How to obtain an authenticated Canadian criminal record check from abroad

The RCMP has implemented new procedures as of 2014/07/01 requiring, among other things, that all fingerprints be submitted electronically. You will find the details of the procedure on their webpage.

You may also be able to obtain a criminal record check through a Provincial/Territorial police force, but you should know that in this case the process is more complex. The items marked with an arrow (è) only apply if you obtain a criminal record check through Provincial/Territorial police forces.

  1. Follow the steps listed on the RCMP website, or the Provincial/Territorial police force’s site to obtain a criminal record check.
  2. Once you receive it, you will need to complete a few steps afterwards: have the Provincial/Territorial criminal record check notarized by a Canadian notary public in Canada
     
    1. have the criminal record check authenticated by Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD)
    2. have the authentication by DFATD legalized by the Embassy, in Ottawa, of the country where the document is to be presented and, possibly
    3. if needed, have the document, authenticated and legalized, translated in the language of the country where it is to be presented
  3. Gather information for the steps above:
     
    1. instructions are below
    2. contact the Embassy in Ottawa of the country where the criminal record check is to be presented and confirm with its consular section how to proceed to forward to them the criminal record check, make payment if there are any fees, have the document sent back to you, etc.
    3. contact the company, institution or government office that has requested to obtain a copy of your criminal record check and ask them if it needs to be translated, and what the requirements are for this translation. Most often, you will need to obtain some sort of “official translation”, and since Canadian Missions do not translate documents, you may need to arrange for an official or certified translator in the countrywhere the document is destined
  4. Start the authentication and legalization process: if you obtained it from a Provincial/Territorial police force, have the criminal record check notarized by a Canadian notary public in Canada
     
    1. send the criminal record check results to be authenticated to Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) following the instructions on the website. This service is available via mail.
    2. send the authenticated document to the Embassy of the country where it is to be presented for legalization; make sure to include clear instructions on how the document is to be returned to you, as well as fees, if applicable
    3. if necessary, have the document, authenticated and legalized, translated in the language of the country where it is to be presented; make sure that the translator meets the requirements of the company, institution or government office that is requesting it

PRO TIP! keep a copy of the documents throughout the process and, if possible, have a certified copy made of the original and translation, so that if it gets lost in the mail, you have a fallback plan.

Comment obtenir une attestation de vérification de casier judiciaire canadien à l’extérieur du Canada

La GRC a instauré de nouvelles procédures depuis le 1er juillet 2014 exigeant notamment la transmission électronique de toutes les empreintes digitales. Veuillez diriger les clients vers leur site.

Vous pourriez aussi obtenir une attestation de vérification de casier judiciaire canadien auprès d’une force policière provinciale ou territoriale, mais sachez que le processus d’authentification sera alors plus complexe. Les étapes marquées par une flèche (è) s’appliquent seulement aux vérifications obtenues auprès des forces policières provinciales ou territoriales.

  1. Suivez les étapes décrites sur le site de la GRC ou sur le site d’une force policière provinciale ou territoriale afin d’obtenir une vérification de casier judiciaire canadien.
  2. Après l’avoir reçu, vous devrez compléter les étapes suivantes : obtenez une copie notariée par un notaire public canadien au Canada
     
    1. envoyez le document à authentifier à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD)
    2. faites légaliser, par l’ambassade du pays où elle est destinée, la vérification de casier judiciaire qui a été authentifiée par le MAECD et, le cas échéant,
    3. si nécessaire, faites traduire le document, authentifié et légalisé, dans la langue du pays où il doit être présenté 
  3. Renseignez-vous sur les étapes subséquentes :
     
    1. suivez les instructions dans la section 4
    2. contactez l’Ambassade, à Ottawa du pays où la vérification du casier judiciaire est destinée afin de confirmer avec sa section consulaire comment leur acheminer le document après authentification par Affaires Étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, comment payer les droits applicables, comment recevoir le document légalisé, etc.
    3. contactez l’institution ou entreprise qui vous a demandé d’obtenir une copie de votre vérification de casier judiciaire et demandez si elle doit être traduite et quelles sont les exigences d’une telle traduction. La plupart du temps, il s’agit d’une « traduction officielle » à obtenir au Canada ou dans le pays de destination, selon les exigences et coûtumes
  4. Démarrez le processus d’authentification et légalisation : si vous l’avez obtenue d’une force policière provinciale ou territoriale, votre vérification du casier judiciaire doit être notariée par un notaire public canadien au Canada
     
    1. envoyez le document à authentifier à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) en suivant les directives fournies sur son site Web. Vous pourrez envoyer votre demande par la poste
    2. envoyez le document authentifié à l’Ambassade (auprès du Canada) du pays de destination, afin qu’il puisse être légalisé; veillez à y inclure des instructions claires sur la façon dont le document vous doit être retourné, ainsi que les frais, le cas échéant
    3. si nécessaire, faites traduire le document, authentifié et légalisé, dans la langue du pays où il doit être présenté, en vous assurant que le traducteur réponde aux exigences de l'entreprise ou de l’institution qu'il le demande

TRUC DE PRO! Gardez copie des documents au long du processus et, mieux encore, des copies certifiées de l'original et la traduction, de sorte que s’ils sont perdus, vous aurez un plan de repli.