Canada, Philippines sign MOU on military training


Canada’s ambassador to the Philippines Neil Reeder and AFP Deputy Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Virgilio Domingo preside over the signing of an MOU on military training and cooperation between Canada and the Philippines.


Col. Michel Latouche (right), Canada’s defense attaché to the Philippines, and Col. Godfrey Julio, AFP Asst. Deputy Chief of Staff for Education and Training, sign the Memorandum of Understanding on Military Training and Cooperation in Camp Aguinaldo, QC.

Canada and the Philippines today formalized their defense training cooperation program by signing a Memorandum of Understanding covering training opportunities for Filipino military personnel in Canada. 

Canada’s ambassador to the Philippines Neil Reeder and acting AFP Deputy Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Virgilio Domingo witnessed the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) at Camp Aguinaldo.

“I am pleased to witness today this important milestone in our countries’ defense cooperation program. Canada and the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) have enjoyed a strong military training partnership since1997, and today’s signing allows that partnership to continue and flourish even further” Ambassador Reeder said. 

“I am proud to say that to date we have trained more than 150 Philippine military personnel in Canada from all major services of the AFP,” Ambassador Reeder added.

“I am confident this MOU will allow both countries to expand and strengthen an already excellent relationship, as was exemplified by the excellent spirit of cooperation demonstrated by our respective military personnel in response to Typhoon Yolanda.”

AFP personnel are provided opportunities to attend training courses offered by the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) in various military training facilities in the provinces of Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia.

Training courses that have been provided to the AFP in the past have included peacekeeping and UN Mission staff courses; senior management courses, national security program, language courses on English and French, command and staff courses, civil-military relations, public affairs, and Naval boarding party training for the Philippine Navy.

Selection of participants from the AFP is processed through the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Education and Training (J8), Unit Training Division. 


February 6, 2014

For more information, please contact:
Carlo Figueroa
Public Affairs Officer
Embassy of Canada
Level 7 Tower 2 RCBC Plaza
6819 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
Tel: (02) 8579026
Fax: (02) 8431078 Email: carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca

Le Canada et les Philippines signent un PE sur la formation militaire


M. Neil Reeder, ambassadeur du Canada aux Philippines et le Lgén. Virgilio Domingo, Chef d’état-major adjoint de l’AFP, président la signature d’un PE sur la formation et la coopération militaires entre le Canada et les Philippines .


Le Col. Michel Latouche (à droite), attaché de la Défense du Canada aux Philippines, et le Col. Godfrey Julio, assistant au Chef d’état-major adjoint pour l’Éducation et la Formation, signent le Protocole d’entente sur la formation et la coopération milliaires au Camp Aguinaldo (Quezon City).

Le Canada et les Philippines ont officialisé aujourd’hui leur programme de coopération pour la formation de la défense en signant un Protocole d’entente englobant des possibilités de formation au Canada pour le personnel militaire philippin.

M. Neil Reeder, ambassadeur du Canada aux Philippines et le Lgén. Virgilio Domingo, Chef d’état-major adjoint de l’AFP ont assisté à la signature du Protocole d’entente (PE) au Camp Aguinaldo.

« Je suis heureux d’être le témoin de cette importante étape dans le programme de coopération pour la défense de nos deux pays.  Le Canada et les Forces armées des Philippines (AFP) ont pu bénéficier depuis 1997 d’un solide partenariat pour la formation militaire et la signature d’aujourd’hui permettra à ce partenariat de se poursuivre et de se développer encore davantage, » a dit l’ambassadeur Reeder.

« Je suis fier de pouvoir dire qu’à ce jour nous avons formé au Canada plus de 150 membres du personnel militaire philippin œuvrant dans tous les principaux services de l’AFP, » a ajouté l’ambassadeur Reeder.

« Je suis persuadé que ce PE permettra aux deux pays de développer et renforcer des relations déjà excellentes comme en témoigne l’excellent esprit de coopération démontré par les militaires de nos deux pays en réponse au Typhon Yolanda. »   

Le personnel de l’AFP se voit offrir l’occasion de participer à des stages de formation dispensés par les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) dans divers établissements d’entrainement militaire situés dans les provinces de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l’Ontario, du Québec et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les stages de formation qui ont été fournis à l’AFP par le passé incluent des cours pour les opérations de maintien de la paix et pour le personnel de mission de l’ONU, cours de cadres supérieurs, programme de sécurité nationale, cours de langues (anglais et français), cours de commandement et d’état-major, relations civilo-militaires, affaires publiques et formation de l’équipe d’arraisonnement des navires pour la Marine philippine.

La sélection des participants de l’AFP est organisée par le Bureau du Chef d’état-major adjoint pour l’Éducation et la Formation (J8), Division de la Formation des Unités. 

 

6 février 2014
 
Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :
Carlo Figueroa
Agent des Affaires publiques
Ambassade du Canada
Niveau 7, Tour 2, RCBC Plaza
6819 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
Tél. : (02) 857-9026 Téléc. : (02) 843-1078  
Courriel : carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca