Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Resources
  4. >
  5. Events
Bookmark and Share

Canada’s Continued Commitment to Eliminating Polio


 
In Afghanistan, more than 7 million children are vaccinated against polio

Canada has consistently provided financial support to the global effort to eradicate Polio with a contribution totaling CDN$381 million since 2000. In November 2010, Canada announced a contribution of $58.5 million over three years to the Global Polio Eradication Initiative.


In remote parts of Afghanistan, it is rare to find a female vaccinator. Here a vaccination team checks their lists to ensure no child is missed.


Canadian High Commissioner in Nigeria Chris Cooter, Head of Cooperation (CIDA) David Ross and Minister of International Cooperation the Honourable Julian Fantino, join other leaders at the Polio Roundtable in Nigeria.
  

On September 27 2012, Canada’s contribution was recognized during a High-level Polio Eradication Event organized by the United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon during the 67th General Assembly, in collaboration with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and Rotary International. The gathering was attended by a number of head of states from around the world notably leaders of the remaining polio endemic countries: Pakistan, Afghanistan and Nigeria. Other countries were also in attendance at various levels of representation including Japan, Australia, the UK and USA.

In a renewed commitment, Canada announced the Pennies and More for Polio Initiative a program aimed at generating:

  • a greater awareness and understanding by Canadians of efforts regarding polio eradication;
  • a way for Canadian individuals, groups, and organizations to contribute directly to polio eradication; and
  • additional resources for eliminating polio. 

Through the Pennies and More for Polio initiative, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) will support Rotary in Canada’s fundraising goal of $1 million toward polio eradication by providing funds to the Global Polio Eradication Initiative at a ratio of $1 for every $1 raised by Rotarians in Canada, up to a maximum of $1 million.

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation will also provide funds of equal value at a ratio of $1 for every $1 raised by Rotarians in Canada. This will result in an additional two dollars for every dollar raised by Rotary in Canada until March 1, 2013.

Canada’s Minister of International Cooperation Julian Fantino who announced the Pennies and More for Polio initiative, noted that “hundreds of thousands of children have been immunized, often in remote, impoverished, and very insecure regions of the world," and added that: "The unwavering commitment of countries around the world, and of organizations such as the Rotary Foundation and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, will help put an end to this devastating disease, which can be prevented with a simple vaccine. The Pennies and More for Polio Initiative announced today will help us to achieve that goal."

Furthermore, Minister Fantino highlighted that across Canada this summer there has been an impressive groundswell of public support for polio eradication. The Global Poverty Project, the End of Polio Campaign, Rotary International, and Results Canada have been collaborating to bring together thousands of ordinary Canadians in support of ending this debilitating disease. To date, Canada has contributed CDN$381 million to the global eradication of polio.

A Global Effort for Equal Protection

United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon made the eradication of polio a top priority for his second term as Secretary-General. Mr. Ban opened the event by saying that “Every child should have the right to start life with equal protection from lethal diseases”. Mr. Ban was enthusiastic to see that participants of this gathering showed the collective will and determination to eradicate polio:

”Engagement of states is critical for success. The world must stand shoulder to shoulder with Nigeria, Pakistan and Afghanistan to finish the job. We have a shared responsibility.” 

Indeed, the prospects for eradicating polio are good, but the quality of global efforts in a few districts in Nigeria, Pakistan and Afghanistan will determine the success or failure across the world.

Some countries such as Nigeria thanked Canada, Australia and Japan for their financial support and continual commitment and indicated they were on track to eliminate polio by the end of 2015.  In addition, Mr. Bill Gates described innovative ways to track and eliminate polio notably by using new technology to make elimination a reality, such as the use of satellite maps to find populations not reached and putting GPS trackers in vaccine boxes. 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-12-14

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Mission Permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

CanadaInternational.gc.ca

Bookmark and Share

L’engagement soutenu du Canada pour éradiquer la poliomyélite


 
En Afghanistan, plus de 7 millions d’enfants sont vaccinés contre la poliomyélite.

Avec une contribution financière de 381 M$ CAN versée depuis 2000, le Canada appuie sans relâche les efforts déployés à l'échelle mondiale pour éliminer la poliomyélite. En novembre 2010, le Canada a annoncé qu’il accorderait un soutien financier de 58,5 M$ sur trois ans à l’Initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la poliomyélite.


Dans certaines parties de l’Afghanistan, il est difficile de trouver des femmes pour administrer les vaccins. Sur cette photo, une équipe de vaccination vérifie ses listes afin de s’assurer qu’aucun enfant n’a été oublié.


