrophe naturelle ou de situation d’urgence.

Je vous invite à parcourir ce site pour en apprendre davantage sur nos initiatives visant à promouvoir les intérêts du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande et dans la région du Pacifique Sud.

Ma conjointe Jennifer et moi-même avons hâte de découvrir toute la beauté de la Nouvelle-Zélande au cours de notre séjour dans ce merveilleux pays.

Mario Bot
Haut-commissaire

Biographie - Haut-commissaire Mario Bot

En juin 2015, Mario Bot est devenu le 21e haut-commissaire du Canada auprès de la Nouvelle-Zélande, en plus d’être accrédité auprès de la République des Îles Fidji, de la République des Kiribati, de l’État indépendant des Samoa, du Royaume des Tonga et de Tuvalu.

Avant d’occuper ce poste, Mario Bot a travaillé à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington de 2010 à 2014, où il a agit en qualité de consul général et de directeur général du Centre régional de services pour les États-Unis. De 2006 à 2010, il a été affecté au haut‑commissariat du Canada à Londres, où il a occupé les fonctions d’agent de gestion et des affaires consulaires. En 1992, il a intégré le Bureau de l’inspecteur général du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, où il a travaillé comme Directeur de la vérification et Inspecteur général adjoint, ce qui l’a amené à inspecter plus de 110 missions à l’étranger. Avant d’entrer au ministère des Affaires étrangères, Mario Bot a travaillé pour Conseils et vérifications Canada, une organisation du gouvernement du Canada.

Mario Bot détient un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université de Carleton. Il est aussi comptable en management accrédité.

Mario Bot est né à Sault Ste. Marie, en Ontario. Quand ils ne sont pas en affectation à l’étranger, lui et sa conjointe, Thu Huong (Jennifer) Nguyen, habitent à Ottawa. Ils aiment faire de la randonnée, voyager et découvrir les cuisines du monde.

Carrière

2010 – 2014
Directeur général, Centre régional de services et consul général
Ambassade du Canada à Washington, D.C., États-Unis

2006 – 2010
Agent de gestion et des affaires consulaires
Haut-commissariat du Canada à Londres, Royaume-Uni

2004 – 2006
Inspecteur général adjoint et directeur de la vérification
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, Ottawa

1997 – 2004
Directeur de la vérification
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, Ottawa

1992 – 1997 
Vérificateur principal et gestionnaire de la vérification
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, Ottawa

1977 – 1992
Conseiller et vérificateur
Conseils et vérifications Canada, organisation du gouvernement du Canada