Keeping children out of armed conflicts


The women of the Bangsamoro Islamic Women Auxiliary Brigade circle together to show their commitment to helping protect children.


Roundtable discussions outline key actions towards the prevention of child soldiers.


Members of BIWAB sign the declaration against child soldiers.

Childhood is a time for children to play and grow. Put simply, it is a time for children to live as children.  Yet, thousands of boys and girls around the world are robbed of this fundamental right when they are forced into fighting in armed conflicts.

In the Philippines, children have been recruited into armed conflicts for decades.  Recognizing the critical need to address this issue, the Embassy of Canada and the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) co-sponsored a roundtable meeting with the Bangsamoro Islamic Women Auxiliary Brigade (BIWAB) to discuss their important role in preventing the recruitment and use of child soldiers.

Canada firmly supports the need to prevent the recruitment and use of children in conflict and for the rehabilitation of children that have been recruited and used in hostilities.  We are pleased to collaborate with our friends from UNICEF on these important matters both in Manila and at the UN Headquarters.” – Canada’s Ambassador to the Philippines, Neil Reeder.

Child soldiers in the Philippines

The Moro Islamic Liberation Front, concentrated in the southern Philippines, is a non-state armed group seeking autonomy of the Moro people in the Philippines. As part of the Liberation Front, the BIWAB assists the group with medical, communication and other auxiliary needs.

Together with BIWAB, the Moro Islamic Liberation Front has made strides towards ending the use of child soldiers in the Philippines. In 2009, the group signed an Action Plan with the United Nations as a commitment to ensure that no children under 18 are associated with the army either as combatants or in supporting roles.

The Action Plan is a sign of significant progress for the region. It outlines concrete activities for separating children from the army’s ranks, and helps raise awareness on child rights and child protection.

Protecting the right to childhood

The BIWAB roundtable, supported by the Embassy of Canada and UNICEF, marked the first time in the world where female members of a non-state armed group took action to bring about an end to the involvement of children in armed groups in the Philippines. The women of BIWAB have been catalysts for changing the social and cultural norms that have driven children into armed conflicts.

Lotta Sylwander, UNICEF’s Philippines Representative, illustrated the importance of the roundtable, “Women, like the members of the BIWAB, are also the mothers, grandmothers, and sisters of children at risk of being recruited by armed groups. For generations, women around the world have proven to be the peacemakers and peace-builders in their families and communities. When we empower them to be advocates and leaders in their communities, real transformation can take place for those who have been historically marginalized and silenced in society.”

From this roundtable, the BIWAB was able to recommend next steps and plan actions that will help support the protection of children from armed conflict. To commit to these plans, the BIWAB signed a declaration vowing to protect children by campaigning against their involvement in armed groups.

Canada, together with UNICEF and the Government of the Philippines, is committed to supporting the quest for durable peace in the Philippines. Canada will continue to work with these key partners, as well as the Moro Islamic Liberation Front to ensure that the peace process is successful, inclusive and supportive of the rights of all children.


New commitments

Ambassador Neil Reeder opens the workshop on the identification and separation of children involved in conflict.
 

Participants from various sectors in the conflict areas in Mindanao attend the workshop.
 

UNICEF partnered with the Canadian embassy in the Philippines in holding this event.
 

The embassy in Manila welcomed the commitment of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), the largest Muslim separatist group in the Philippines, to continue working with the United Nations on ending the use of child soldiers in conflict areas in Mindanao, the southernmost part of the country. 

In a recent visit to the group’s headquarters to open a workshop co-sponsored by the Embassy and UNICEF, Ambassador Neil Reeder expressed support to the MILF and the UN’s plan of action to ensure there are no child soldiers within the MILF’s ranks.

“The identification and separation of children is a very important step to begin their rehabilitation and those who have been recruited for and used in hostilities. Children should not be involved in wars,”
– Canada’s Ambassador to the Philippines Ambassador Reeder

The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) confirmed that the MILF’s plan of action to end the use of child soldiers is so far the only successful ongoing process in the world.  The implementation of the plan will help MILF transition from a rebel movement to becoming a state actor. “To be considered a credible state actor, you must be compliant with international conventions, including those on the rights of the child,” Ambassador Reeder added.

Canada is a leading advocate for the protection of children affected by armed conflicts.  Canada hosted the first International Conference on War-Affected Children in 2000 and in 2006, Canada established the UN-based Group of Friends on Children and Armed Conflict in New York City and has acted as the chair ever since.  This forum has proven useful in bringing together various UN state members that advocate before the UN Security Council to take stronger measures aimed at those who commit grave violations.

The Embassy in Manila has expanded on this role with the 2014 launch of the Group of Friends on Children and Armed Conflict in the Philippines in collaboration with UNICEF.  This policy role has been supported by a number of projects including the workshop on the identification and separation of child soldiers from MILF ranks this year and a roundtable meeting with members of the Bangsamoro Islamic Women’s Auxiliary Brigade (BIWAB) to discuss the importance of their role in preventing the recruitment and use of children in armed conflict to mark International Women’s Day in 2015.

Canada has been supporting the peace process through policy dialogue and a modest contribution ($1 million) to the multi-donor, World Bank-led, Mindanao Trust Fund (MTF) that has delivered community-driven reconstruction and development projects to more than 500,000 people (51% women) in 214 conflict-affected communities in Mindanao since 2007.

Garder les enfants loin des conflits armés


Les femmes de la Bangsamoro Islamic Women Auxiliary Brigade se rassemblent pour démontrer leur engagement à aider à protéger les enfants.


Dans les tables rondes, on présente les mesures clés visant à prévenir l’enrôlement d’enfants soldats.


Les membres de la BIWAB signent la déclaration contre le recrutement et l’utilisation d’enfants soldats.

L’enfance est le moment où les enfants doivent pouvoir jouer et grandir. Autrement dit, un temps pour les enfants de vivre comme des enfants. Pourtant, des milliers de garçons et de filles dans le monde entier sont privés de ce droit fondamental lorsqu’on les oblige à participer à des conflits armés. Conscients qu’il faut absolument s’attaquer à ce problème, l’ambassade du Canada et le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (UNICEF) ont coparrainé une table ronde avec la Bangsamoro Islamic Women Auxiliary Brigade (BIWAB) pour discuter du rôle important qu’elle peut jouer afin de prévenir le recrutement et l’utilisation d’enfants-soldats.

« Le Canada est d’avis qu’il est essentiel de prévenir le recrutement et l’utilisation d’enfants dans les conflits et de favoriser la réadaptation d’enfants qui ont été enrôlés et utilisés dans les hostilités. Nous sommes ravis de collaborer avec nos amis de l’UNICEF relativement à ces questions importantes à Manille et au siège des Nations Unies. » [Traduction] – Neil Reeder, ambassadeur du Canada aux Philippines.

Enfants‑soldats aux Philippines

Le Front moro islamique de libération, concentré dans le Sud des Philippines, est un groupe armé non étatique qui réclame l’autonomie du peuple Moro aux Philippines. En tant que membre du front de libération, la BIWAB apporte son aide au groupe sur le plan médical, des communications et pour d’autres questions connexes.

De concert avec la BIWAB, le Front moro islamique de libération a fait des progrès en vue de mettre fin à l’utilisation des enfants‑soldats aux Philippines. En 2009, le groupe a signé un plan d’action avec les Nations Unies dans lequel il s’engage à s’assurer qu’aucun enfant de moins de 18 ans ne sera associé au groupe armé à titre de combattant ni employé à des rôles d’appui.

Le plan d’action est un signe de progrès considérable pour la région. Il décrit les activités concrètes pour tenir les enfants à l’écart des rangs de l’armée et sensibiliser la population aux droits des enfants et à la protection des enfants.

Protection du droit à l’enfance

La table ronde avec la BIWAB, appuyée par l’ambassade du Canada et l’UNICEF, est la première au monde où des femmes membres d’un groupe armé non étatique prennent des mesures pour mettre fin à la participation des enfants aux groupes armés aux Philippines. Les femmes de la BIWAB ont joué un rôle de catalyseur dans le changement des normes sociales et culturelles qui ont obligé les enfants à participer aux conflits armés.

Lotta Sylwander, représentante de l’UNICEF aux Philippines, a souligné l’importance de la table ronde : « Les femmes, comme les membres de la BIWAB, sont également des mères, des grands‑mères et des sœurs d’enfants exposés au risque d’être recrutés par des groupes armés. Pendant des générations, les femmes du monde entier se sont révélées être les pacificatrices et les constructrices de paix dans leur famille et leur communauté. Lorsque nous leur donnons les moyens de devenir des défenseurs et des leaders dans leur communauté, une transformation véritable peut s’opérer pour les personnes qui ont toujours été marginalisées et réduites au silence dans la société. » [Traduction]

À l’issue de cette table ronde, la BIWAB a pu recommander des mesures et plans d’action qui contribueront à mettre les enfants à l’abri des conflits armés. Signe de son engagement à l’égard de ces plans, la BIWAB a signé une déclaration dans laquelle elle s’engage à protéger les enfants en faisant campagne contre leur participation aux groupes armés.

Le Canada, de concert avec l’UNICEF et le gouvernement des Philippines, s’engage à appuyer la quête d’une paix durable aux Philippines. Le Canada poursuivra sa collaboration avec ces partenaires clés ainsi qu’avec le Front moro islamique de libération pour garantir que le processus de paix soit un succès, qu’il soit inclusif et qu’il renforce les droits de tous les enfants.


De nouveaux engagements

L’ambassadeur Neil Reeder ouvre l’atelier sur l’identification et la séparation des enfants impliqués dans un conflit.
 

Des participants de divers secteurs des zones de conflit à Mindanao participent à l’atelier.
 

UNICEF s’est associé avec l’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines pour organiser cet événement.
 

L’ambassade à Manille a salué l’engagement du Front Moro islamique de libération (FMIL), le plus grand groupe séparatiste musulman aux Philippines, qui continue de collaborer avec les Nations Unies en vue de mettre fin à l’utilisation des enfants-soldats dans les zones de conflits à Mindanao, la partie la plus au sud du pays.

Lors d’une récente visite au siège du groupe organisée pour la tenue d’un atelier coparrainé par l’ambassade et UNICEF, l’ambassadeur Neil Reid a exprimé son soutien au FMIL et au plan d’action des NU qui a pour but de veiller à ce qu’il n’y ait pas d’enfants-soldats dans les rangs du FMIL.

 « L’identification et la séparation des enfants sont une étape très importante pour entamer leur réadaptation ainsi que celle des enfants qui ont été enrôlés et utilisés dans les hostilités. Les enfants ne devraient pas participer à la guerre. »
– M. Reeder, ambassadeur du Canada aux Philippines

Le Fonds des Nations unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF) a confirmé que le plan d’action du FMIL visant à mettre fin à l’utilisation d’enfants-soldats est, pour le moment, le seul processus continu étant couronné de succès dans le monde. La mise en œuvre du plan aidera la transition du FMIL d’un mouvement rebelle à un acteur étatique. « Pour être crédible en tant qu’acteur étatique, vous devez respecter les conventions internationales, notamment celles sur les droits de l’enfant », mentionne l’ambassadeur Reeder.

Le Canada est un défenseur important de la protection des enfants touchés par les conflits armés. Le Canada a accueilli la première conférence internationale sur les enfants touchés par la guerre en 2000, puis en 2006, il a créé le Groupe des amis sur les enfants et les conflits armés basé au siège des NU à New York et il agit en tant que président depuis sa création. Ce forum s’est avéré utile pour rassembler différents États membres des NU qui débattent devant le Conseil de sécurité des NU pour que ce dernier prenne des mesures plus rigoureuses contre les personnes qui commettent de graves violations.

L’ambassade à Manille a élargi son rôle en 2014 avec le lancement du Groupe des amis sur les enfants et les conflits armés aux Philippines en collaboration avec l’UNICEF. Ce rôle politique a été soutenu par plusieurs projets, comme l’atelier de cette année sur l’identification et la séparation des enfants-soldats dans les rangs du FMIL et une table ronde avec les membres de la Bangsamoro Islamic Women’s Auxiliary Brigade (BIWAB) pour discuter de l’importance du rôle qu’elle peut jouer dans la prévention, le recrutement et l’utilisation d’enfants-soldats dans les conflits armés qui a eu lieu pour souligner la Journée internationale de la femme en 2015.

Le Canada soutient le processus de paix au moyen d’un dialogue politique et d’une contribution modeste (1 million de dollars) au Fonds fiduciaire multidonateurs de Mindanao, placé sous la responsabilité de la Banque mondiale, qui a mené des projets communautaires de développement et de reconstruction pour plus de 500 000 personnes (51 % de femmes) dans 214 communautés touchées par les conflits armés à Mindanao depuis 2007.