Haut-commissaire du Canada au Nigéria, Chris Cooter, chef de la coopération (ACDI), David Ross, et ministre de la Coopération internationale, l’honorable Julian Fantino, en compagnie d’autres dirigeants, à la table ronde sur la poliomyélite tenue au Nigéria.
  

Le 27 septembre 2012, la contribution du Canada a été soulignée au cours d’un événement de haut niveau portant sur l’éradication de la poliomyélite organisée en marge de la 67e Assemblée générale des Nations Unies par le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Ban Ki‑moon, en collaboration avec la Fondation Rotary et la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates. Cette activité a rassemblé des chefs d’État de partout dans le monde, en particulier, des dirigeants de pays où la poliomyélite est endémique : le Pakistan, l’Afghanistan et le Nigéria. D’autres pays étaient également présents à divers niveaux de représentation, y compris le Japon, l’Australie, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis.

Le Canada a renouvelé son engagement en annonçant la mise sur pied de l’initiative Des sous et plus pour la polio, un programme qui permettra :

  • de sensibiliser les Canadiens aux efforts déployés pour éradiquer la poliomyélite;
  • aux particuliers, aux groupes et aux organismes canadiens de contribuer directement à l'éradication de la poliomyélite;
  • de consacrer des ressources supplémentaires à l'éradication de cette maladie. 

Par le truchement de l’initiative Des sous et plus pour la polio, l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) octroiera, pour chaque dollar recueilli par les Rotariens du Canada, un dollar à l'Initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la poliomyélite, jusqu'à concurrence d'un million de dollars.

La Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates versera également un dollar pour chaque dollar recueilli par les Rotariens du Canada, jusqu’au 1er mars 2013. Ainsi, chaque dollar amassé par la Fondation Rotary produira deux autres dollars.  

Le ministre de la Coopération internationale, Julian Fantino, qui a annoncé la mise sur pied de l’initiative Des sous et plus pour la polio, a mentionné que « l'engagement profond du Canada envers l'éradication de la poliomyélite se traduit par la vaccination de centaines de milliers d'enfants, qui se trouvent souvent dans des régions éloignées, appauvries ». Il a ajouté que « l'engagement indéfectible de différents pays et d'organismes comme la Fondation Rotary et la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates contribuera à mettre un terme à cette terrible maladie qui peut être prévenue au moyen d'un simple vaccin. L'initiative Des sous et plus pour la polio annoncée aujourd'hui nous aidera à atteindre cet objectif ».

De plus, le ministre Fantino a souligné le soutien public massif des Canadiens à l’égard de l’éradication de la poliomyélite. Le projet The Global Poverty Project, la campagne End of Polio Campaign, Rotary International et RÉSULTATS Canada ont collaboré afin de réunir des milliers de Canadiens ordinaires résolus à mettre fin à cette maladie débilitante. Jusqu’à présent, le Canada a versé 381 M$ CAN pour soutenir l’éradication de la poliomyélite à l’échelle mondiale.

Un effort mondial pour assurer une protection égale

Le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Ban Ki-moon, a fait de l’éradication de la poliomyélite une priorité absolue dans le cadre de son deuxième mandat en qualité de secrétaire général. M. Ban a déclaré, dans son allocution d’ouverture que « chaque enfant devrait avoir le droit de commencer sa vie avec une protection égale à l’égard des maladies mortelles ». M. Ban s’est réjoui de voir la volonté politique et le désir, chez les participants de l’événement, d’enrayer la poliomyélite :

« Pour y arriver, l’engagement des États est crucial. Le monde doit être aux côtés du Nigéria, du Pakistan et de l’Afghanistan afin de mettre un terme définitif à la maladie. C’est l’affaire de tout un chacun ». 

Bien entendu, les perspectives d’éradication de la poliomyélite sont bonnes, mais la qualité des efforts mondiaux dans quelques districts du Nigéria, du Pakistan et de l’Afghanistan déterminera la réussite ou l’échec à l’échelle mondiale de cette vaste opération.

Certains pays, comme le Nigéria, ont remercié le Canada, l’Australie et le Japon de leur soutien financier et de leur engagement constant, et ont précisé qu’ils étaient en voie d’éliminer la poliomyélite d’ici la fin de 2015. De plus, M. Bill Gates a décrit des moyens novateurs pour suivre et éliminer la poliomyélite, notamment à l’aide des nouvelles technologies, qui feront de l’élimination de la polio une réalité. Ces technologies sont, entre autres, l’utilisation de cartes satellites pour repérer les populations qui n’ont pas été visitées par les services de vaccination ainsi que des dispositifs de pistage par GPS placés dans les boîtes à vaccins.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-12-14