Frequently Asked Questions

Over two million Canadians live, work, or study abroad. It is important to be prepared and to expect the unexpected while abroad. Find out how to get help and how to help yourself here. For questions specifically regarding Canadians living/visiting in Norway please consult FAQ below.  

Passports and Citizenship

  • I have lost my passport, how do I proceed to apply for a new one?

You must report your passport stolen/lost at the local police station and submit this police report together with your complete passport application. In addition, you will also need to complete a form called PPTC 203 for the lost passport which you will find in the passport application form link.

Police reports must be in English

  • I have not been two years in Norway; hence I don’t have a guarantor. What do I do?

If you have lived less than two years in Norway, you fulfill the requirement to complete a Statutory declaration in lieu of guarantor, PPTC 132 (not available online). There is an additional fee if the Embassy signs this form for you (please see passport fees). Please contact the Embassy for the form to be sent to you. If you are applying with a Simplified renewal form, you do not need a guarantor.

NEW: Canadian adults and holders of full validity passports may be guarantors, if they have known the applicant for more than 2 years.

  • I need a passport renewal, but have no proof of Canadian citizenship.

If you have lost your proof of Canadian citizenship, you should either apply for a replacement for your birth certificate (through the province you were born) or for a citizenship certificate (through the Embassy). If you need to urgently travel, you might be eligible for a limited validity passport (valid for two years.)

  • I have a newborn baby that has no proof of Canadian citizenship. Can we still apply for a passport for the child, as the parent(s) is (are) Canadian(s)?

In the case where both parents are Canadians, the child can obtain a limited validity passport for two years. But, the application for Canadian citizenship needs to be submitted at the same time, as well as proof of travel or need for residency requirement. In a case where the child is also Norwegian, a Norwegian passport should be acquired until the Canadian citizenship certificate arrives and an application for a full validity Canadian passport for the child can be submitted.

  • Where can I have my photos taken?

You may go to any photographer of your choice to have your passport photographs taken: Elite Foto, Japan Photo, Sturlason AS Polyfoto (in Oslo), or others.

Please show the appropriate size specifications according to the Canadian passport photo specifications listed in the application instructions.

  • How can I pay for my new passport? May I pay in cash or credit card?

The Embassy only accepts direct deposits or payments by credit card (Visa or Mastercard only). Please use the credit card authorization form when using a credit card and mailing your application. If you are applying in person, we will make the credit card transaction on-site.

For Direct deposits, our bank account is Embassy of Canada, 0244 Oslo: 6034.05.41572.

We do not accept cash.

  • My passport is getting full. Is it possible to get more pages added to it?

Additional pages cannot be added to an existing passport. A new passport will be required, regardless of the expiry date of the full one.

  • May I drop off my application in person or may I send it by mail?

You are welcome to drop off your passport application in person at the Embassy during our office hours, 08:30 – 12:30 Monday–Friday. You may also send your application by mail to: Embassy of Canada, 0244 Oslo, Attn: Consular Section. We recommend that you use registered mail.

  • How do I obtain a passport in my married name or in my new legally changed name? 

To obtain a passport in your newly married name, a new application must be submitted, along with your marriage certificate. The original should be submitted or a certified copy. If your new name does not show on your marriage certificate, we will also need a name change certificate issued from the government. In addition, we will require a government-issued identification that supports your married name and signature. The year of your marriage and the surname of your spouse must be included on the application form in the Personal Information section.

If your current or expired passport already displays your married name, you need not send your marriage certificate. However the following requirements must still be met to complete the application process: include the year of marriage and the surname of your spouse on the application form in the Personal Information section; submit identification that supports your married name and signature.

Please note that the Canadian passport will not be the 1st document issued in your married name. Also please bear in mind that a Canadian birth certificate, a Canadian citizenship card or a marriage certificate is not acceptable as supporting document. A supporting document confirms that you are currently using the application name and signature in your everyday life.

NEW: As of October 20th, 2014, a new policy requires that applicants who have legally changed their name must obtain an amended proof of citizenship showing their new name before applying for a passport in this new name.

There are a few exceptions. A minor variation in the given name(s) is acceptable. A relationship surname is also acceptable as long as a marriage certificate is submitted, supporting the name requested. And the name requested corresponds exactly to the name on the supporting ID.

This does not apply to the Simplified renewal applications, only regular application forms.

Marriage

  • I’m a Canadian citizen and would like to get married in Norway. How do I proceed?

The Norwegian authorities will require for anyone getting married in Norway to provide them with a statement showing that he/she is free to marry and that there is no impediment to this marriage. Canada does not require such a certificate; therefore the Embassy cannot provide it. However, we can provide a "Statement in lieu of a non-impediment to marriage certificate" instead. This certificate is offered to all Canadians living in Norway. To issue this certificate we will require a proof of Canadian citizenship and a fee payable to the Embassy’s account: 6034.05.41572. Please contact the Embassy for price information. This process may take 2-3 days once we receive the above.

If a Canadian is a visitor in Norway, he/she should get a "Marriage search" certificate from their province and a Statement in lieu of Non-Impediment to marriage from DFATD (not from the Embassy).

Notary services

  • I need certified copies of some documents. Can the Embassy help me?

Yes, we make certified copies of most Canadian original documents. There is a fee per signature payable to the Embassy of Canada, 0244 Oslo: 6034.05.41572. Please contact the Embassy for price information.

There is no fee required for documents certified for Canadian pension applications.

  • I need my Canadian documents authenticated to be used in Norway 

The Norwegian authorities require that foreign documents be authenticated by the Dept. of Foreign Affairs legal section in Canada, therefore the embassy may not offer this service. Please visit the following link for the information on how to proceed: http://www.international.gc.ca/department-ministere/authentication-authentification_documents.aspx?lang=eng

Translations

  • I need to have some documents translated. Can the Embassy help me?

The Embassy does not have a translation service, therefore we recommend that you use a Norwegian State authorized translator found in the Norwegian yellow pages.

Visa and immigration

  • How can I apply for a visa to enter Canada?

We regret to inform you that the Embassy of Canada to Norway does not have an immigration section nor a visa section. Canada's High Commission to the United Kingdom handles all of these matters for Norwegian residents. Please refer to the following web-sites for the information you require:

Please be advised that the processing time for tourist visa applications sent from Norway to London is 4-6 weeks.

  • I have a valid Norwegian Oppholdstillatelse or Arbeidstillatelse in my expiring (or expired) Canadian passport. I need a new passport. What will happen to the Oppholdstillatelse or Arbeidstillatelse when I get my new Canadian passport?

The Embassy does not touch valid visas or permits in the passports. Your old passport is cancelled (cut off the corners), however you must submit it together with your new passport to your police station / UDI to get a new residence permit.

Foire aux questions

Plus de deux millions de Canadiens vivent, travaillent ou étudient à l'étranger. Il est important de bien se préparer avant de partir et de s’attendre à des imprévus pendant un séjour à l’étranger. Sachez comment obtenir de l’aide et comment vous débrouiller seul ici. Pour des questions concernant les Canadiens habitant/voyageant en Norvège veuillez consulter le FAQ ci-dessous.

Passeport et citoyenneté

  • J’ai perdu mon passeport, comment faire pour m’en procurer un nouveau?     

Vous devez déclarer votre passeport volé/perdu à la station de police locale et soumettre ce rapport avec votre demande de passeport complétée à l’Ambassade. En plus, il est nécessaire de compléter le formulaire PPTC203 pour un passeport perdu. Demandez à l’Ambassade de vous l’envoyer.

Un rapport de Police est obligatoire et il doit être en anglais ou en français.

  • Je n’ai pas de répondant car il y a moins de deux ans que j’habite en Norvège. Que-faire?

Si vous avez vécu en Norvège moins de 2 ans, vous pouvez compléter une Affirmation solennelle faute de répondant, PPTC 132 (pas disponible électroniquement). Il y a un frais additionnel si l’Ambassade signe le formulaire pour vous (veuillez voir les frais de passeports).

Nouveau : Les canadiens qui ont un passeport d’adultes peuvent maintenant être répondant pour une autre personne canadienne en autant de les avoir connu pendant plus de deux ans.

  • Je veux renouveler mon passeport mais je n’ai aucune preuve de citoyenneté canadienne.

Si vous avez perdu votre preuve de citoyenneté canadienne, vous devez faire une demande pour un remplacement de votre certificat de naissance (auprès de la province où vous êtes né) ou bien un certificat de citoyenneté (par l’Ambassade). Si vous devez voyager de toute urgence, vous pourriez être éligible a un passeport de validité limité (validité de deux ans).

  • Notre enfant nouveau-né(e) n’a pas de preuve de citoyenneté canadienne. Pouvons-nous quand même faire une demande de passeport pour l’enfant, en autant que le (s) parent (s) est (sont) canadien (s)?

Dans le cas où les deux parents sont canadiens, l’enfant peut obtenir un passeport de validité limité de deux ans. Par contre, l’application pour la citoyenneté canadienne doit être soumise en même temps, en plus d’une preuve de voyage (où bien une nécessité de permis de séjour). Dans le cas où l’enfant est aussi norvégien, un passeport norvégien devrait être obtenu jusqu'à que le certificat de citoyenneté canadien soit reçu. Une demande de passeport d’enfant de validité maximum peut alors être soumise.

  • Où pouvons-nous faire prendre nos photos?

Vous pouvez aller à n’importe quel photographe de votre choix pour prendre vos photos: Elite Foto, Japan Photo, Sturlason AS Polyfoto (à Oslo), ou autres. Veuillez bien montrer les spécifications de taille appropriée selon les spécifications canadiennes de passeport figurant dans les instructions de la demande.

  • Comment faire pour payer pour mon nouveau passeport? Est-il possible de payer en espèces ou bien par carte crédit à l’Ambassade?

L’Ambassade n’accepte que des virements bancaires directs dans son compte et des cartes de crédit ou bancaire (Visa ou MasterCard seulement) comme méthode de payement. Nous n’acceptons pas d’espèces. Notre numéro bancaire est : L’Ambassade du Canada, 0244 Oslo : 6034.05.41572.

  • Mon passeport est plein. Est-t-il possible d’ajouter des pages ?

Des pages supplémentaires ne peuvent pas être ajoutées à un passeport existant. Un nouveau passeport sera nécessaire, quelle que soit la date d'expiration.

  • Puis-je déposer ma demande en personne ou puis-je l'envoyer par la poste?

Vous êtes invités à déposer votre demande de passeport en personne à l'ambassade pendant les heures de bureau, 8:30-12:30 lundi - vendredi. Vous pouvez également envoyer votre demande par courrier à: Ambassade du Canada, 0244 Oslo, Att: Section consulaire. Nous vous conseillons de nous envoyer votre demande par courrier recommandé.

  • Comment puis-je obtenir un passeport en mon nom marital ?

Pour obtenir un passeport en votre nouveau nom marital, une nouvelle demande de passeport doit être soumise, avec votre certificat de mariage (original ou copie certifiée seulement), une pièce d'identité émise par le gouvernement confirmant votre nom marital et votre nouvelle signature, l’année de mariage et le nom de famille du conjoint inscrit dans la section Renseignements personnels du formulaire de demande.

Si votre passeport valide ou périmé affiche déjà votre nom marital, il n’est pas nécessaire d’inclure votre certificat de mariage avec votre demande. Toutefois, il est obligatoire d’inclure un document confirmant votre nom marital et votre nouvelle signature, puis d’inscrire l’année de mariage et le nom de famille du conjoint dans la section Renseignements personnels du formulaire de demande.

Veuillez noter que le passeport canadien ne sera pas le premier document émis en votre nom marital. Veuillez aussi tenir compte du fait qu’un certificat de naissance canadien, une carte de citoyenneté canadienne ou un certificat de mariage n’est pas acceptable comme document d’identité à l’appui de votre demande. Un document d’identité à l’appui confirme que le nom et la signature tel qu’indiqués sur la demande sont utilisés dans votre vie quotidienne.

Nouveau: A partir du 20 Octobre 2014, une nouvelle politique exige que les demandeurs qui ont légalement changé de nom doivent obtenir une preuve de citoyenneté modifiée montrant leur nouveau nom avant de demander un nouveau passeport.

