Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

panama.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Giving Value to Waste: Canada and Panama examine waste management


Audience listening to Mrs. Ariadna Arroyo, National speaker during the conference.

In Panama City, where 30% of the country’s population lives, the main landfill receives the equivalent of 4 full Boeings 747 of waste per month, with no formal waste ‘separation’ system.  This situation is repeated on a smaller scale in municipalities all across the country.


Pierre Fillion, Canadian expert, explaining the history of our global shared consumer system.
   
   

Representatives from different NGOs, public and private Institutions, were present.
   
   

Photo49: Kathryn Burkell, STC, opens the conference on behalf of the Ambassador.
   
   

Recycling in Panama involves poorer citizens sorting through garbage at the city dump searching for anything they can find of value. The lack of trash collection is one of the major issues confronting the country at the moment.

The Embassy of Canada to Panama recently spearheaded a joint program with Panama’s Environmental Authority (ANAM) and the City of Knowledge Foundation to initiate a "Discussion on Recycling in Panama".

Given the recently enacted Canada-Panama Environmental Cooperation Agreement, and the opportunity to shed new light on the challenges and possibilities of change, the timing was almost perfect.

Stakeholders came on board with an interest in reactivating recycling talks and of learning more about Quebec’s recycling model to see to what extent it could be applied in Panama.

The Embassy invited Canadian Pierre Fillion, President of FEPAC, the Federation of Plastics and Alliances Composites to showcase Canada’s success with the 3R+R formula (Refuse, Reduce, Reuse and Recycle).

Over 60 activists and decision makers attended the conference from both the public and private sector including: chambers, private enterprise, supermarket reps, academia, non-governmental organizations and public institutions, all related to some part of the chain of production, consumption and waste system of the city. 

It was important to involve such a wide cross-section of participants as waste management is not a problem of a single institution — it is everybody's problem and a whole-of-society approach is required in order for these initiatives to be successful. 

Mr. Filion’s described how we have arrived and survived to date in a global shared system. According to Filion, this system will not be sustainable for much longer.

“If you do not make changes and soon, it is most likely that our economic and social systems will collapse at any time”, said Fillion.  In addition to explaining the Quebec recycling model, Fillion also highlighted the “extended responsibility for producers” law which stipulates that companies that produce or manufacture products have a responsibility to pay for the closure of the life cycle of each product manufactured, be it a pen, a soda can, or a car.

He encouraged the adoption of this law in Panama or at least to start contemplating the inclusion of the private sector in a regulatory framework of this kind.

Fillion also discussed citizen’s important role in reducing and recycling.  To achieve this recycling mentality in people’s minds, we must start, he argues, by giving value to what we call "scrap" and create an awareness in people that what you throw away is actually valuable and has a useful and economically feasible life, if it is processed and recycled by the proper channels.

He also spoke about the “law of sustainable development” which currently, only Quebec and 5 other countries in the world are implementing.

The conference also featured local speaker Ms. Ariadna Arroyo of Panama’s Waste Management Authority (AAUD) who provided a glimpse of what has been done by different actors (public and private institutions) in Panama in the field of recycling and the importance of coordination among all groups involved in the matter. 

The diverse attendance in the room led to a lively question and answer session where many participants raised questions regarding how a sustainable law could be applied in Panama, the role of governance in the recycling model, and specifics around the recycling of plastics, paper and others items like tires. 

“We all know that the problem of recycling in Panama and in any other country is not a problem of a single institution - it is everybody's problem. All of us who are here are part of one or another other form of the chain of production, consumption and waste in which we live.  But we all also share the desire to walk in cleaner cities, with an air more breathable, healthier trees and more resilient ecosystems.  We are delighted to play a role in achieving.” – Kathryn Burkell, Senior Trade Commissioner

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-10-24

Conférer une valeur aux déchets : La gestion des déchets au Panama


L’auditoire attentif aux propos de Mme Ariadna Arroyo, la conférencière nationale invitée.

À Panama City, où vit 30 % de la population du pays, l’équivalent de 4 Boeing 747 remplis de déchets est déversé chaque mois au dépotoir municipal, sans avoir été de triés. On constate la même situation, à plus petite échelle cependant, dans toutes les autres municipalités du pays.


Le spécialiste canadien Pierre Fillion relate l’histoire du régime de consommation mondial.
   
   


Des représentants de différentes ONG, sociétés et institutions publiques et privées étaient présents.
   
