Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

nigeria.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Joint Communiqué by the Honourable Ministers of Trade of Nigeria and Canada under the Nigeria-Canada Bi-National Commission

The meeting of Nigeria and Canada on trade and investment matters under the Nigeria-Canada Bi-National Commission (BNC) took place on January 28, 2013 in Abuja, Nigeria. The meeting was Co-chaired by the Nigerian Minister of Trade and Investment, Dr. Olusegun Aganga and the Canadian Minister of International Trade, the Honourable Edward Fast. This meeting followed the October 8, 2012 inaugural BNC meeting between Nigerian Foreign Minister Ashiru and Canadian Foreign Minister Baird, where both countries pledged to make the BNC the basis for a constructive and lasting strategic partnership between the two countries.

The Canadian delegation included officials from Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Export Development Canada, the Canadian Commercial Corporation, and the High Commission of Canada. The Nigerian delegation included officials from the Ministry of Trade and Investment, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Communication and Technology, the Federal Capital Territory Administration, the Economic and Financial Crime Commission, the Ministry of Education, the Small & Medium Enterprises Development Agency of Nigeria, the Nigeria Export Processing Zone Authority, the Oil & Gas Free Zone Authority, the Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission, the Office of Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Ministry of Power, the Ministry of Aviation, the Ministry of Works, the Ministry of Mines and Steel Development, and other Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

The two Ministers noted the rapidly growing volumes of trade between the two countries, and welcomed the commitment by the Canada-Nigeria Business Association to double the volume of trade by 2015 to $6 billion. The Ministers particularly welcomed the strong role of the private sector in expanding the two countries’ economic ties, and agreed on the importance of renewed efforts to ensure that each country’s private sector is more acquainted with the opportunities in the other country.

The Ministers are pleased that Canada and Nigeria are exploring the possibility of launching negotiations on a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) which will provide investors with the stable, transparent and predictable environment needed to invest with greater confidence and further enhance bilateral trade and investment climate.

Noting that development in the mining sector is still low in Nigeria, and that Canada has the world’s strongest mining sector, the Ministers committed themselves to collaborating on ways to develop Nigeria’s significant mineral resources by encouraging private sector partnerships in this area.

Welcoming the Nigerian Government’s commitment to the rapid implementation of the Presidential Roadmap on Electricity Sector Privatization, the two Ministers agreed to strengthen the existing collaboration and facilitate more Canadian investment in this vital sector. The two Ministers also looked forward to the early passage of the Petroleum Industry Bill, recognizing that it will build investor confidence in the sector.

Both Ministers recognized the great opportunities for increasing Canadian investment in infrastructure development, at both federal and state levels, including rail, road and aviation, as well as in agriculture, and recognized the need to encourage investment in the Information and Communications Technology sector, where Canada is already well-established.

Acknowledging Canada’s expertise in skills training for employment (vocational training) and the tremendous need for such training in Nigeria, the two Ministers pledged to support efforts to develop a model vocational training project in Nigeria by the Canadian Association of Canadian Community Colleges, as soon as possible. The two Ministers welcomed the Canadian Education Fair taking place in Abuja and Lagos.

Recognizing the importance of the principles of Corporate Social Responsibility on guiding trade and investment practices for sustainable economic development, the two Ministers agreed that Canada would work closely with Nigeria to strengthen its anti-corruption initiatives and institutions. The Ministers also reiterated that security and economic development are inter-linked and pledged to cooperate further to ensure that security is enhanced within a framework that respects human rights and rule of law.

To further expand trade and investment, the Ministers agreed to support a Nigerian Investors Forum scheduled in May, 2013, in Toronto, Canada, to better inform Canadian investors about Nigeria’s growing economy and attractive investment environment.

Recognizing that people-to-people ties are essential for commerce, the two Ministers agreed to take steps to facilitate the freest possible movement of business travellers and students between the two countries.

Finally, both countries agreed to follow up on these commitments and seek further collaboration to address the challenges identified. Both countries agreed that the next Bi-National Commission meeting will take place in Canada later in 2013.

 

Dr. Olusegun Olutoyin Aganga
Minister of Trade and Investment
Federal Republic of Nigeria 

 

Hon. Edward Fast
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-28

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

nigeria.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Communiqué Conjoint des Ministres du Commerce du Nigéria et du Canada en Vertu de la Commission Binationale Canada-Nigéria

La réunion du Nigéria et du Canada portant sur les questions de commerce et d’investissement en vertu de la Commission binationale (CBN) Canada-Nigéria s’est déroulée le 28 janvier dernier à Abuja, Nigéria. Cette réunion était présidée conjointement par M. Olusegun Aganga, ministre du Commerce et de l’Investissement, et M. Edward Fast, ministre du Commerce international. Cette réunion faisait suite à la première rencontre de la CBN qui a eu lieu le 8 octobre 2012 entre les ministres des Affaires étrangères Ashiru et Baird, où les deux pays se sont engagés à faire de la CBN la pierre angulaire d’un partenariat stratégique à la fois constructif et durable entre les deux pays.

