Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice (also called the World Court) is the United Nations' main legal organ. The Court sits in The Hague in the Netherlands and has 15 judges, who are elected by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council.

In selecting judges, care is taken that the principal legal systems of the world are represented. The Court settles legal disputes between member states and renders advisory opinions for the UN and its agencies.

Only member states may refer issues to the Court. A state can refuse to submit to its jurisdiction (except where otherwise expressly provided by treaty), but if it accepts, it is obliged to comply with the decision rendered.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Mission Permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Cour internationale de Justice

La Cour internationale de justice (dite aussi Cour mondiale) est le principal organe judiciaire des Nations Unies. Son siège est à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas, et elle est composée de 15 juges élus par l'Assemblée générale sur la recommandation du Conseil de sécurité.

Ils sont choisis de façon à ce que les principaux systèmes juridiques du monde y soient représentés. La Cour règle les différends juridiques entre les États membres et rend des avis consultatifs pour l'ONU et ses organes.

Seuls les États membres peuvent porter une question à l'attention de la Cour. Un État peut refuser de s'en remettre à son autorité (sauf dispositions expresses d'un traité), mais s'il accepte, il est tenu de se conformer à la décision rendue.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-02