Sexual orientation, gender identity a hot topic on Filipino university campuses

Who is considered a transgender? What's the difference between sex and gender? How about sexual orientation and gender identity?

Most would probably say the differences are negligible, when in fact, they are not.


Colours of the rainbow: The varied notions and perceptions of the youth on concepts like "gay, (bakla)" "lesbian," "sex," and "God" are explored in a recent forum on equality and non-discrimination in the LGBT sector in Davao City.


Students discuss sexual orientation and gender identities in the perspective of human rights in the hope of eventually decreasing incidents of discrimination and violence against the LGBT community. (Photo by Pidot Villocino)

These seemingly innocuous questions were some of the hottest discussion points in a forum that wanted to explore young Filipinos’ notions of these complicated issues.

The forum, entitled "Advancing the Campus Rainbow Agenda," tackled the issues of sexual orientations and gender identities (SOGI) in the context of human rights. The target audience: student leaders of various colleges and universities.

More than 140 members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community in the country have been killed in the past fifteen years making them a sector highly vulnerable to violence. These killings were allegedly motivated by hate and anti-gay sentiment.

"We are targeting the student leaders because they are in a position to facilitate change by echoing insights learned here to their fellow students," said Ramil Andag, an officer of Babaylanes Inc., an organization of alumni and former members of Babaylan, the first gay student organization based in the University of the Philippines in Diliman.

The forum here was straightforward in giving clear suggestions on how to avoid discrimination: Empowerment, meaning individuals should find that they are able to accept themselves and find their voice; organization — showing that grouping together is an assertion of strength; education — increasing public acceptance of LGBTs for the community in general; and mobilization — referring to the need for LGBTs to advocate for their rights and welfare.

"The lack of knowledge (about SOGI issues) among the general public leads to several implications," said Perci Cendana, another member of Babaylanes and the first openly gay chairperson of the UP Diliman Student Council elected in 1997. "Stereotyping, invisibility, marginalization, stigma, and inequality. These ugly implications contribute to the vicious cycle of prejudice and discrimination."

Citing data gathered by the Philippine LGBT Hate Crime Watch, Prof. Eric Julian Manalastas of the University of the Philippines' Department of Psychology, said from 1996 until last year, 144 LGBTs had been killed violently. In 2011 alone, 32 gays and lesbians were violently killed.

"There were 58 deaths from multiple stab wounds, 25 from multiple gunshots, while six died from torture," Manalastas said.

Hate, he said, was a common reason for the high number of gays and lesbians being targeted.

Andag said, "It is hoped that student leaders may eventually advocate for school policies that are for equality and nondiscrimination."

The forum was co-organized by the University of the Philippines, Babaylanes, Ateneo de Davao Legal Public Interest and Legal Advocacy Center, Davao City Integrated Gender and Development Division and the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines.

Canada will not tolerate violence and discrimination, and continues to advocate against homophobia, biphobia, and transphobia in the Philippines. 


Student leaders participate in a workshop assessing that determines whether rights of LGBT members are recognized and respected.

L’orientation et l’identité sexuelle, sujet chaud chez les étudiants philippins

Qui considère-t-on comme un transgenre? Quelle est la différence entre le sexe et le genre? Et entre l’orientation et l’identité sexuelle?

La majorité des gens diront que les différences sont négligeables, alors que ce n’est pas le cas, en réalité.


Les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel. Les différentes notions et perceptions des jeunes à l’égard de concepts tels l’homosexualité masculine et féminine, le sexe et Dieu ont été abordées lors d’un récent forum dans la ville de Davao sur l’égalité et la non-discrimination à l’égard des GLBT.


Des étudiants discutent de l’orientation et de l’identité sexuelle dans le contexte des droits de la personne, dans l’espoir de diminuer un jour les cas de discrimination et de violence contre les GLBT. (Photo de Pidot Villocino)

Ces questions en apparence inoffensives étaient parmi les plus controversées qui ont été discutées au cours d’un forum visant à sonder les jeunes Philippins sur ces sujets complexes.

Le forum, intitulé « Advancing the Campus Rainbow Agenda », portait généralement sur l’orientation et l’identité sexuelle (OIS), dans le contexte des droits de la personne, et il s’adressait particulièrement aux leaders étudiants des divers collèges et universités.

Plus de 140 membres de la communauté des gais, lesbiennes, bisexuels et transgenres (GLBT) au pays ont été tués au cours des quinze dernières années, faisant de cette communauté l'une des plus vulnérables à la violence. Ces meurtres auraient été motivés par la haine et l’aversion pour les gais.

« Nous ciblons les leaders étudiants, car ils sont en mesure de faciliter l'évolution des mœurs de leurs camarades étudiants », a indiqué Ramil Andag, un dirigeant de Babaylanes Inc., une organisation regroupant des anciens membres de Babaylan, la première association d’étudiants gais de l’Université des Philippines, à Diliman.

On a profité du forum pour suggérer honnêtement des moyens d’éviter la discrimination, par exemple : apprendre aux GLBT à s’accepter eux-mêmes et à se faire entendre; montrer que se regrouper est une façon d’affirmer sa force (organisation); accroître la réceptivité de la population à l’égard de l’ensemble des GLBT (éducation) et parler de la nécessité pour les GLBT de défendre leurs droits et d’assurer leur bien-être (mobilisation).

Selon Perci Cendana, un autre membre de Babaylanes et le premier gai affichant ouvertement son orientation sexuelle à accéder à la présidence du Conseil étudiant de l’Université des Philippines, en 1997, « le manque de connaissances (sur les questions d’OIS) au sein de la population entraîne plusieurs conséquences : préjugés, absence de visibilité, marginalisation, stigmatisation et inégalité. Ces conséquences détestables contribuent à perpétuer le cercle vicieux du préjudice et de la discrimination. »

Citant des données recueillies par l’organisme philippin de surveillance des crimes haineux contre les GLBT, le professeur Eric Julian Manalastas, du département de psychologie de l’Université des Philippines, a indiqué que 144 GLBT avaient été victimes de meurtre avec violence entre 1996 et 2012. En 2011 seulement, 32 gais et lesbiennes ont subi pareil sort.

« On a dénombré 58 décès où la victime a été poignardée à plusieurs reprises, 25 survenus à la suite de plusieurs blessures par balle et six causés par la torture », a fait savoir M. Manalastas.

La haine, selon lui, explique pourquoi un si grand nombre de gais et lesbiennes ont été pris pour cible.

M. Andag a dit espérer « que des leaders étudiants militent un jour en faveur de politiques dans les écoles qui prônent l’égalité et la non-discrimination. »

Le forum était organisé conjointement par l’Université des Philippines, Babaylanes, le Ateneo de Davao Legal Public Interest and Legal Advocacy Center, la division des inégalités entre les sexes et du développement de la ville de Davao et l’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines.

Le Canada ne tolérera pas la violence et la discrimination, et continue d'exercer son action contre l'homophobie, la biphobie et la transphobie aux Philippines. 


Des leaders étudiants participent à un atelier visant à déterminer si les droits des GLBT sont reconnus et respectés.