Canadian Embassy donates books to University of the Philippines, explores educational linkages

As part of activities being undertaken by a number of embassies to bring greater awareness of the Francophonie grouping of French-speaking countries, the Embassy of Canada has donated a selection of French language books and study materials to the University of the Philippines (U.P.). This donation will support the French language studies program within the Department of European Languages at U.P.

“With one of our two official languages being French, as well as our deep historical and contemporary ties to Francophone culture, the Canadian Embassy is proud to support the study of the French language in the Philippines,” said Ambassador Neil Reeder in making the presentation to U.P. President Dr. Alfredo E. Pascual.

“Our donation of books will provide students with a window into the language, and help build a better understanding of the rich and dynamic foundation which is the basis for French culture in general, and French-Canadian culture specifically.”

While meeting with the U.P. President and Prof. Danilo Manarpaac, Chair, Department of European Languages, Ambassador Reeder also highlighted the opportunities that exist for exploring increased educational linkages, and study opportunities for Filipino students in Canada.

“Canada is a world leader in post-secondary research, outpacing other G-7 countries on investment in higher education. Our universities are engaged in innovative research in the fields of health, nanotechnology, biotechnology, high-performance computing, environmental technologies, nutraceuticals, and renewable fuels, among other sectors. I believe there are opportunities for knowledge sharing and linkages between Canadian and Filipino institutions that have tremendous educational, social and commercial value.” Ambassador Reeder said.

Undergraduate and graduate studies in Canada represent a tremendous opportunity for students from the Philippines to advance their career opportunities, and increase their international awareness. Canada is a major international study destination, with over 265,000 international students in Canada.

"A growing number of international students choose Canada for a high-quality education experience in a multicultural environment, for access to global career opportunities, and for an exciting cross-cultural experience. I hope to see more Philippines students studying in Canada, and more educational exchanges in order to create the skills and foster the ideas that will benefit both countries.”

March 31, 2014

For more information, please contact:
Carlo Figueroa
Public Affairs Officer
Embassy of Canada
Tel: (02) 8579026
Email: carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca

L’ambassade du Canada fait don de livres à l’Université des Philippines et explore les liens pédagogiques 

Dans le cadre des activités entreprises par certaines ambassades afin de faire prendre davantage conscience du regroupement « Francophonie » existant au sein des pays francophones, l’ambassade du Canada a fait don de livres et de matériels pédagogiques en français à l’Université des Philippines (U.P.).  Ce don viendra en appui au programme d’études dispensé en français à l’intérieur du Département des langues européennes à l’U.P.

« Puisque le français est l’une de nos deux langues officielles et que nous avons de profonds liens historiques et contemporains avec la culture française, l’ambassade du Canada est fière de soutenir l’apprentissage de la langue française aux Philippines, » a dit l’ambassadeur Neil Reeder lors de la présentation faite au président de l’U.P., le Dr. Alfredo E. Pascual.

« Notre don de livres offrira aux étudiants une fenêtre sur la langue et les aidera à avoir une meilleure compréhension de cette fondation riche et dynamique qui constitue la base de la culture française en général et, plus spécifiquement, de la culture canadienne-française »

Lors de sa rencontre avec le président de l’U.P. et avec le président du Département des langues européennes, Prof. Danilo Manarpaac, l’ambassadeur Reeder a également souligné les possibilités qui existent pour explorer davantage les liens pédagogiques et les possibilités d’études au Canada pour les étudiants philippins.

« Le Canada est un leader mondial dans la recherche postsecondaire, ayant pris l’avance sur les autres pays du G-7 en matière d’investissement dans l’enseignement supérieur.  Nos universités sont engagées dans la recherche novatrice touchant, entre autre, aux secteurs santé, nanotechnologie, biotechnologie, informatique de haute performance, technologies environnementales, produits nutraceutiques et carburants renouvelables.  Je crois qu’il existe des possibilités pour la mutualisation des savoirs et pour des liens entre les institutions canadiennes et philippines qui auront une grande valeur éducative, sociale et commerciale, » a ajouté l’ambassadeur Reeder.

Les études universitaires de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs représentent une formidable occasion pour les étudiants des Philippines qui veulent améliorer leurs perspectives de carrière et accroître leur sensibilisation à l’échelle internationale.  Le Canada est l’une des principales destinations pour les études internationales avec plus de 265 000 étudiants internationaux se trouvant présentement au Canada.

« Un nombre croissant d’étudiants étrangers choisissent le Canada pour une expérience éducative de haute qualité dans un environnement multiculturel, pour un accès aux débouchés sur une carrière mondiale et pour une passionnante expérience interculturelle.  J’espère voir davantage de Philippins étudier au Canada et de plus en plus d’échanges pédagogiques afin de renforcer les compétences et d’encourager les idées qui profiteront aux deux pays. »         

31 mars 2014

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Carlo Figueroa
Public Affairs Officer
Embassy of Canada
Level 7 Tower 2 RCBC
Plaza
6819 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
Tél. : (02) 8579026Fax: (02) 8431078
Courriel : carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca