Canada promotes competitiveness and economic diversification in Peru


Canadian Ambassador Patricia Fortier presenting PRODICOM


Canadian Ambassador Patricia Fortier and SOCODEVI’s director in Peru Réjean Lantagne


Canadian Ambassador Patricia Fortier with one of the cooperatives’ representatives

On February 12th, the Canadian Embassy in Peru and the Canadian Cooperative Society for International Development (SOCODEVI) launched the PRODICOM project, an initiative designed to promote entrepreneurial competitiveness and economic diversification in three extractive regions in northern Peru.

Economic diversification that develops local competitive advantages can play an important role in reducing inequality in extractive regions. To achieve this goal, PRODICOM will strengthen the management and production capacities of about 8000 producers and 30 cooperatives in the regions of La Libertad, Ancash and Cajamarca over a 7-year period. While fostering competitiveness and productivity, this initiative will enhance at the same time the role of female business leaders in cooperatives.

Another area of focus for PRODICOM will be the reinforcement of local governments’ capabilities to design and implement development plans in areas such as agriculture, livestock production and forestry as well as value-chain development schemes.

Funded by the Canadian government, this project operates under an innovative method which includes the collaboration of the private sector. Thanks to the support of Barrick Gold, Antamina and Rio Tinto, the project amounts up to $20 million dollars.

Canadian Ambassador Patricia Fortier highlighted that this is a “joint effort that aims to access new markets, produce better products and generate more earnings for local producers. This also demonstrates that mining and farming can coexist and move forward together.”

Canada is committed to supporting Peru’s decentralization efforts, fostering competitiveness and economic diversification across the country. In the period 2011-2013, Canada contributed $49.3 million to cooperation for development in Peru throughout bilateral programmes and associations with Canadian and multilateral organizations.

To learn more about Canada’s development programming in Peru, please visit the international cooperation project database of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

More information on PRODICOM (available in Spanish only).

Le Canada encourage la compétitivité et la diversification économique au Pérou


L’Ambassadeure du Canada Patricia Fortier présente PRODICOM


L’Ambassadeure du Canada Patricia Fortier et le directeur de SOCODEVI au Pérou Réjean Lantagne


L’Ambassadeure Patricia Fortier avec l’une des représentantes des coopératives

Le 12 février, l'Ambassade du Canada au Pérou et la Société de coopération pour le développement international (SOCODEVI) ont lancé le projet PRODICOM, une initiative conçue afin de promouvoir la compétitivité des entreprises et la diversification économique dans trois régions extractives dans le nord du Pérou.

La diversification économique qui développe les avantages compétitifs locaux peut jouer un rôle important dans la réduction des inégalités dans les régions extractives. Pour atteindre cet objectif, PRODICOM renforcera les capacités de gestion et de production d'environ 8,000 producteurs et 30 coopératives dans les régions de La Libertad, Ancash et Cajamarca dans une période de 7 ans. Tout en favorisant la compétitivité et la productivité, cette initiative permettra d'améliorer en même temps le rôle de femmes chefs d'entreprise dans les coopératives.

Un autre domaine de travail pour PRODICOM sera le renforcement des capacités des gouvernements locaux pour créer et exécuter des plans de développement dans des domaines tels que l'agriculture, l'élevage, la sylviculture et des programmes de développement de la chaîne de valeur.

Financé par le gouvernement canadien, ce projet fonctionne sous une méthode innovante avec la collaboration du secteur privé. Grâce à l'appui de Barrick Gold, Antamina et Rio Tinto, le projet s’élève à $ 20 millions.

L'Ambassadeure du Canada, Patricia Fortier, a souligné qu'il s'agit d'un "effort commun qui vise à accéder à de nouveaux marchés, livrer des meilleurs produits et générer plus de revenus pour les producteurs locaux. Cela démontre également que l'exploitation minière et l'agriculture peuvent coexister et avancer ensemble".

Le Canada tient à soutenir les efforts de décentralisation du Pérou, en promouvant la compétitivité et la diversification économique à travers le pays. Dans la période 2011-2013, le Canada a donné $ 49,3 millions pour contribuer avec le développement au Pérou à travers des programmes bilatéraux et des associations avec des organisations canadiennes et multilatérales.

Pour en savoir plus sur les programmes de développement du Canada au Pérou, veuillez visiter la base de données des projets de coopération internationale du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Plus d'information sur PRODICOM (disponible en espagnol seulement).