Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

Trusteeship Council

The Trusteeship Council is the only UN body that is no longer active.

It had consisted of those UN members administering trust territories, the permanent members of the Security Council, and enough other members elected by the General Assembly for a three-year period to make an equal division between administering and non-administering countries.

Its mechanisms are still in place and could be re-activated if circumstances change. It was originally set up to ensure that the governments charged with administering the territories under UN trusteeship (11 at the time of the Council's inception) suitably prepared them for autonomy or independence.

Its role came to an end in 1994, when the last of these territories - Palau, an island group in the Pacific Ocean, which had been administered by the United States - opted for a new status.


Date Modified: