Canada Opens Embassy in Qatar to the Public

Doha, Qatar, June 5 2014 – Today, Canada officially opened its Embassy to the State of Qatar to the public.  The Embassy was first established in Doha in 2012.  Canadian Ambassador André Dubois and Minister’s Assistant for International Cooperation Affairs H.E. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al-Thani raised the Canadian flag in front of Tornado Tower and cut the ribbon at the Embassy on the 30th floor.  “We’re very proud of the opening,” said Ambassador Dubois.  “For the Embassy, this is the result of all the work to build the relationship between Canada and Qatar. Canada is a partner of choice for Qatar.”

Canada and Qatar have a positive relationship and share mutual interests on regional issues as well as growing business opportunities.  In addition, about 7,200 Canadians live in Qatar and work in all parts of the Qatari economy.  Two large Canadian schools operate in Doha: the College of North Atlantic - Qatar and the University of Calgary - Qatar Nursing School.  A range of Canadian companies and institutions are helping Qatar to reach its goals for the future.  Qatar National Vision 2030 defines the long-term outcomes for the country and Canada is already doing its part to help Qatar to achieve its goals.

The Canadian Embassy is offering its services to the public, including passport renewal, consular assistance, and assistance provided by the Trade Commissioner Service to help Canadian companies identify business opportunities in Qatar and to help Qataris identify investment opportunities in Canada. 

Regarding visa services, the Government of Canada is in discussions to open a Visa Application Centre in Doha that will assist people living in Qatar to apply for a visa for Canada.  Until such time, visa applications still need to be sent to the Visa Application Centre in Abu Dhabi.

The Government of Canada has 172 offices in 105 countries around the world.  Its missions help to manage Canada's diplomatic and consular relations, to encourage international trade and to deliver Canada’s international development and humanitarian assistance.

For more information on the Embassy and the services it offers, visit their website at www.canadainternational.gc.ca/qatar/ , or send them an email at dohag@international.gc.ca.

Le Canada ouvre au public son ambassade au Qatar

Doha, Qatar, 5 juin 2014 – Aujourd’hui, le Canada a officiellement ouvert au public son ambassade auprès de l'État du Qatar.  L’Ambassade fut établie initialement en 2012.  L’Ambassadeur du Canada, SE André Dubois, et l’Adjoint du Ministre de la Coopération internationale, H.E. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al-Thani, ont hissé le drapeau canadien devant le tour Tornado et ont coupé le ruban devant l'Ambassade située au 30e étage de l’édifice. " Nous sommes très fiers de cette ouverture au public ", a déclaré l'Ambassadeur Dubois. "Pour nous, c'est le résultat de tout le travail mis en branle depuis quelques années pour construire une relation entre le Canada et le Qatar. Le Canada est un partenaire de choix pour le Qatar."

Le Canada et le Qatar ont une relation positive et partagent des intérêts communs sur les questions régionales ainsi que les opportunités d'affaires. En outre, environ 7200 Canadiens vivent au Qatar et travaillent dans tous les secteurs de l'économie. Deux grandes écoles canadiennes opèrent à Doha : le Collège de l’Atlantique Nord - Qatar et l’école de soins infirmiers de l'Université de Calgary - Qatar. Un éventail d'entreprises et des institutions canadiennes aident le Qatar à atteindre ses objectifs pour l’avenir. Qatar National Vision 2030 définit les résultats à long terme pour le pays et le Canada fait sa part pour aider le Qatar à atteindre ses objectifs.

L'Ambassade du Canada offre ses services au public, y compris le renouvellement des passeports, l'assistance consulaire et l'appui fourni par le Service des Délégués commerciaux pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à repérer des occasions d'affaires au Qatar et à aider les Qatariens à identifier les opportunités d'investissement au Canada.

En ce qui concerne les services de visa, le Gouvernement du Canada est en pourparlers afin d’ouvrir un Centre de Demande de Visa à Doha qui aidera les résidents du Qatar à soumettre une demande de visa pour le Canada.  D’ici là, les demandes de visa devront toujours être envoyées au Centre de demande de visa à Abu Dhabi.

Le gouvernement du Canada dispose de 172 bureaux dans 105 pays à travers le monde. Ses missions aident à gérer les relations diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada, à encourager le commerce international et à livrer le programme de développement international du Canada et l'aide humanitaire.

Pour plus d'informations sur l'ambassade et les services qu'elle offre, visitez leur site web à www.canadainternational.gc.ca/qatar/ , ou envoyer un courriel à dohag@international.gc.ca.