Il y a quelques exceptions. Une variation mineure dans le (s) prénom (s) est acceptable. Un nouveau nom de famille lié à un mariage est également acceptable tant qu’un certificat de mariage est soumis, en soutenant le nom demandé et que le nom demandé corresponde exactement au nom d’une pièce d’identité de soutien.

Cela ne s'applique pas aux demandes de renouvellement simplifié. Seulement aux demandes régulières.

Mariage

  • Je suis un(e) citoyen(ne) canadien(ne) qui aimerais se marier en Norvège.

Les autorités norvégiennes demandent à ceux qui veulent se marier en Norvège de leur présenter une déclaration qui montre qu’il/elle est libre de se marier et qu’il n’y a pas d’empêchement à ce mariage. Le Canada n’exige pas un tel certificat, c’est la raison pourquoi l’Ambassade ne peut pas le fournir. Par contre, nous pouvons vous délivrer une « Déclaration tenant lieu de Certificat de non-empêchement ». Ce certificat est offert à tous les canadiens habitants en Norvège. Pour délivrer ce certificat nous exigeons une preuve de citoyenneté et un frais payable au compte bancaire de l’Ambassade : 6034.05.41572. Veuillez contacter l'ambassade pour la liste des prix. Cette procédure peut pendre 2-3 jours.

Si un canadien est visiteur en Norvège, il/elle devrait se procurer un certificat de «recherche de mariage » auprès de leur province et une « Déclaration tenant lieu de Certificat de non-empêchement au mariage » du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et Commerce internationale Canada (non de l’Ambassade).

Services notariaux

  • J’ai besoin de faire certifier des copies de quelques documents Canadiens. Est-ce que l’Ambassade peut m’aider?

Oui, nous pouvons certifier des copies de la plupart des documents canadiens originaux. Un frais pour chaque signature est payable à l’Ambassade du Canada, 0244 Oslo : 6034.05.41572. Veuillez contacter l'ambassade pour la liste des prix.

Il n’y a aucun frais requis pour les documents certifiés pour les demandes de pensions canadiennes.

  • J'ai besoin de mes documents canadiens authentifiés pour être utilisés en Norvège.

Les autorités norvégiennes exigent que les documents étrangers soient authentifiés par la section juridique du Ministère des affaires étrangères au Canada.  Par conséquent, l'ambassade n'offre pas ce service. Veuillez  visitez le lien suivant pour les informations comment procéder: http://www.international.gc.ca/department-ministere/authentication-authentification_documents.aspx?lang=fra

Traduction

  • J’aurais besoin de faire traduire quelques documents, est ce que l'ambassade peut m'aider?

L’Ambassade n’offre pas de service de traduction. Nous vous conseillons alors d’utiliser un traducteur/traductrice autorisé par le gouvernement norvégien. Vous pouvez les trouver dans les pages jaunes norvégiennes.

Visa et immigration

  • Comment faire pour présenter une demande de visa pour aller au Canada?

Nous regrettons de vous informer que l’Ambassade du Canada à Oslo n’a pas de section d’immigration ou de visas. Le Haut commissariat du Canada à Londres, Royaume-Uni est en charge de toutes ces affaires pour les résidents norvégiens. Veuillez visiter les deux sites web suivants pour en savoir d’avantage:

      Le Haut commissariat du Canada à Londres

      Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Veuillez noter que le temps de traitement des demandes de visa touristiques en provenance de Norvège envoyé à Londres est de 4-6 semaines.

  • J’ai un visa, un Oppholdstillatelse norvégien ou un Arbeidstillatelse dans mon passeport canadien qui aura bientôt expiré (ou a déjà expiré). Je dois maintenant renouveler mon passeport. Que se passera-t-il avec mon visa, mon Oppholdstillatelse ou mon Arbeidstillatelse quand j’aurai reçu mon nouveau passeport canadien?

L’Ambassade ne touche pas aux visas ou aux permis de séjour qui se trouvent dans les passeports. Votre ancien passeport est annulé (les coins coupés), mais vous pouvez normalement vous présenter avec celui-ci et le nouveau passeport à votre station de police pour avoir un nouveau permis de séjour émis dans votre nouveau passeport.