Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

nigeria.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Joint Communique of the inaugural meeting of the Nigeria-Canada Bi-National Commission

The Inaugural meeting of the Nigeria-Canada Bi-National Commission (BNC) took place on October 8, 2012 in Abuja, Nigeria. The meeting was co-chaired by the Nigerian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru and the Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Hon. John Baird, who had signed the BNC Framework Agreement in April 2012 in Ottawa.

The Canadian delegation included officials from Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) and the High Commission of Canada in Abuja. The Nigerian delegation included officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Office of the National Security Adviser and the Ministry of Trade and Investment, and other relevant agencies.

Both countries pledged that the BNC will be the basis for constructing a lasting strategic partnership between the two federal, multicultural democracies.

Both countries reaffirmed the underlying principles of the BNC, reflecting shared respect for human rights and democracy. The two countries recognised that effective political, economic, security, and development collaboration contributes to building a peaceful and prosperous Nigeria committed to promoting human rights for all, good governance, and democratic development. They also restated that they would work together on common regional and global challenges, including counter-terrorism, the Mali crisis, the Middle East, and Commonwealth reform.

While recognizing that lasting security demands a multi-level approach including development, education, democracy and human rights, both countries resolved to enhance the operational capabilities of the Nigeria security services to enable them respond adequately to internal and regional security challenges.

Welcoming the rapid growth in trade and investment between them, the two countries committed to aim for the reduction and elimination of barriers to increased economic and commercial relations. To this end, both countries will initiate discussions and negotiations on such agreements as may be necessary, particularly a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). Recognizing the importance of power, mining, aviation, education (including skills training to address youth unemployment) to national development and poverty education, both countries reaffirmed their commitment to support and facilitate foreign investment in these areas. Both countries also welcomed the rapidly growing private sector interest in trade and investment, including the recent establishment of the Canada-Nigeria Business Association, and the increasing involvement of the Canadian-Nigerian diaspora. The two countries also pledged to encourage new links between institutions at federal and state/provincial level, and the expansion of people-to-people ties.

The two countries resolved to support programmes enhancing human development and social freedom, including free and fair elections through building capacity of electoral institutions. Canada will continue to work with Nigeria in improving health care, especially maternal and child health. Both countries expressed satisfaction with progress made during the September 2012 visit of Canada’s Minister of International Cooperation, the Hon. Julian Fantino.

Finally, the two Governments agreed to follow up on these commitments and seek further collaboration to address the challenges identified. Both countries agreed that the next ministerial-level meeting of the BNC will be in early 2013 in Nigeria when the trade ministers will meet, and that the next meeting of the Bi-National Commission at foreign minister level will take place in Canada later in 2013.

 

Amb. Olugbenga Ashiru 
Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs, Federal Republic of Nigeria                           

 

Mr. John Baird
Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs, Canada

(Note: text obtained from the Nigerian Foreign Affairs site)

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-11-14

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

nigeria.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Communiqué commun à la fin de la réunion inaugurale du Nigeria-Canada binational Commission 

La réunion inaugurale du Nigeria-Canada binational Commission (BNC) a eu lieu le 8 Octobre 2012 à Abuja, au Nigeria. La réunion était co-présidée par le ministre nigérian des Affaires étrangères, l'Ambassadeur Olugbenga Ashiru et le ministre canadien des Affaires étrangères, l'hon. John Baird, qui avait signé l'accord-cadre BNC en Avril 2012 à Ottawa.

La délégation canadienne comprenait des représentants du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada (MAECI) et le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Abuja. La délégation nigériane comprenait des représentants du ministère des Affaires étrangères, Bureau du Conseiller à la Sécurité Nationale et le Ministère du commerce et de l'investissement, et d'autres organismes compétents.

Les deux pays se sont engagés que la BNC sera la base pour construire un partenariat stratégique durable entre les deux fédéraux, les démocraties multiculturelles.

Les deux pays ont réaffirmé les principes sous-jacents de la BNC, fondée sur le respect commun des droits de l'homme et de la démocratie. Les deux pays ont reconnu que la collaboration efficace politiques, économiques, de sécurité et de développement contribue à bâtir un monde pacifique et prospère du Nigeria s'est engagé à promouvoir les droits de l'homme pour tous, la bonne gouvernance et le développement démocratique. Ils ont également réaffirmé qu'ils allaient travailler ensemble sur des enjeux régionaux et mondiaux, y compris la lutte contre le terrorisme, la crise au Mali, au Moyen-Orient, et la réforme du Commonwealth.

Tout en reconnaissant que la sécurité durable exige une approche à plusieurs niveaux, y compris le développement, l'éducation, la démocratie et les droits de l'homme, les deux pays a décidé de renforcer les capacités opérationnelles des services de sécurité du Nigeria pour leur permettre de répondre de façon adéquate aux défis de sécurité internes et régionaux.

Se félicitant de la croissance rapide du commerce et des investissements entre eux, les deux pays se sont engagés à viser la réduction et l'élimination des obstacles à l'accroissement des relations économiques et commerciales. À cette fin, les deux pays entameront des discussions et des négociations sur ces accords qui peuvent être nécessaires, en particulier une promotion des investissements étrangers et Accord sur la protection (FIPA). Reconnaissant l'importance du pouvoir, l'exploitation minière, de l'aviation, de l'éducation (y compris la formation professionnelle pour lutter contre le chômage des jeunes) au développement national et à l'éducation de la pauvreté, les deux pays ont réaffirmé leur engagement à soutenir et à faciliter les investissements étrangers dans ces domaines. Les deux pays ont également salué l'intérêt du secteur privé en croissance rapide dans le commerce et l'investissement, notamment la création récente de l'Association Canada-Nigéria affaires, et la participation croissante de la diaspora canadienne-nigériane. Les deux pays sont également engagés à encourager de nouveaux liens entre les institutions au niveau fédéral et étatique / provincial, et l'expansion de la personne-à-personnes liens.

Les deux pays ont décidé de soutenir des programmes favorisant le développement humain et la liberté sociale, y compris les élections libres et équitables en renforçant les capacités des institutions électorales. Le Canada continuera de travailler avec le Nigeria dans l'amélioration de la santé, notamment la santé maternelle et infantile. Les deux pays ont exprimé leur satisfaction des progrès accomplis pendant le Septembre 2012 Visite de la ministre canadienne de la Coopération internationale, l'honorable. Julian Fantino.

Enfin, les deux gouvernements ont convenu de donner suite à ces engagements et à une plus grande collaboration pour relever les défis identifiés. Les deux pays ont convenu que la prochaine réunion ministérielle de la BNC sera au début de 2013 au Nigeria où les ministres du commerce se rencontrent, et que la prochaine réunion de la Commission bi-nationale au niveau ministre des Affaires étrangères aura lieu au Canada plus tard en 2013 .

 

Amb. Olugbenga Ashiru
Ministre des Affaires étrangères, République Fédérale du Nigeria

  

M. John Baird
Ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada

 

(Note : ce texte est obtenue du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, République Fédérale du Nigeria, traduit par service en ligne)

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-11-14