   


Kathryn Burkell, déléguée commerciale principale, a inauguré la conférence au nom de l’ambassadeur du Canada.
   
   

Le seul recyclage qui se fait au Panama est celui pratiqué par les pauvres, qui espèrent trouver au dépotoir municipal quoi que ce soit qui pourrait leur servir. Le pays est aussi aux prises avec un important problème de collecte des déchets.

L’ambassade du Canada au Panama a lancé avec l’ANAM (l’autorité responsable de l’environnement du Panama) et la Fondation de la Cité du savoir, un programme visant à susciter une Discussion sur le recyclage au Panama.

Ce programme tombe à point étant donné l’adoption récente de l’accord de coopération entre le Canada et le Panama en matière d’environnement et l’occasion de jeter un nouveau regard sur les défis présents et à venir, et les possibilités de changement.

Différents intervenants souhaitant ranimer les discussions sur le recyclage et en apprendre davantage sur le modèle de recyclage employé au Québec, en vue d’une application possible au Panama, ont participé à l’événement.

L’ambassade avait invité le Canadien Pierre Fillion, président de la FEPAC, la Fédération des plastiques et alliances composites, à parler des succès remportés au Canada avec la formule dite des 3R+R (refuser, réduire, réutiliser et recycler).

Plus de 60 activistes et décideurs des secteurs public et privé, parmi lesquels des représentants de chambres de commerce et d’associations de détaillants, de l’entreprise privée, de supermarchés, de milieux universitaires, d’organisations non gouvernementales et d’institutions publiques s’intéressant de près ou de loin à une partie de la chaîne de production, de consommation et d’élimination des déchets de la ville, ont assisté à la conférence.

Il était important de pouvoir compter sur une telle brochette de participants, car la gestion des déchets n’est pas l’affaire d’une seule organisation ou administration; c’est un problème collectif, dont la solution nécessite la contribution de l’ensemble de la société.

M. Fillion a expliqué comment on en était arrivé à adopter un régime de consommation commun à l’échelle de la planète et à survivre jusqu’ici sous ce régime qui, selon lui, ne pourra plus durer encore bien longtemps.

« Si vous n’apportez pas bientôt des changements, nos systèmes économiques et sociaux pourraient s’effondrer à tout moment », a-t-il indiqué. En plus d’exposer le modèle de recyclage québécois, M. Fillion a mis en relief la loi sur la « responsabilité élargie des producteurs », selon laquelle les producteurs ou fabricants doivent payer un montant pour la gestion de la fin de vie de chacun de leurs produits, qu’il s’agisse d’un stylo, d’une canette de boisson gazeuse ou d’une voiture.

Il a encouragé le Panama à adopter une telle loi ou, à tout le moins, à envisager l’application d’un cadre réglementaire semblable dans le secteur privé.

M. Fillion a aussi parlé du rôle important des citoyens quant à la réduction et au recyclage des déchets. Selon lui, pour implanter une mentalité de recyclage, il faut d’abord conférer une certaine valeur à ce qu’on appelle communément des « rebuts » et sensibiliser la population au fait que les choses jetées peuvent avoir une utilité et une valeur économique une fois traitées et recyclées correctement. 

Il a également évoqué les « lois sur le développement durable », que le Québec et cinq autres pays dans le monde ont été les seuls à adopter jusqu’à présent. 

Une conférencière locale, Mme Ariadna Arroyo, de l’AAUD (l’organisme responsable de la gestion des déchets au Panama), a donné un aperçu des actions des différents intéressés (des secteurs public et privé) dans le dossier du recyclage au Panama, et souligné l’importance d’une bonne coordination parmi tous les groupes d’intervenants. 

L’auditoire hétérogène s’est ensuite prêté à une séance de questions où ont fusé les questions concernant l’application d’une loi sur le développement durable au Panama, le rôle de la gouvernance dans le modèle de recyclage et le recyclage des plastiques, du papier, des pneus et d’autres articles. 

« Nous savons tous que le recyclage, que ce soit au Panama ou dans n’importe quel autre pays, n’est pas la responsabilité d’une seule organisation ou administration. C’est celle de tout le monde. Nous tous, ici présents, occupons une place dans la chaîne de production, de consommation et d’élimination des produits. Et nous souhaitons tous marcher dans des villes propres, respirer de l’air pur et avoir des arbres et des écosystèmes forts et en santé. Nous sommes heureux de contribuer à l’atteinte de ces objectifs. » – Kathryn Burkell, déléguée commerciale principale