Reconnecting to Indigenous Roots in Portugal through Art

Coast Salish artist Luke Marston and Canada’s Ambassador to Portugal Jeffrey Marder with a replica of Marston’s piece, Shore to Shore

For Luke Marston, a Coast Salish artist, the legacy of his ancestors is the inspiration behind his work. The renowned First Nations artist spent his childhood learning his craft, supported by an artistic family.

Today, his work has been exhibited around the world from Japan to the United States, and most recently in Portugal, a country that Marston is personally connected to.

Luke Marston is the great-great-grandson of Joe Silvey also known as “Portuguese Joe” and his Coast Salish wife Kwatleemaat. Portugese Joe was born and raised in the Azores, and was a 19th century pioneer of Vancouver’s Gastown.

Canadian Connection

During a weeklong visit to Portugal, the artist met with both public and private institutions, including students from the School of Arts and Design of Caldas da Rainha, to promote indigenous art.

Luke Marston shared the story of his great-great-father Portuguese Joe and the links between the Portuguese and Salish First Nation.

“My mother and aunt, her old sister, have always told me stories of the pioneer great-great-grandfather from Pico, this great island of the Azores.”  - Luke Marston, Coast Salish Artist


Joe Silvey, “Portuguese Joe”, and his Coast Salish wife Kwatleemaat, ancestors of Coast Salish artist Luke Marston.

To highlight the unique relationship between the Portuguese and Salish First Nation cultures, Marston is planning to donate a sculpture to the city of Lisbon to commemorate Canada’s 150th anniversary in Portugal.

Since November 2016, the Canadian Embassy in Lisbon has been working with Luke Marston to realize this project. Through the artist’s work, the embassy hopes to raise awareness about the importance of Canada-Portugal bilateral relations and of the heritage of indigenous peoples.

The sculpture will represent a cod lure. It will be cast in bronze and rest on a base covered by an original design in Portuguese cobble stone. It is inspired by Marston’s work Shore to Shore, a 14-foot bronze sculpture, which was unveiled in Vancouver’s Stanley Park in 2015. For reference: http://shoretoshore.ca/


Coast Salish artist Luke Marston and Canadian Embassy staff meeting with the director of the Museu Nacional de Etnologia, Paulo Ferreira da Costa.

The Embassy is thrilled to partner with Canadian companies operating in Portugal who have valued the legacy of indigenous peoples by sponsoring the project. Luke Marston is a recognized artist who has received support from several funding organizations for his projects.

The director of Portugal’s National Museum of Ethnology, Paulo Costa has invited Luke Marston to exhibit his work in the museum in 2018.

  • Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

Renouer avec les racines autochtones par l’art au Portugal


L’artiste salish de la côte Luke Marston et l’ambassadeur du Canada au Portugal, Jeffrey Marder, avec une réplique de l’œuvre de Luc Marston, Shore to Shore.

Pour Luc Marston, un artiste salish de la côte, l’héritage de ses ancêtres est l’inspiration derrière son travail. Le célèbre artiste des Premières Nations a passé son enfance à apprendre son métier, soutenu par une famille d’artistes.

Aujourd’hui, son travail a été exposé dans le monde entier, du Japon aux États-Unis, et plus récemment au Portugal, un pays dont M. Marston est lié personnellement.

Luke Marston est l’arrière-arrière-petit-fils de Joe Silvey, également connu sous le nom de « Portuguese Joe » et de son épouse Kwatleemaat, une Salish de la côte. Portugese Joe est né et a grandi dans les Açores, et a été un pionnier du Vancouver Gastown au 19e siècle.

Lien canadien

Pendant une semaine de visite au Portugal, l’artiste s’est entretenu avec les institutions publiques et privées, y compris les étudiants de l’École des Arts et Design de Caldas da Rainha, afin de promouvoir l’art autochtone.

Luke Marston a raconté l’histoire de son arrière-grand-père Portuguese Joe et les liens entre les Premières Nations portugaises et salishes.

« Ma mère et ma tante, sa sœur aînée, me racontaient toujours les histoires de l’arrière‑arrière grand‑père, pionnier de Pico, cette grande île des Açores ». – Luke Marston, artiste salish de la côte.


Joe Silvey, « Portuguese Joe », et son épouse Kwatleemaat, une Salish de la côte, ancêtres de l’artiste salish de la côte, Luke Marston.

Pour mettre en évidence la relation unique entre les cultures des Premières Nations salishes et portugaises, Luc Marston souhaite faire le don d’une sculpture à la ville de Lisbonne pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire au Portugal.

Depuis novembre 2016, l’ambassade du Canada à Lisbonne a collaboré avec Luke Marston pour réaliser ce projet. Par le biais du travail de l’artiste, l’ambassade souhaite accroître la sensibilisation à l’importance d’établir des relations bilatérales entre le Canada et le patrimoine des peuples autochtones.

La sculpture représente un leurre pour morue. Elle sera moulée en bronze et reposera sur une base en mosaïque originale faite de pierres portugaises. Ce design est inspiré par le travail de Luc Marston appelé Shore to Shore, (d’une rive à l’autre), une sculpture de bronze de 14 pieds, qui a été dévoilée dans le parc Stanley de Vancouver en 2015. À titre de références : http://shoretoshore.ca/


L’artiste salish de la côte, Luke Marston, et le personnel de l’ambassade canadienne s’entretiennent avec le directeur du Museu Nacional de Etnologia, Paulo Ferreira da Costa

L’ambassade se réjouit de collaborer avec des entreprises canadiennes exploitées au Portugal qui ont apprécié le patrimoine des peuples autochtones en parrainant le projet. Luke Marston est un artiste reconnu qui a reçu le soutien de plusieurs organismes de financement pour ses projets.

Le directeur du Musée national d’ethnologie du Portugal, Paulo Costa, a invité Luke Marston à exposer ses œuvres au musée en 2018.