Educate a girl and you educate a community

The High Commission join UNICEF in congratulating the winning artists. Photo credit: UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi.

The High Commission and UNICEF co-produced calendars with the winning art submissions and distributed them across Pakistan.
 
Former High Commissioner Cruden presents an award to one of the winning students from Peshawar. Photo credit: UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi
 
Canadian Senator Salma Ataullahjan returns to her roots and becomes a female role model for students at one of the schools in Peshawar. Photo credit: UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi
 

“Let me conclude with a hope to see Pakistan as a country where no child is out of school and both girls and boys have an equal access to education.”
Heather Cruden, Canada’s former High Commissioner to Pakistan

Canada and UNICEF collaborate to promote girls’ education

The High Commission of Canada in Pakistan collaborated with UNICEF to host an art contest among students representing grades 1 to 12 in Peshawar. The theme was “Investing in Girls’ Education for a Brighter Future”. Canada strongly believes that the right to education should be realised in all countries, for all girls and boys.

Creativity was at the forefront as girls and boys created beautiful artwork that represented their thoughts on the value of girls receiving an education.  It also provided teachers at participating schools the opportunity to talk to girls and boys about the role of girls and women in Pakistani society.

Each school selected thirty students to participate in the contest and gave them two days to create their artwork. The High Commission and UNICEF supplied the students all the materials they needed to create their masterpieces. For some children, this was the first time they had used coloured pencils or markers.

The artwork submitted showed that children imagined themselves as educated mothers and working professionals such as doctors and lawyers, and conveyed strong and inspiring messages on the importance of girls’ education. One girl even shared her dream of being an astronaut! The chosen artworks were combined to make desktop calendars and were distributed across Pakistan.  

Prize ceremony encourages girls to pursue education

The High Commission and UNICEF organized a Prize Distribution Ceremony at one of the participating schools and handed out books as prizes, such as dictionaries, science books, and copies of Canadian classic Anne of Green Gables. Winning students and schools also received the desktop calendars that featured their works of art.

The High Commission was delighted that Canada’s Senator Salma Ataullahjan, who happened to be in Pakistan at the time, was able to join in the event and congratulate the children.

At the Ceremony, former High Commissioner Cruden highlighted that education is very necessary for all children to get ahead in life and be successful, and encouraged children to understand that education is an essential tool to move towards a brighter future.

Éduquez une fille et vous éduquez une collectivité.

Le Haut-Commissariat se joint à l’UNICEF pour féliciter les artistes gagnants. Crédit de photo : UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi.

Le Haut-Commissariat et l’UNICEF ont coproduit des calendriers avec les œuvres d’art retenues et les ont distribuées partout au Pakistan.
 
L'ancienne haute-Commissaire Cruden présente un prix à l’un des élèves gagnants de Peshawar. Crédit de photo : UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi
 
La sénatrice canadienne Salma Ataullahjan retrouve ses racines et devient un modèle de rôle féminin pour les élèves à l’une des écoles à Peshawar. Crédit de photo : UNICEF Pakistan/Asad Zaidi
 

« Permettez-moi de conclure avec l’espoir que le Pakistan sera perçu comme un pays où aucun enfant n’est exclu de l’école et que les filles, autant que les garçons, ont le même accès à l’éducation ».
Heather Cruden, l'ancienne haute-commissaire du Canada au Pakistan

Le Canada et l’UNICEF collaborent afin de promouvoir l’éducation des filles

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Pakistan a collaboré avec l’UNICEF pour organiser un concours d’œuvres d’art parmi les élèves de la première à la douzième année à Peshawar. Le thème était « Investir dans l’éducation des jeunes filles pour assurer un avenir meilleur ». Le Canada croit fermement que le droit à l’éducation doit être accordé dans tous les pays, autant pour les filles que pour les garçons.

La créativité était au premier plan, car les filles comme les garçons ont produit de magnifiques œuvres d’art qui exprimaient leurs pensées sur la valeur de l’éducation pour les jeunes filles.  L’événement a également fourni aux enseignants des écoles participantes l’occasion de parler aux filles et aux garçons du rôle des filles et des femmes dans la société pakistanaise.

Chaque école a choisi trente étudiants pour participer au concours et leur a donné deux jours pour créer leurs œuvres artistiques. Le Haut-Commissariat et l’UNICEF ont fourni aux élèves tout le matériel dont ils avaient besoin pour créer leurs chefs-d’œuvre. Pour certains enfants, c’était la première fois qu’ils utilisaient des crayons ou des marqueurs de couleur.

Les dessins des enfants ont démontré qu’ils s’imaginaient devenir des mères instruites et des professionnels, comme des médecins et des avocates, et ont véhiculé des messages puissants et inspirants sur l’importance de l’éducation des filles. Une fille a même partagé son rêve de devenir astronaute! Les œuvres choisies ont été combinées pour les publier comme calendrier sur ordinateur et ont été distribuées partout au Pakistan. 

Une cérémonie de remise des prix encourage les jeunes filles à poursuivre leurs études

Le Haut-Commissariat et l’UNICEF ont organisé une cérémonie de remise des prix à l’une des écoles participantes et ont distribué des livres comme prix, tels que des dictionnaires, des livres de science et des copies du populaire roman canadien Anne... la maison aux pignons verts. Les élèves et les écoles lauréates du concours ont également reçu les calendriers sur ordinateur mettant en vedette leurs œuvres d’art.

Le Haut-Commissariat a été ravi que la sénatrice du Canada Salma Ataullahjan, qui par coïncidence, se trouvait au Pakistan, ait pu se joindre à l’événement et féliciter les enfants.

Au cours de la cérémonie, l'ancienne haute-commissaire Cruden a souligné que l’éducation est indispensable pour donner la chance à tous les enfants de réussir et d’avoir un avenir prometteur; elle a aidé les enfants à comprendre que l’éducation est un outil essentiel pour s’engager sur la voie d’un avenir meilleur.