Collaborative sustainable development in Peru

"ISID’s CSR course allowed me to learn from experts in different fields, as well as to come in contact with various decision  makers in particular territories."
Aldo Huamán Arias
Project Officer, Socios Perú, Lima, Peru

When communities, governments and companies collaborate to develop a common vision for sustainable development, everyone benefits. For companies, corporate social responsibility (CSR) not only enhances their chances for success but also helps to foster a more stable and prosperous society.

The Government of Canada works with the Canadian business community, civil society organizations, foreign governments and communities to foster and promote responsible business practices, and thus support sustainable economic growth and shared value.

Canadian panellists delivering the course:
Top: Shawn Atleo, hereditary Chief of the Ahousaht First Nation and former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Canada; Ovide Mercredi, former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Canada; lawyer, negotiator and author; Philip Oxhorn, (PhD, Harvard), Professor of Political Science at McGill University.
 
Bottom: Sonia Laszlo, (PDS, University of Toronto); Associate Professor of Economics, McGill University; Ben Chalmers, Vice President of Sustainable Development of the Mineral Association of Canada; José Aylwin, lawyer and activist specializing in human rights and indigenous studies.

Effectively integrating economic, environmental and social priorities can be complex and challenging for many companies. Recognizing these challenges, the Embassy of Canada to Peru was proud to support McGill University’s Institute of the Study of International Development’s (ISID) 5-day course, “Corporate Social Responsibility: Creating Value through Collaborative Sustainable Development” in Lima, Peru. The Embassy helped to sponsor the participation of community leaders and civil society representatives from Peru, Chile and Argentina.

"When I signed up for the course, my objective was to learn and broaden my knowledge. It is my duty as a citizen to be informed of all realities, local, regional, national and international; and to be part of the solution and not of the problem."
Rufina Sarmiento Puma
Regional Community Leader for the Peasant Community of Atancama
Member of the Board of Directors of the Regional Federation of Women from the Apurímac Region FEMURA

Promoting public-private collaboration

Through panel discussions, workshops and lively debate, ISID’s program provided an overview of current issues in CSR as well as practical tools and strategies to align business objectives with the social and environmental objectives of CSR. Over the course of a week, participants at the course learned how diverse organizations can balance competing priorities and find solutions that create shared value.

The Embassy hosted an engaging panel discussion, “CSR: the Canadian Experience.” Ambassador of Canada to Peru and Bolivia, Patricia Fortier, moderated the discussion and provided insight on the importance of collaboration between government, businesses and NGOs towards creating shared values.

Participants from many sectors and different countries throughout Latin America had the chance to develop further professional skills in areas of CSR.

The Embassy of Canada was proud to support ISID’s CSR program which has helped bring together leaders from businesses, government and civil society to develop harmonized approaches in addressing social responsibility.

Développement durable axé sur la collaboration au Pérou

« Le cours sur la RSE dispensé par l’IÉDI m’a permis d’acquérir des connaissances de la part d’experts de différents domaines et d’être en contact avec plusieurs décideurs dans des territoires particuliers.» 
Aldo Huamán Arias
Agent de projet, Socios Perú –Lima, Pérou

Lorsque les collectivités, les gouvernements et les entreprises s’associent pour élaborer une vision commune du développement durable, tout le monde y gagne. La responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE) améliore non seulement les chances de réussite des entreprises, mais contribue également à favoriser une société plus stable et prospère.

Le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec le milieu des affaires canadien, les organisations de la société civile, les gouvernements étrangers et les collectivités en vue de favoriser et de promouvoir des pratiques commerciales responsables et de soutenir ainsi une croissance économique viable et la mise en place de valeurs communes.

Experts canadiens offrant le cours :
En haut : Shawn Atleo, Chef héréditaire de la Première Nation d’Ahousaht et ancien Chef national de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Canada ; Ovide Mercredi, ancien Chef national de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Canada; avocat, négociateur et auteur ; Philip Oxhorn, (Ph. D., Harvard), professeur en science politique à l’Université McGill.
 
En bas : Sonia Laszlo, (PDS, Université de Toronto); professeure agrégée d'économie, Université McGill ; Ben Chalmers, vice-président du Développement durable de l’Association minière du Canada ; José Aylwin, avocat et militant spécialisé dans les droits de la personne et les études autochtones.

Pour un grand nombre d’entreprises, il peut s’avérer complexe et exigeant d’intégrer efficacement à leurs processus les priorités économiques, environnementales et sociales. Reconnaissant ces défis, l’ambassade du Canada au Pérou était fière d’appuyer le cours d’une durée de cinq jours offert à Lima au Pérou, par l’Institut d’étude du développement international de l’Université McGill, intitulé « Responsabilité sociale des entreprises : créer de la valeur grâce à la collaboration en matière de développement durable ». L’ambassade a contribué à financer la participation de dirigeants communautaires et de représentants de la société civile provenant du Pérou, du Chili et de l’Argentine.

« Lorsque je me suis inscrite au cours, je voulais acquérir des connaissances et parfaire mon savoir. En tant que citoyenne, il est de mon devoir de me tenir informée de toutes les réalités, tant à l’échelle locale, régionale, nationale qu’internationale, et de faire partie de la solution et non pas du problème. En étant informée, je pourrais exprimer mon opinion et contribuer au développement de la société. »
Rufina Sarmiento Puma
Dirigeante communautaire régionale pour la communauté paysanne d’Atancama
Membre du conseil d’administration de la Fédération régionale des femmes de la région d’Apurímac – (en espagnol FEMURA)

Promouvoir la collaboration des secteurs public et privé

Le programme de l’Institut d'étude du développement international (IÉDI) offre, par l’intermédiaire de discussions en groupe, d’ateliers et de débats animés, un aperçu des enjeux actuels relatifs à la RSE et des outils et stratégies pratiques utilisés pour harmoniser les objectifs commerciaux aux objectifs sociaux et environnementaux s’appliquant à la RSE. En une semaine de cours, les participants ont appris comment diverses organisations peuvent concilier les priorités conflictuelles et trouver des solutions pour créer des valeurs communes.

L’ambassade a organisé une discussion de groupe intéressante sur le thème « La RSE : l’expérience canadienne ». Patricia Fortier, ambassadrice du Canada au Pérou et en Bolivie, a animé le débat et fourni un aperçu de l’importance de la collaboration entre le gouvernement, les entreprises et les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) pour créer des valeurs communes.

Des participants de plusieurs secteurs et de divers pays de l’Amérique latine ont ainsi eu l’occasion d’acquérir des compétences professionnelles supplémentaires touchant la RSE.

L’ambassade du Canada était fière d’appuyer le programme sur la RSE de l’IÉDI qui a permis de réunir des dirigeants des entreprises, du gouvernement et de la société civile en vue de concevoir des approches harmonisées visant à aborder la question de la responsabilité sociale.