Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Portugal.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Portugal Relations

Overview

Diplomatic relations between Canada and Portugal were officially established in 1946 but there is a long history of interactions extending back to the early days of the Portuguese voyages of discovery in the 1500s. People-to-people links have grown stronger over time and today, these ties between Canada and Portugal are underpinned by a vibrant Canadian community of Portuguese origin estimated at more than 400,000 people. Today, tens of thousands of Canadians live in Portugal further punctuating our cultural and social ties. Canada-Portugal parliamentary friendship groups are active in both Canada's Parliament and the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic.

Canada and Portugal share common values in the areas of human rights, democracy, rule of law, and governance. Both countries are host to multicultural societies and share a commitment to international trade. Internationally, Canada and Portugal collaborate in various multilateral organizations including the United Nations, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and have worked alongside one another in international missions.

Academic Relations

Cooperation agreements between Canadian and Portuguese universities extend across a wide variety of disciplines ranging from oceanography to business administration to industrial design. Over twenty Canadian universities currently have international exchange agreements or research partnerships with Portuguese universities. There are currently two active Canadian studies programs at the Universidade de Coimbra and the Universidade de Lisboa. 

Economic and Commercial relations

Despite current economic challenges, Portugal's economy is evolving and shifting towards new industries which are technology intensive, globally oriented, flexible and innovative. Portuguese firms are working to expand throughout Europe, the Americas, Africa and elsewhere and will increasingly provide the base for Portugal's future economy as well as opportunities for future expansion of Canada's trade, investment and innovation relationship with Portugal.

Merchandise trade

Canada and Portugal enjoy a healthy trading relationship. In 2012, bilateral merchandise trade reached $434.4 million. Canada’s merchandise exports to Portugal at $124.3 million, were down from $225.4 million in 2011, due to significantly reduced domestic consumption in Portugal. Oilseeds, cereals, canola oil, machinery, paper and paperboard were among the leading export goods. Imports from Portugal in 2012 were $310.1 million, down from $357.6 million in 2011 with wines, iron and steel, mineral fuels and oils, automotive products, footwear and cork among leading import goods.

Investment

Canadian investment in Portugal is active in the ICT, rail transportation and mining sectors. The number of Canadian companies in Portugal's mining sector in particular has grown substantially in recent years and currently represents the most dominant presence in this sector.

There is significant Portuguese investment in Canada, most notably in packaging, automotive components, and the forest product sector. 

Innovation  

The Portuguese government has targeted entrepreneurship, business R&D and innovation as priorities. A new Science and Technology National Council was established in 2011, chaired by the Prime Minister, to co-ordinate the development of comprehensive S&T and innovation strategies. In December 2011, the Strategic Programme for Entrepreneurship and Innovation was adopted with the objective to improve Portugal’s overall competitiveness. The programme aims to foster an entrepreneurial society, to broaden the range of innovative companies with a focus on exports, and to strengthen Portugal’s integration in international entrepreneurship and innovation communities.

Updated March 2013


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-05-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Portugal.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Portugal

Aperçu

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Portugal ont officiellement été établies en 1946, mais les interactions entre le deux pays remontent au début des voyages d’exploration portugais dans les années 1500. Au fil des ans, les liens entre les deux peuples se sont renforcés et reposent aujourd’hui sur une communauté dynamique de Canadiens d’origine portugaise, dont le nombre est estimé à plus de 400 000. De plus, des dizaines de milliers de Canadiens vivent maintenant au Portugal, renforçant encore davantage les liens culturels et sociaux qui existent entre les deux nations. Les groupes d'amitié parlementaire entre les deux pays sont actifs au Parlement du Canada et à l’Assemblée de la République portugaise.

Les droits de la personne, la démocratie, la primauté du droit et la gouvernance sont des valeurs communes au Canada et au Portugal, tous deux des sociétés multiculturelles qui cherchent à favoriser le commerce international. Sur la scène internationale, le Canada et le Portugal collaborent au sein de diverses organisations multilatérales, notamment les Nations Unies et l’Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN), et ont travaillé ensemble dans le cadre de missions internationales.

Relations académiques

Diverses ententes de coopération ont été conclues entre des universités canadiennes et portugaises dans un vaste éventail de disciplines, notamment l’océanographie, l’administration des affaires et le design industriel. Plus de 20 universités canadiennes ont conclu des accords d’échanges internationaux ou des partenariats de recherche avec des universités portugaises. À l’heure actuelle, des programmes d’études canadiennes sont donnés à l’Université de Coimbra et à l’Université de Lisbonne.

Relations économiques et commerciales

Malgré ses difficultés actuelles, l’économie du Portugal évolue, et le pays se tourne vers de nouveaux secteurs flexibles et novateurs axés sur la technologie et orientés vers les marchés étrangers. Les entreprises portugaises cherchent à accroître leurs activités en Europe, dans les Amériques, en Afrique et ailleurs. De plus en plus, elles seront le fondement de l’économie de demain du Portugal et offriront l’occasion de renforcer les relations entre le Canada et le Portugal en matière de commerce, d’investissement et d’innovation.

Commerce des marchandises

Le Canada et le Portugal entretiennent de bonnes relations commerciales. En 2012 leurs échanges de marchandises ont atteint une valeur de 434.4 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Portugal se sont chiffrées à 124.3 millions, ce qui représente une baisse par rapport aux 225.4 millions de dollars enregistrés en 2011, laquelle est attribuable à la diminution de la consommation portugaise. Les principales marchandises exportées sont les oléagineux, les céréales, l’huile de canola, les machines, le papier et le carton. En 2012, les importations en provenance du Portugal ont atteint 310.1 millions de dollars, soit une baisse par rapport aux 357.6 millions de dollars enregistrés en 2011. Parmi les principaux produits importés, on compte le vin, le fer et l’acier, les huiles et les combustibles minéraux, les produits automobiles, les chaussures et le liège.

Investissements

Les investissements canadiens au Portugal sont principalement réalisés dans les secteurs des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC), du transport ferroviaire et de l’exploitation minière. Plus précisément, le nombre d’entreprises canadiennes menant des activités dans le secteur portugais de l’exploitation minière a augmenté de façon significative au cours des dernières années. Des entreprises canadiennes sont aujourd’hui les plus présentes dans le secteur minier du Portugal.

De plus, les entreprises portugaises investissent beaucoup au Canada, notamment dans les produits d’emballage, les pièces automobiles et les produits forestiers.

Innovation

Les priorités du gouvernement portugais sont l’entrepreneuriat, la recherche et le développement (R‑D) des entreprises et l’innovation. Un nouveau Conseil national de science et technologie a été créé en 2011 et est présidé par le premier ministre. Le Conseil a pour rôle de coordonner l’élaboration de stratégies globales en matière d’innovation et de science et technologie (S-T). En décembre 2011, le Programme stratégique sur l’entrepreneuriat et l’innovation a été adopté en vue d’améliorer la compétitivité générale du Portugal. Le programme vise à favoriser une société entrepreneuriale, à accroître le nombre d’entreprises novatrices axées sur les exportations et à renforcer l’intégration du Portugal aux collectivités entrepreneuriales et d’innovation à l’échelle internationale.


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-05-03