Empowering women through economic participation in Pakistan

Gender equality is not only a human rights issue, but is also an essential component of sustainable development, social justice, peace, and security.”
Heather Cruden, High Commissioner of Canada to Pakistan

Participants gather for a group photo after the Women’s Economic Empowerment forum.
 
 

When women are equal partners in political, economic and social decision making, all of society benefits.

Despite recent gains for women and girls’ rights in Pakistan - including pro-women legislation - social and gender equality remains a challenge. Many women in Pakistan, especially in the rural areas of the country, often cannot access education and jobs due to deep-rooted cultural and institutional constraints.

The High Commission of Canada in Pakistan organized the fifth annual Women’s Economic Empowerment Forum in Islamabad to support gender equality and stimulate sustainable economic growth that includes women.

Gender equality – more than a human rights issue

Given the current economic challenges in Pakistan, there is an urgent need to focus on women’s economic participation, their rights and empowerment.
Heather Cruden, High Commissioner of Canada to Pakistan.

Canada’s High Commissioner to Pakistan, Heather Cruden, provides her remarks at the forum.
 
 
Participants listen to the presentations at the Women’s Economic Empowerment forum.
 
 

The forum on Women’s Economic Empowerment gathered a wide range of development professionals and partners, and blended practical and theoretical knowledge on the state of women’s economic participation in Pakistan. Diverse experts on gendered economic participation, including rural women themselves, weighed their opinions on how Pakistan can improve women’s economic participation.

The dialogue among discussion groups covered innovative ways of engaging the private sector and the government in support of women’s participation in the economy and moving from policy to implementation.

Canadian contributions to economic empowerment 

Canada’s recent projects for economic empowerment in Pakistan were highlighted during the event:

  • Increased employment opportunities and incomes for over 3,500 rural and marginalized women in Southern Sindh thanks to Canada’s project with NGO CARE International
     
  • Increased decision making power for women in the dairy sector in Southern Punjab through PLAN International.
     
  • Kashf Foundation has provided financial training to over 1 million women which has reduced their economic vulnerability, increased their incomes and helped expand their businesses while challenging stereotypes and cultural practices such as early forced marriage.
     
  • Agriculture and fishery workers, many of whom are women, are now recognized as formal workers in Pakistan thanks to Global Affairs Canada and the International Labour Organization providing technical assistance to launch the Gender Sensitive Labour Inspection System.

Canada hopes that through innovative projects , productive dialogue and joint advocacy efforts at events like the Women’s Economic Empowerment Forum, employment, social and cultural barriers will be broken down and gender equality will be recognized as necessary for genuine social and economic success.

Émancipation des femmes au Pakistan grâce à la participation économique

« L’égalité entre les sexes ne concerne pas seulement les droits de la personne, il s’agit également d’un élément essentiel au développement durable, à la justice sociale, à la paix et à la sécurité. »
- Heather Cruden, Haute-commissaire du Canada au Pakistan

Les participants se rassemblent pour une photo de groupe après le Forum sur l’émancipation économique des femmes.
 
 

Lorsque les femmes peuvent participer autant que les hommes dans la prise de décisions politiques, économiques et sociales, cela est bénéfique à toute la société.

Malgré des gains récents dans les droits des femmes et des filles au Pakistan, notamment une loi favorable aux femmes, atteindre l’égalité sociale et l’égalité des genres demeure un défi. Au Pakistan, surtout dans les régions rurales, de nombreuses femmes n’ont pas accès à l’éducation et à l’emploi en raison de contraintes culturelles et institutionnelles fortement enracinées.

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Pakistan a organisé le 5e Forum annuel sur l’émancipation économique des femmes à Islamabad pour soutenir l’égalité des genres et favoriser une croissance économique durable qui inclut les femmes.

Égalité des genres – plus qu’une question de droits de la personne

« En raison des défis économiques présents au Pakistan, il est urgent de se concentrer sur la participation économique, les droits et l’émancipation des femmes. »
Heather Cruden, Haute-commissaire du Canada au Pakistan.

Heather Cruden, Haute-commissaire du Canada au Pakistan, s’exprime lors du forum.
 
 
Les participants écoutent les présentations lors du Forum sur l’émancipation économique des femmes.
 
 

Le Forum sur l’émancipation économique des femmes a réuni un nombre important de professionnels et partenaires du développement et a permis le mélange de connaissances pratiques et théoriques relatives à l’état de la participation économique des femmes au Pakistan. Divers spécialistes de la participation économique selon le genre, notamment des femmes provenant elles-mêmes de milieux ruraux, ont partagé leurs opinions sur les façons qui permettraient au Pakistan d’améliorer la participation économique des femmes.

Le dialogue des groupes de discussions a couvert les façons innovantes de mobiliser le secteur privé et le gouvernement pour soutenir la participation des femmes à l’économie et le passage des politiques à la mise en œuvre.

Contributions canadiennes à l’émancipation économique

Durant l’évènement, les récents projets du Canada pour l’émancipation économique au Pakistan ont été présentés :

  • Augmentation des possibilités d’emplois et des revenus pour plus de 3500 femmes marginalisées en milieu rural dans le sud du Sindh grâce au projet canadien réalisé en collaboration avec l’ONG CARE International
     
  • Augmentation du pouvoir de décision des femmes dans le secteur des produits laitiers dans le sud du Punjab grâce à PLAN International.
     
  • La fondation Kashf a donné une formation financière à plus de 1 million de femmes. Cela a permis de diminuer leur vulnérabilité économique, d’accroître leur revenu et d’agrandir leur entreprise, tout en s’opposant aux stéréotypes et aux pratiques culturelles comme le mariage forcé en bas âge.
     
  • Les travailleurs dans le domaine de l’agriculture et de la pêche, dont un nombre important sont des femmes, sont maintenant reconnus comme des travailleurs salariés au Pakistan, grâce à Affaires mondiales Canada et à l’Organisation internationale du travail qui offrent de l’aide technique pour lancer le Système d’inspection du travail qui tient compte de la spécificité des genres.

Le Canada souhaite que les barrières à l’emploi, sociales et culturelles soient brisées et l’égalité des genres reconnue comme nécessaire pour atteindre une réelle réussite sociale et économique, grâce à des projets innovants, à des dialogues productifs et à des mesures communes de défense des intérêts lors d’évènement comme le Forum sur l’émancipation économique des femmes.