La délégation canadienne était constituée, entre autres, de fonctionnaires du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, d’Exportation et développement Canada, de la Corporation commerciale canadienne, ainsi que du Haut-commissariat canadien. Quant à la délégation nigérienne, elle se composait de fonctionnaires du ministère du Commerce et de l’Investissement, du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du ministère des Communications et de la technologie, de l’Administration du territoire de la capitale fédérale, de la Commission des crimes financiers et économiques, du ministère de l’Éducation, de l’Agence de développement des petites et moyennes entreprises, de l’Autorité nigérienne chargée de la zone du traitement des exportations, de l’Autorité de la zone franche des industries pétrolières et gazifières, de la Commission des concessions et des règlements de l’infrastructure, du Bureau du Secrétaire du gouvernement de la fédération, du ministère de l’Énergie, du ministère de l’Aviation, du ministère du Développement des mines et de l’acier, ainsi que d’autres ministères, organismes et agences.

Les deux ministres ont souligné la croissance rapide du volume des échanges entre les deux pays et accueilli favorablement l’engagement de l’Association de gens d’affaires Canada-Nigéria qui vise à doubler ce volume pour atteindre 6 G$ d’ici 2015. Les ministres ont particulièrement apprécié le rôle prépondérant du secteur privé dans l’augmentation des liens économiques entre les deux pays et se sont entendus sur l’importance des efforts renouvelés pour s’assurer que le secteur privé de chaque pays est au courant des occasions possibles dans l’autre pays.

Pour accroître la confiance du milieu des affaires canadien à l'endroit du Nigéria et le volume des investissements canadiens, les deux ministres explorent la possibilité de lancer des négociations entourant l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) au début de 2013.

Constatant que le développement dans le secteur minier demeure faible au Nigéria et que le Canada arrive au premier rang à l'échelle planétaire dans ce domaine, les ministres se sont engagés à collaborer en vue de trouver de nouvelles façons d’exploiter les ressources minérales considérables du Nigéria tout en encourageant les partenariats du secteur privé.

En soutenant la détermination du gouvernement nigérien quant à la mise en œuvre rapide de la carte routière présidentielle sur la privatisation du secteur de l'électricité, les deux ministres ont accepté de collaborer afin de favoriser une augmentation des investissements canadiens dans ce secteur essentiel. Les deux ministres attendent également l’adoption précoce du Projet de loi sur l’industrie du pétrole, reconnaissant ainsi que c’est nécessaire afin de bâtir la confiance des investisseurs dans le secteur.

Les deux ministres ont reconnu les possibilités que présente l’augmentation des investissements canadiens dans l’aménagement des infrastructures, tant au niveau du fédéral que des états, notamment le secteur ferroviaire, les routes, l’aviation et l’agriculture, alors qu’ils ont également reconnu le besoin d’encourager de nouveaux investissements dans les TIC où le Canada occupe déjà une position enviable.

Reconnaissant l’expertise canadienne dans la formation axée sur les compétences en matière d’emploi (formation professionnelle) et le besoin énorme d’une telle formation au Nigéria, les deux ministres se sont engagés à appuyer dès que possible l’élaboration d’un projet de formation professionnelle dans ce pays par l’Association des collèges communautaires du Canada. Les deux ministres ont salué le Salon canadien de l’éducation qui se déroule à Abuja et à Lagos.

Reconnaissant l’importance des principes de responsabilité sociale des entreprises lorsqu’il s’agit d’encadrer les pratiques commerciales et d’investissement pour assurer un développement économique durable, les deux ministres ont accepté que le Canada aide le Nigéria à consolider son initiative de lutte contre la corruption et les institutions connexes. Les ministres ont aussi réitéré que la sécurité et le développement économique sont interreliés et se sont engagés à coopérer pour hausser la sécurité dans un cadre axé sur le respect des droits de la personne et la primauté du droit.

Pour accroître davantage les échanges et les investissements, les ministres accordent leur appui au Forum des investisseurs nigériens qui doit se tenir en mai 2013 à Toronto, au Canada, en vue de mieux informer les investisseurs canadiens au sujet de l’économie florissante et de l’environnement propice aux investissements du Nigéria.

Reconnaissant que les relations humaines sont essentielles au commerce, les deux ministres ont accepté de prendre des mesures visant à faciliter la libre circulation, dans la mesure du possible, des voyageurs commerciaux entre les deux pays.

Enfin, les deux pays ont accepté d’effectuer un suivi de ces engagements et de chercher à accroître la collaboration afin de relever les défis soulevés. Les deux pays ont accepté que la prochaine réunion de la Commission binationale se déroule au Canada plus tard en 2013.

M. Olusegun Olutoyin Aganga
Ministre du Commerce et de l’Investissement
République fédérale du Nigéria

Hon. Edward Fast
Ministre du Commerce international du Canada

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-28