Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Economic and Social Council

Under the authority of the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the principal co-ordinating body for the economic and social activities carried out by the UN and the various funds, programs, organizations and specialized agencies that make up what is called the United Nations system or extended family. It has 54 member states, each elected for a three-year term.

The activities overseen by ECOSOC are aimed at promoting economic growth and progress in the developing world, respect for human rights, and international co-operation in such areas as housing, health, environmental protection and crime prevention.

To successfully carry out its mandate, the Council has several commissions and committees with specific responsibilities.

This structure includes nine Functional commissions charged with studying issues and making recommendations in their fields of expertise.

The Council also has oversight of the Regional economic commissions charged with promoting economic development in each region, and strengthening economic relations among the various countries there and between these countries and the rest of the world.

The Council also has three standing committees: (1) the Committee on Negotiations with Intergovernmental Agencies; (2) the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations; and (3) the Committee for Programme and Coordination.

Last, the Council supervises the work of a great many expert bodies on questions such as the environment, natural resources, and economic, cultural and social rights.

It also oversees the governing boards of several UN organs, including the United Nations Children's Fund, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the World Food Programme and the United Nations Population Fund, to name but a few.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Mission Permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Conseil économique et social

Sous l'autorité de l'Assemblée générale, le Conseil économique et social (ECOSOC) est l'organe principal de coordination des activités économiques et sociales de l'ONU et des divers fonds, programmes, organismes et organes spécialisés qui constituent ce que l'on appelle le « système » ou « la grande famille » des Nations Unies. Il comprend 54 membres élus pour trois ans.

Les activités que supervise l'ECOSOC visent à favoriser la croissance économique et le progrès dans le monde en développement, le respect des droits de la personne et la coopération internationale dans des domaines comme le logement, la santé, la protection de l'environnement et la prévention de la criminalité. Pour mener à bien sa tâche, le Conseil compte sur plusieurs commissions et comités aux responsabilités précises.

Cette structure comprend, entre autres, neuf Commissions techniques chargées d'étudier les questions et de faire des recommandations dans leurs domaines d'expertise.

Le Conseil supervise également des Commissions économiques régionales chargées de promouvoir le développement économique dans chaque région et de renforcer les relations économiques entre les divers pays concernés, et entre ces pays et le reste du monde.

Le Conseil compte aussi trois comités permanents. Ce sont : 1) le Comité chargé des négociations avec les institutions intergouvernementales; 2) le Comité chargé des organisations non gouvernementales; 3) le Comité du programme et de la coordination.

Enfin, le Conseil supervise les travaux d'un grand nombre d'organes d'experts sur des questions comme l'environnement, les ressources naturelles et les droits économiques, culturels et sociaux.

Il supervise également les conseils d'administration de plusieurs organes des Nations Unies, dont le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance, le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés, le Programme alimentaire mondial et le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population, pour n'en citer que quelques-uns.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-04-05