Inuit Students Dive into Diplomacy


Inuit students share a special performance at the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) for the Norwegian MP Margunn Ebbesen


Ambassador Artur Wilczynski and Inuit students discuss Norwegian culture.

Traditional throat singing and drumming echoes around the room as 18 Inuit students share a special performance with Ambassador Andree Cooligan. These students flew across the Atlantic to learn more about the Sámi people, indigenous populations living in the north of Europe.

They are part of Nunavut Sivuniksavut, an Ottawa college-level program, that provides Inuit youth with unique cultural and academic learning experiences that will allow them to develop the knowledge, skills and positive attitudes needed to contribute to the building of Nunavut.

Students have the opportunity to travel abroad and explore the experiences of other indigenous communities in the world. This year, students selected the Sámi populations of both Finland and Norway.

Revitalizing Culture


Inuit students with Ambassador Artur Wilczynski at the Canadian Embassy.

According to the United Nations Regional Information Centre on Europe, there are roughly 9,000 Sámi people living in Finland. The United Nations reports that land rights and language issues are top concerns for Sámi people in Finland and Norway.

“Indigenous peoples have the right to revitalize, use, develop and transmit to future generations their histories, languages, oral traditions, philosophies, writing systems and literatures, and to designate and retain their own names for communities, places and persons” – Article 13, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Nunavut Sivuniksavut students split up into two groups with 18 students going to Finland and 14 students headed to Norway to better understand the challenges of both communities’.

The Canadian Embassy of Finland organized a reception for the visiting delegation. The students were welcomed by Ambassador Cooligan at the residence along with local guests from the indigenous Sámi community.

The Embassy also helped in organizing a performance for the delegation at a northern Sámi language nest in Helsinki, which was followed visits at the University of Helsinki where students met with an Indigenous Studies professor as well as a professor of Sámi languages and with Finnish political stakeholders.

Language Building

In Oslo, the second group of Nunavut Sivuniksavut students met with Ambassador Artur Wilczynski. The Ambassador asked the students what they would like to share with Norwegians about Canada, so that he can better represent them.

“He asked us all kinds of questions about what we learned from the Sami in Norway. We ended up talking a lot about the parallels between Sami language and Inuktitut, and how keeping our language is so important to our cultures…what a cool ambassador!” – Surya Angatajuak, Student from Nunavut Sivuniksavut

The Inuit students visit of Norway and Finland represents further cooperation between the indigenous peoples of the Arctic from Canada and the Nordic countries. This was an opportunity to share Canadian heritage and indigenous culture with local stakeholders and show support for future manifestations of indigenous peoples’ international cooperation.

More Information

Les étudiants inuits s’immergent dans la diplomatie


Les étudiants inuits effectuent une représentation spéciale au Parlement norvégien (Storting) en présence du député norvégien Margunn Ebbesen


L’ambassadeur Artur Wilczynski et les étudiants inuits évoquent la culture norvégienne.

Des chants de gorge et des percussions traditionnels résonnent dans la salle alors que 18 étudiants inuits effectuent une représentation spéciale devant l’ambassadrice Andrée Cooligan. Ces étudiants ont traversé l’océan Atlantique pour en apprendre davantage sur le peuple sámi, qui est constitué de personnes autochtones vivant dans le nord de l’Europe.

Ils font partie du collège Nunavut Sivuniksavut, situé à Ottawa, dont le programme propose à la jeunesse inuite des expériences d’apprentissage culturel et académique uniques. Ce programme leur permettra d’acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et les attitudes positives nécessaires pour contribuer au développement du Nunavut.

Ces étudiants ont l’occasion de voyager à l’étranger et de découvrir les expériences des autres communautés autochtones présentes dans le monde. Cette année, les étudiants ont choisi le peuple sámi de Finlande et de Norvège.

Revitalisation de la culture


Les étudiants inuits avec l’ambassadeur Artur Wilczynski à l’ambassade du Canada.

D’après le Centre régional d’information des Nations Unies pour l’Europe, environ 9 000 Sámis vivent en Finlande. Les Nations Unies indiquent que les droits de propriété et les problématiques linguistiques sont les préoccupations majeures du peuple sámi en Finlande et en Norvège.

« Les peuples autochtones ont le droit de revivifier, d’utiliser, de développer et de transmettre aux générations futures leur histoire, leur langue, leurs traditions orales, leur philosophie, leur système d’écriture et leur littérature, ainsi que de choisir et de conserver leurs propres noms pour les communautés, les lieux et les personnes » – Article 13 de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Les étudiants de Nunavut Sivuniksavut se sont scindés en deux groupes, à savoir 18 étudiants se rendant en Finlande et 14 étudiants allant en Norvège, pour mieux comprendre les enjeux auxquels sont confrontés les deux communautés.

L’ambassade du Canada en Finlande a organisé une réception en l’honneur de la délégation en visite. Les étudiants ont été accueillis à la résidence par l’ambassadrice Cooligan aux côtés d’invités locaux de la communauté autochtone sámi.

L’ambassade a également participé à l’organisation d’une représentation destinée à la délégation dans une garderie enseignant le same du Nord à Helsinki. Cet événement a été suivi par des visites à l’Université d’Helsinki où les étudiants ont rencontré un professeur d’études autochtones ainsi qu’un professeur de langues sames et des acteurs politiques finlandais.

Rapprochement linguistique

À Oslo, le second groupe d’étudiants de Nunavut Sivuniksavut a rencontré l’ambassadeur Artur Wilczynski. L’ambassadeur leur a demandé d’évoquer ce qu’ils souhaiteraient transmettre aux Norvégiens à propos du Canada afin qu’il puisse mieux les représenter.

« Il nous a posé tout un tas de questions sur nos connaissances du peuple sámi vivant en Norvège. Nous avons beaucoup évoqué les parallèles entre la langue same et l’inuktitut et l’importance de la préservation de notre langue pour nos cultures. Quel ambassadeur remarquable!” – Surya Angatajuak, étudiante de Nunavut Sivuniksavut

La visite des étudiants inuits en Norvège et en Finlande représente une nouvelle étape dans la coopération entre les peuples autochtones de l’Arctique originaires du Canada et des pays nordiques. Ils ont eu la possibilité de présenter le patrimoine canadien et sa culture autochtone à des intervenants locaux et de montrer leur soutien à l’égard de futures manifestations autour de la coopération internationale des peuples autochtones.

Renseignements supplémentaires