Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

peru.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada and Peru united to promote transparency in the extractive sector

SHORT CAPTION less than 120 character
Canadian Ambassador, Patricia Fortier and Minister of Energy and Mines, Jorge Merino together with private sector, civil society and regional government representatives at the launch of the G8 Partnership to Support Transparency in the Extractive Sector.
   

In November 2013, the Canadian Embassy and Ministry of Energy and Mines of Peru launched The G8 Partnership to Support Transparency in the Extractives Sector. This initiative is part of a joint effort between G8 countries and 15 countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America to improve transparency in the management of natural resources sector around the world.

The Partnership aims to improve the standard of living of communities living near mining and oil extraction operations and to promote a more responsible and sustainable extractive industry in Peru. To that end, the Partnership aims to strengthen the capacity of municipalities and regional governments to manage mining royalties in a transparent and responsible way, and to foster a constructive dialogue between the State, communities, the private sector and civil society.  During the official launch of the Partnership, Peru’s Minister of Energy and Mines, Jorge Merino, underscored that these efforts will enhance dialogue across all sectors, “because we have a common goal: development, and especially, the fight against poverty”.

The G8 Partnership to Support Transparency in the Extractives Sector in Peru is part of the ongoing commitment of the Government of Canada to promote sustainable development and transparent and responsible practices in the extractive sector. Canadian Ambassador Patricia Fortier highlighted that: “The objective of the new G8 Partnership is to support the efforts of the Peruvian government to promote transparency, eco-efficiency and dialogue in the extractive sector. Today, more than ever, Canada and Peru are strategic partners. In fact, in this globalized and interdependent world, we can even say that we are neighbours working closely together for the benefit of Peruvians and Canadians”.

Canada and Peru developed the action plan for the Partnership through a series of consultations with more than 70 public, private and civil society institutions. A consultative group will lead and evaluate the implementation of the action plan.

To learn more about Canada’s support for responsible resource management in Peru, please visit the websites of the Canadian Prime Minister and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-11-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

perou.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada et le Pérou ensemble pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction

SHORT CAPTION less than 120 character
L 'Ambassadeure du Canada, Patricia Fortier et le Ministre de l'Énergie et des Mines, Jorge Merino, avec des représentants du secteur privé, de la société civile et des gouvernements régionaux lors de la présentation de l'Alliance du G8 pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l'extraction.
   

En novembre 2013, l’Ambassade du Canada et le Ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines du Pérou ont présenté l’Alliance du G8 pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction.  Cette initiative fait partie d’un effort conjoint entre les pays du G8 et 15 pays en Afrique, Asie et Amérique latine pour améliorer la transparence dans le secteur de la gestion des ressources naturelles à travers le monde.

Cette Alliance vise à améliorer le niveau de vie des communautés vivant à proximité des opérations minières et pétrolières et à promouvoir une industrie plus responsable et durable au Pérou. A cette fin, l’Alliance  vise à renforcer la capacité des municipalités et des gouvernements locaux à gérer de façon responsable et transparente les royautés minières et à encourager un dialogue constructif entre l’État, les communautés, le secteur privé et la société civile. Lors du lancement officiel de l’Alliance, le Ministre de l’Énergie et des Mines du Pérou, Jorge Merino, a souligné que ces efforts renforceront le dialogue à travers tous les secteurs « parce que nous avons un but commun : le développement, et surtout la lutte contre la pauvreté ». 

L’Alliance du G8 pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction au Pérou fait partie de l’engagement continu du Gouvernement du Canada pour promouvoir le développement durable et les pratiques responsables et transparentes dans ce secteur. L’Ambassadeure canadienne Patricia Fortier a souligné que « l’objectif de la nouvelle Alliance du G8 est d’appuyer les efforts du gouvernement péruvien à promouvoir la transparence, l’éco-efficacité et le dialogue dans le secteur de la gestion des ressources naturelles. Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, le Canada et le Pérou sont des partenaires stratégiques.  En effet, dans ce monde globalisé et interdépendant, nous pouvons dire que nous sommes des voisins qui travaillons ensemble de près pour assurer des bénéfices pour tous les Canadiens et les Péruviens ».

Le Canada et le Pérou ont développé le Plan d’actions pour l’Alliance à travers une série de consultations avec plus de 70 institutions publiques, privées et de la société civile. Un comité consultatif dirigera et évaluera la mise en œuvre de ce plan.

 Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’appui du Canada au Pérou dans le secteur de la gestion responsable des ressources naturelles, veuillez visiter le site web du Premier Ministre canadien et du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-11-26