Countering Violent Extremism - Conversations in Northern Europe

Public Panel discussion held in the Embassy of Canada to Norway. Left to Right: Zakia Akkouh (European Wergeland Center), Sergeant Paul Dunn (Calgary Police Service), Superintendent Tammy Pozzobon (Calgary Police Service), Canadian Ambassador to Norway Artur Wilczynski, Tore Bjøro (Police University College, Norway), Dr, Vivek Venkatesh (Concordia University).

Superintendent Tammy Pozzobon (Calgary Police Service) weighs on preventative measures for countering violent extremism.
 
 

Dr. Vivek Venkatesh provides a lecture on his initiative, Someone Canada, a platform to sensitize youth, educators, and the broader public to patterns of online hate with the goal of building resilience against hate speech and radicalization.
 
 

The Ambassador of Canada to Norway Artur Wilczynski reveals an inside look in an event aimed to provide insight on how violent extremism can be stopped.
 
 

Countries around the world share the struggle of being victim to acts of violent extremism. In order for the security of peace and to combat the threat of extremism, collaboration between countries leading experts and government officials is necessary.

With the understanding that one country alone cannot solve the problems of violent extremism, the Embassies of Canada in Northern Europe invited diverse participants to share their insights during a number of activities on countering violent extremism. The events were coordinated between Canadian embassies in Norway, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Finland as various counter-terrorism experts toured the Nordic countries.

In each city, the Canadian guests took part in multilateral morning meetings with local government interlocutors and non-governmental organizations. In the afternoon, the Canadian delegation presented their innovative projects at either a public or closed-door seminar. Over the course of the week, Calgary Police and Prof. Venkatesh met with over 200 radicalization experts in the region and learned about the varying approaches to the issue across countries. Canada’s Ambassador to Norway Artur Wilczynski reveals a deeper look into the discussions that took place in Oslo:

The attacks against Paris on November 13th were a horrible reminder of the threat of violent extremism.  In a single night, a few determined individuals wreaked unspeakable havoc that killed scores and wounded hundreds.  There are few words that describe the shock and revulsion millions felt when they heard the news and saw the images of the attacks.  The targets were not the iconic landmarks of the city - but places where Parisians go to live life to the fullest - a concert hall, a stadium, bars and restaurants.  As someone who knows and loves Paris - this beacon of culture, freedom and humanity - the events of that night felt like a punch in the gut.

I spent a good part of my career combatting terrorism and violent extremism. My experience at Public Safety Canada and as Director General of Security and Intelligence at Global Affairs Canada, made me acutely aware of the terrorist threat and the complexity of working to defeat it.  Confronting violent extremism requires us to work internationally.  No nation can work alone.  No nation has all the answers.  We need to learn from each other's experiences to deal with the ever changing nature of the phenomenon.

Canada and Norway both face challenges of radicalisation leading to violent extremism.  We have seen our citizens travel abroad to engage in violence and we have sadly both suffered attacks at home.  

On the night of November 17th, Norwegian Prime Minister Solberg, the Mayor of Oslo and French Ambassador Jean-Marc Rives spoke to a large crowd in front of Oslo City Hall. Their messages focused on the victims of the Paris attacks and the importance of solidarity to confront terrorism and hatred.  They spoke eloquently of the need to build bridges and support one another in the face of brutality.  They reminded us that we are not powerless to confront the challenge.

Earlier that day, I met Norwegian Minister of Justice and Public Security Anders Anundsen to discuss the importance of working together to confront violent extremism. I shared with the Minister the importance that Canada places on finding an appropriate balance between security and liberty.  How do we ensure that we have a society where we have the right security mechanisms to keep our population safe, while preserving the rights and freedoms that are the foundation of our just society?  

These are key questions that continue to be asked by policy makers in Canada and Norway.  The ability to exchange on these issues is fundamental to finding a balance on this incredibly complex issue.  Finding balance is difficult because factors change over time. That is why ongoing discussion with friends and allies like Norway is key.

