Canada's Navy brings cheer to underprivileged children in the Philippines

By Abie Ramos-Laguerta


photo caption: Crew of the HMCS Regina with the children from Ulingan Photo: Sidney Snoeck.


photo caption:Young boy saluting on the deck of the HMCS Regina.

Valentine's Day is a big celebration in the Philippines. People young and old see this day as an opportunity to celebrate the different forms of affection and emotions usually associated with the “feast day for the heart.”

But my husband and I don't really celebrate Valentine's Day. We both see it as an occasion that is too commercialized and is given so much hype. But this year, Valentine's Day was very different.

In my personal time, I volunteer with Project Pearls, a non-governmental organization that assists the children of Ulingan, Tondo, a depressed area near the Port of Manila. It is has been helping residents of Ulingan through its food and educational programs.

Ulingan, which means “charcoal” in Tagalog, is a community that sits on a dumpsite, surrounded by charcoal factories. Children and families have no choice but to live with soot, garbage, mosquitoes, flies, and vermin. They derive their livelihood from the charcoal factory and/or the dumpsite. The average earnings are between $2 to $3 dollars a day. Children as young as three years old work in the charcoal factories, as coal packers or garbage scavengers to support the family income.

So when the crew of the Canadian Navy ship, the HMCS Regina chose Project Pearls as a partner organization for its outreach activity, we knew it would be a unique and meaningful celebration of Valentine's Day.

On February 14, the Regina crew brought the scholars and the volunteers onboard the ship. It was something new for the kids and for the volunteers. Just seeing the ship got them all excited, and all the more delighted when they were treated with a guided tour of the ship. Imagine the awe on the children's faces as they went up the ship to try on a pilot's helmet or a fireman's suit!

After the tour, the crew treated the kids to a party at the nearby Children's Museum, where they were served a healthy lunch and given a chance to play on the grounds and tour the museum. An added bonus was the gift that they each gave the kids.

It might have been a coincidence that it was held on Valentine's Day, but the event was the perfect way to bring joy to poor and downtrodden children. As some volunteers said, it may have been only one day, but for the Ulingan kids, the memory will remain for a long time.

Abie Ramos-Laguerta is a locally-engaged IT professional at the Embassy of Canada in Manila, Philippines.


photo caption: Canadian sailor with smiling children.


photo caption: A Canadian sailor and young girl at the Children's Museum
Photo: Sidney Snoeck.


photo caption:A young girl dressed in firefighting gear
Photo: Sidney Snoeck.

La Marine royale apporte un peu de joie à des enfants philippins défavorisés

Par Abie Ramos-Laguerta


description de la photo :L’équipage du NCSM Regina en compagnie d'enfants d'Ulingan Photo: Sidney Snoeck.


description de la photo : Jeune garçon adressant un salut sur le pont du NCSM Regina.
Photo: Sidney Snoeck.

Les Philippins célèbrent en grand la Saint-Valentin. Jeunes et moins jeunes aiment particulièrement souligner les différentes formes d'affection et les émotions associées habituellement à cette journée spéciale des amoureux.

Mon mari et moi ne fêtons pas vraiment la Saint-Valentin. C'est pour nous un événement trop commercial auquel on accorde une importance démesurée. Cette année, cependant, le jour de la Saint-Valentin a été fort différent.

Dans mes temps libres, je fais du bénévolat pour le Projet Pearls, une organisation non gouvernementale qui vient en aide aux enfants d'Ulingan, dans le district délabré de Tondo, grâce à ses programmes d'éducation et de distribution de nourriture.

Ulingan, « charbon de bois » en tagal, est un bidonville érigé sur une décharge près du port de Manille et entouré d'usines de charbon. Les enfants et les familles qui y résident vivent dans la suie, au milieu des ordures ménagères, des moustiques et de la vermine. Ils tirent leur subsistance des usines de charbon et de la décharge. Leur revenu moyen varie de 2 à 3 dollars par jour. Des enfants d'à peine trois ans travaillent comme emballeurs dans les usines de charbon ou pillent les ordures pour engraisser le revenu familial.

Quand l'équipage du NCSM Regina, un navire de la Marine royale du Canada, a choisi le Projet Pearls comme partenaire pour son activité de proximité, nous savions que la célébration de cette année de la Saint-Valentin serait une expérience à la fois unique et mémorable.

Le 14 février, l'équipage du navire a accueilli à son bord les écoliers et les bénévoles. C'était une première pour les enfants et pour ceux qui les accompagnaient. Tout le monde était emballé de voir le bateau et encore plus ravi de se voir accorder une visite guidée. On peut imaginer la stupéfaction sur le visage des enfants quand on leur a fait essayer un casque de pilote ou une tenue de pompier!

Après la visite, l'équipage a organisé une petite fête à leur intention au Musée des enfants situé à proximité. Les jeunes ont eu droit à un repas santé et ont pu visiter le musée et s’amuser sur place. Ils ont tous reçu en prime un cadeau des membres de l'équipage.

Peut-être que c'était une simple coïncidence que cette activité survienne le jour de la Saint-Valentin, mais c'était certainement la façon idéale de mettre un peu de joie dans la vie d'enfants pauvres et opprimés. Comme l'ont fait observer les bénévoles, ce n'était qu'une journée de réjouissances, mais les enfants d'Ulingan s'en souviendront longtemps.

Abie Ramos-Laguerta est une spécialiste en TI embauchée sur place par l'ambassade du Canada à Manille, aux Philippines.


description de la photo : Marin canadien en compagnie d’enfants souriants.

'


description de la photo : Marin canadien posant avec une fillette au Musée des enfants.
Photo: Sidney Snoeck.


description de la photo : Un élève-pompier!
Photo: Sidney Snoeck.