Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

International Law

Rule of Law and Accountability

Just systems of law and governance are essential guarantors of peace and security. Ensuring the safety and security of people implies the establishment of an international capacity to hold perpetrators of human rights violations accountable for their actions.

For more information, please visit the website of Foreign Affairs and Internation Trade Canada:

International Criminal Court

The International Criminal Court (ICC) is a central element of Canada's human security agenda. Canada played an important role in the development of the Court and the adoption of the Rome Statute, and continues to support the establishment of a strong and effective International Criminal Court now that the Rome Statute has entered into force. 

For more information, please visit the website of Foreign Affairs and Internation Trade Canada: Canada and the International Criminal Court.

Canada's Extended Continental Shelf

Canada ratified the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) on November 6, 2003. Often referred to as the “Constitution” of international oceans law, UNCLOS came into force in 1994. UNCLOS is an unprecedented legal instrument to regulate the use and resources of the oceans and seas in a stable, peaceful manner. It sets out the international law framework for areas in which countries have sovereign rights and exercise jurisdiction.

For more information, please visit the website of Foreign Affairs and Internation Trade Canada: Canada's Extended Continental Shelf.  

Resources

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Mission Permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Droit international

Primauté du droit et responsabilisation

La présence de systèmes de droit et de gouvernance équitables est essentielle pour assurer la paix et la sécurité humaine. La sécurité des individus et des collectivités passe par la mise en place, à l'échelle internationale, de mesures obligeant les auteurs de violations des droits de la personne à rendre compte de leurs actes.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada:

Cour pénale internationale

La Cour pénale internationale (CPI) est l'élément central du programme du Canada pour la sécurité humaine. Le Canada a joué un rôle important dans l’élaboration et l’adoption du Statut de Rome et continue de soutenir l’établissement d’une Cour pénale internationale forte et efficace sous le régime du Statut qui est maintenant en vigueur. 

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada : Le Canada et la Cour pénale internationale

Le plateau continental étendu du Canada

Le Canada a ratifié la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer (UNCLOS) le 6 novembre 2003. L’UNCLOS, que l’on appelle souvent la « constitution » du droit international des océans, est entré en vigueur en 1994. L'UNCLOS est un outil juridique sans précédent qui vise à réglementer, de façon stable et pacifique, l'utilisation ainsi que les ressources des océans et des mers. Elle établit un cadre juridique international pour les zones dans lesquelles des pays possèdent des droits souverains et exercent leurs compétences.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada : Le plateau continental étendu du Canada.

Ressources

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-04-05