On November 16th, the Embassy of Canada to Norway hosted a number of activities aimed at advancing the discussion between our countries on countering violent extremism.  In the morning, the Embassy held a roundtable discussion where Sergeant Dunn and Superintendent Pozzobon from the Calgary Police Service's (CPS) ReDirect Program met with representatives of Norwegian think tanks and research institutions to compare information about our respective preventative approaches. The ReDirect Program is an important part of the CPS' community policing approach.  It is an education, awareness and prevention program aimed at stopping the radicalization of young people.  It works in partnership with its operational and community partners to establish multidisciplinary solutions.  It addresses all forms of violent extremism.

In parallel to the meetings with the Calgary Police, the Embassy organized a roundtable for Professor Vivek Venkatesh that included the European Wergeland Centre and other Norwegian partners.  Participants discussed how Canada and Norway could work together to combat online hate speech, develop digital literacy among youth and help educators create space for constructive dialogue in their classrooms.  Work is underway to more fully develop these partnerships.

Exchanges were also held between Canadian and Norwegian police and security officials to get a better understanding of each other’s approaches to countering violent extremism.  Norway highlighted its Action Plan Against Radicalization and Violent Extremism.

The Embassy also hosted a public panel discussion attended by over 100 people, featuring members of the Calgary Police Service and Professor Venkatesh from Concordia University.  Professor Venkatesh highlighted the Someone (Social Media EducatiOn Every Day) Program. The initiative, supported by the Government of Canada's Kanishka Program, was created to sensitize youth, educators, and the broader public - both within and outside of Canada - to patterns of online hate with the goal of building resilience against hate speech and radicalization. The multinational and interdisciplinary team of researchers and practitioners in the SOMEONE initiative are developing an online portal of curricula and multimedia materials designed to counter hate speech by developing digital literacy and critical thinking skills.

Joined by Norwegian experts Zakia Akkouh from the European Wergelands Centre and Tore Bjørgo from the Norwegian Police University College, the panel shared views on the role of education, law enforcement, social services and multidisciplinary approaches in both countries to address violent extremism.  The dialogue between participants and a very engaged audience demonstrated the interest that exists in Norway and Canada to share experiences in a pragmatic way.  We can help each other understand the complexities of violent extremism and build creative approaches to deal with it.

This panel discussion hosted at Litteraturhuset in Oslo will be part of a series of engagements between Canada and Norway that the Embassy of Canada will host.  Our goal is to help build knowledge and cooperation on countering violent extremism.  Follow the Embassy's Facebook page or Twitter feed to get the latest information on our plans and activities.  I always welcome your feedback and comments on our activities.

La lutte contre l’extrémisme violent – conversations dans le nord de l’Europe

Groupe de discussion public tenu à l’ambassade du Canada en Norvège. De gauche à droite : Zakia Akkouh (European Wergeland Center), sergent Paul Dunn (police de Calgary), superintendante Tammy Pozzobon (police de Calgary), Artur Wilczynski (ambassadeur canadien en Norvège), Tore Bjøro (collège universitaire policier de la Norvège), Dr Vivek Venkatesh (université Concordia).

La superintendante Tammy Pozzobon (police de Calgary) étudie des mesures de prévention servant à contrer l’extrémisme violent.
 
 

Le Dr Vivek Venkatesh donne une conférence sur son initiative, Someone Canada, une plateforme servant à sensibiliser les jeunes, les éducateurs et le grand public au sujet des tendances des messages de haine en ligne, avec comme objectif de renforcer la résilience contre les discours haineux et la radicalisation.
 
 

Artur Wilczynski, ambassadeur du Canada en Norvège, nous informe d’un événement visant à donner un aperçu des façons de contrer l’extrémisme violent.
 
 

Les pays du monde ont un point commun : ils sont victimes d’actes d’extrémisme violent. Afin d’assurer la paix et de combattre la menace extrémiste, les grands experts et les représentants des gouvernements des différents pays doivent collaborer.

