Canada to fund more community-based recovery, rehab projects for Yolanda-hit communities in the Visayas

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to announce the second batch of recipients of funding for projects under the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).  

Four more proposals from Iloilo and Cebu will be awarded financial grants in the competitive program run by the Canadian embassy.

Gualandi Volunteer Service Programme Inc (GVSP) will give 125 home repair kits to build temporary shelters in five barangays in San Remigio, Cebu.  The project will also provide psycho-social support to at least 1,000 individuals (children and those in vulnerable sectors) also in the same municipality. 

University of the Philippines Visayas Foundation Inc will help survivors in four island barangays of Carles, Iloilo in their recovery through trauma management activities.  These activities will serve as take-off points for capacity-building program for the barangays’ disaster risk reduction councils focusing on contingency planning and improving their warning and communication systems. 

Iloilo Provincial Federation of Associations of Persons with Disabilities will assist in the province’s midterm relief support by providing non-food items to at least 1,000 households with persons with disability (PWD) in 15 municipalities in the province whose houses were heavily if not totally damaged by typhoon Yolanda. 

University of the Philippines, Visayas Foundation Inc will assist livelihood recovery in Estancia, Iloilo by providing motorized boats to affected fisherfolk in the area.  The project will also conduct training seminars that will provide useful input to the community for a longer-term recovery strategy.

These projects join the 9 proposals earlier announced as recipients of this year’s funding from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives. 

Canada Fund is a competitive small grants program that provides direct funding assistance to community groups, non-government organizations, people’s organizations and in exceptional cases, international NGOs, and government institutions for small development projects addressing governance, economic, and other social development issues. 

These grants are in addition to the early disaster relief contribution already provided by the Canadian government including a Cad$ 20-million humanitarian assistance package and the deployment of more than 300 personnel of the Canadian Forces’ Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) in Panay Island.  

January 22, 2014

For more information, please contact:
Carlo Figueroa
Public Affairs Officer
Embassy of Canada
Level 7 Tower 2 RCBC Plaza
6819 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
Tel: (02) 8579026
Fax: (02) 8431078
Email: carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca

Le Canada financera davantage de projets de rétablissement et de réhabilitation communautaires pour les collectivités des Visayas touchées par Yolanda

L’ambassade du Canada est heureuse d’annoncer la seconde série de récipiendaires d’un financement pour des projets sous l’égide du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Quatre autres propositions d’Iloilo et de Cebu se verront accorder des subventions financières dans le cadre du programme concurrentiel géré par l’ambassade du Canada :

Gualandi Volunteer Service Programme Inc. (GVSP) offrira 125 trousses de réparation domiciliaires pour construire des abris temporaires dans cinq districts (barangays) à San Remigio, Cebu.  Le projet assurera également un soutien psycho-social à au moins 1 000 personnes (enfants et personnes se trouvant dans les secteurs vulnérables) dans la même municipalité.     

University of the Philippines Visayas Foundation Inc. aidera au rétablissement des survivants de quatre barangays insulaires de Carles, Iloilo grâce à des activités de gestion du traumatisme.  Ces activités serviront de tremplin pour le programme du renforcement des capacités pour les conseils de réduction des risques de catastrophes en se concentrant sur la planification de mesures d’urgence et l’amélioration de leurs systèmes d’alerte et de communication.    

Iloilo Provincial Federation of Associations of Persons with Disabilities aidera au soutien des secours provinciaux à moyen terme en fournissant des articles non alimentaires à au moins 1 000 foyers avec personnes handicapées dans 15 municipalités de la province dont les maisons ont été lourdement, sinon totalement endommagées par le typhon Yolanda.

University of the Philippines, Visayas Foundation Inc. aidera au rétablissement des moyens de subsistance à Estancia, Iloilo, en fournissant des bateaux à moteur aux pêcheurs qui ont été touchés dans la région.  Le projet organisera également des séminaires de formation qui procureront des idées utiles à la communauté pour une stratégie de rétablissement à plus long terme.  

Ces projets se joignent aux 9 propositions annoncées plus tôt et sont les récipiendaires cette année d’un financement de la part du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales. 

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales est un programme concurrentiel de petites subventions qui assure une aide financière directe aux groupes communautaires, organisations non gouvernementales, organisations de personnes et, dans certains cas exceptionnels, aux ONG internationales et institutions gouvernementales pour des petits projets de développement abordant les questions de gouvernance, d’économie et autres développements sociaux.

Ces subventions sont en sus des contributions de secours aux sinistrés déjà assurées auparavant par le gouvernement du Canada, incluant un programme d’aide humanitaire de 20 millions $CA et le déploiement de plus de 300 personnes de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) des Forces canadiennes à Panay Island. 

22 janvier 2014

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :
Carlo Figueroa
Agent des Affaires publiques
Ambassade du Canada
Niveau 7, Tour 2, RCBC Plaza
6819 Ayala Avenue, Makati City
Tél. : (02) 857-9026 Téléc. : (02) 843-1078  
Courriel : carlo.figueroa@international.gc.ca