Puisqu’il n’est pas possible pour un seul pays de résoudre le problème de l’extrémisme violent, les ambassades du Canada situées dans le nord de l’Europe ont invité différentes personnes à partager leurs connaissances dans le cadre d’un certain nombre d’activités sur la lutte contre l’extrémiste violent. Les événements, coordonnés entre les ambassades canadiennes de la Norvège, de la Suède, du Danemark, des Pays-Bas et de la Finlande, ont amené différents experts dans la lutte contre le terrorisme à voyager dans ces pays nordiques.

Dans chaque ville, les invités canadiens ont participé à des réunions multilatérales matinales avec des interlocuteurs du gouvernement et des organismes non gouvernementaux du pays. En après-midi, la délégation canadienne a présenté ses projets novateurs dans des séminaires publics ou privés. Pendant une semaine, les représentants de la police de Calgary et le professeur Venkatesh ont rencontré plus de 200 experts en radicalisation dans la région et ont beaucoup appris sur les différentes approches adoptées par ces pays pour enrayer le problème. Artur Wilczynski, ambassadeur du Canada en Norvège, donne des détails sur les discussions qui ont eu lieu à Oslo :

Les attaques du 13 novembre à Paris nous rappellent avec horreur la menace de l’extrémisme violent. En une seule nuit, quelques individus déterminés ont commis des gestes dévastateurs, causant beaucoup de morts et des centaines de blessés. On peut difficilement décrire le choc et l’aversion ressentis par des millions de personnes à l’annonce de la nouvelle et à la diffusion des images des attaques. Les terroristes n’ont pas ciblé les grands monuments de la ville, mais plutôt des endroits de divertissement fréquentés par les Parisiens : une salle de concert, un stade, des bars et des restaurants. Puisque je connais et adore Paris, ce phare de la culture, de la liberté et de l’humanité, ces événements m’ont donné un coup au ventre.

J’ai consacré une grande partie de ma carrière à combattre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent. Mes expériences à Sécurité publique Canada et à titre de directeur général de la sécurité et des renseignements à Affaires mondiales Canada m’ont fait prendre conscience de la menace terroriste et de la complexité des mesures à prendre pour la contrer. La lutte contre l’extrémisme violent nous amène à collaborer à l’échelle internationale. Aucune nation ne peut travailler seule. Aucune nation ne possède toutes les solutions. Nous devons partager nos expériences et en tirer des leçons conjointement dans un effort pour contrer ce phénomène en constante évolution.

Le Canada et la Norvège font tous deux face à la radicalisation entraînant l’extrémisme violent. Nous avons tous les deux vu des citoyens de notre pays s’enfuir pour participer à des actes de violence, et malheureusement, nous avons chacun subi des attaques sur notre territoire.

Dans la nuit du 17 novembre, le premier ministre de la Norvège, monsieur Solberg, le maire d’Oslo et l’ambassadeur français Jean-Marc Rives ont prononcé un discours devant une grande foule à l’hôtel de ville d’Oslo. Leurs messages étaient axés sur les victimes des attaques à Paris et sur l’importance de la solidarité pour contrer le terrorisme et la haine. Ils ont évoqué avec éloquence le besoin d’établir des ponts et de favoriser l’entraide en réaction à cette brutalité. Ils nous ont rappelé que nous ne sommes pas sans défense.

Plus tôt ce jour-là, j’ai rencontré le ministre de la Justice et de la Sécurité publique de la Norvège, Anders Anundsen, pour discuter de l’importance de la collaboration pour contrer l’extrémisme violent. J’ai informé le ministre que le Canada accorde beaucoup d’importance à l’équilibre entre sécurité et liberté. Comment pouvons-nous avoir une société munie de mécanismes de sécurité efficaces pour garder la population en sécurité tout en préservant les droits et libertés qui constituent le fondement d’une société juste comme la nôtre?  

Les décideurs du Canada et de la Norvège abordent ces grandes questions encore aujourd’hui. La possibilité d’échanger sur ces enjeux est essentielle afin de trouver l’équilibre dans cette situation extrêmement complexe. L’équilibre est difficile à obtenir, car les facteurs contributifs changent au fil du temps. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel de continuer à discuter avec des amis et des alliés, comme la Norvège.

Le 16 novembre, l’ambassade du Canada en Norvège a organisé des activités visant à faire avancer les discussions entre nos deux pays au sujet de la lutte contre l’extrémisme violent. Au matin, l’ambassade a tenu une table ronde durant laquelle le sergent Dunn et la superintendante Pozzobon, du programme ReDirect de la police de Calgary, ont rencontré des représentants des groupes de réflexions et des institutions de recherche de la Norvège pour comparer leurs méthodes de prévention respectives. Le programme ReDirect occupe une place importante parmi les services policiers de Calgary. Il s’agit d’un programme d’éducation, de sensibilisation et de prévention qui vise à enrayer la radicalisation des jeunes. Il est appliqué en collaboration avec ses partenaires opérationnels et communautaires dans le but d’établir des solutions multidisciplinaires. Il sert à lutter contre l’extrémisme violent sous toutes ses formes.

En parallèle à ces réunions avec la police de Calgary, l’ambassade a organisé une table ronde pour le professeur Vivek Venkatesh avec la participation du European Wergeland Centre et d’autres partenaires norvégiens. Les participants ont discuté des possibilités de collaboration entre le Canada et la Norvège pour combattre les discours haineux en ligne, améliorer la culture numérique des jeunes, et aider les éducateurs à faire place à un dialogue constructif dans leurs classes. Des efforts sont déployés pour développer davantage ces partenariats.

La police canadienne, la police norvégienne et des agents de sécurité ont échangé des renseignements pour mieux comprendre leurs approches respectives pour contrer l’extrémisme violent. La Norvège a expliqué son plan d’action contre la radicalisation et l’extrémisme violent.

L’ambassade a aussi organisé une discussion publique, laquelle a compté plus de 100 participants, dont des membres de la police de Calgary et le professeur Venkatesh de l’université Concordia. Le professeur Venkatesh a présenté le programme Someone (Social Media EducatiOn Every Day). L’initiative, appuyée par le projet Kanishka du gouvernement du Canada, a été créée afin de sensibiliser les jeunes, les éducateurs et le grand public – tant au Canada qu’à l’extérieur du pays – au sujet des tendances concernant les messages de haine en ligne, et dans le but de renforcer la résilience contre les discours de haine et la radicalisation. L’équipe multinationale et interdisciplinaire de chercheurs et de praticiens de l’initiative SOMEONE créée un portail en ligne de contenu informatif et multimédia conçu pour contrer les discours haineux en améliorant la culture numérique et l’esprit critique des utilisateurs.

En présence des experts norvégiens Zakia Akkouh du European Wergelands Centre et Tore Bjørgo du collège universitaire policier de la Norvège, le groupe a partagé ses points de vue sur le rôle de l’éducation, de l’application de la loi, des services sociaux et des approches multidisciplinaires dans les deux pays afin de lutter contre l’extrémisme violent. Le dialogue entre les participants et la participation très active de l’assistance ont démontré la volonté de la Norvège et du Canada à partager leurs expériences de manière pragmatique. Nous pouvons nous entraider à mieux comprendre la complexité de l’extrémisme violent et à créer des approches novatrices pour le contrer.

Le groupe de discussion prévu à Litteraturhuset, à Oslo, fera partie d’une série d’engagements entre le Canada et la Norvège organisés par l’ambassade du Canada. Notre objectif est d’aider à améliorer les connaissances et la coopération servant à lutter contre l’extrémisme violent. Suivez la page Facebook et les gazouillis de l’ambassade pour connaître les dernières nouvelles sur nos plans et nos activités. Je suis toujours ouvert à votre rétroaction et vos commentaires à propos de nos activités.