Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

saudiarabia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Oman Relations

Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

Oman is represented in Canada by the Embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A.

Canada and Oman share common objectives in the domains of international peace and social and economic development. Our relations are very cordial. Oman has pursued a pragmatic foreign policy, frequently mediating between its neighbours, and has given diplomatic support and basing facilities to the campaign against terrorism in Afghanistan. Our bilateral relations also include defence cooperation as the Canadian Forces have long been permitted access to Omani ports. Oman has been a member of Canada's Military Training Cooperation Program (MTCP) since 1980 and its military personnel have participated in several courses and training opportunities.

In both Canada and Oman, education is a high priority. The Government of Oman offers annual scholarships to its citizens to pursue higher education in Canada. The University of Ottawa has presented His Highness Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said with an honorary doctorate in recognition of his outstanding efforts in promoting education in Oman since coming to the throne.

Bilateral commercial relations with Oman have traditionally been modest but exports have been increasing for the past five years. Rio Tinto Alcan is the largest pan-Canadian investor in Oman. Oman is also part of the Gulf Cooperation Council, a priority market for Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

arabiesaoudite.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Oman

L’ambassade du Canada à Riyad, en Arabie saoudite, assure la représentation de notre pays à Oman.

L’ambassade d’Oman à Washington, D.C., aux États-Unis, assure la représentation du pays au Canada.

Le Canada et Oman partagent des objectifs communs de paix et de développement socio-économique à l’échelle internationale. Nos relations sont très cordiales. Oman mène une politique étrangère pragmatique et est a souvent assumé le rôle du médiateur pour ses voisins. Oman continue aussi d’offrir un soutien diplomatique et des bases d'opérations pour la campagne contre le terrorisme en Afghanistan. Nos relations bilatérales incluent une coopération dans le domaine de la défense, les Forces canadiennes ayant depuis longtemps accès aux ports omanais. De plus, Oman est membre du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM) depuis 1980 et son personnel militaire a participé à plusieurs cours et opportunités de formation.

Au Canada tout comme en Oman, l’éducation est une priorité. Le Gouvernement d’Oman offre annuellement à ses citoyens des bourses afin de poursuivre une éducation supérieure au Canada. L'Université d'Ottawa a décerné un doctorat honorifique à Son Altesse le Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said afin de souligner les efforts exceptionnels déployés par ce dernier en vue de promouvoir l'éducation en Oman depuis son accession au trône.

Nos relations commerciales bilatérales sont traditionnellement demeurées modestes, mais nos exportations ont connu une croissance constante au cours des cinq dernières années. Rio Tinto Alcan est le principal investisseur pancanadien en Oman. Oman fait aussi partie du Conseil de Coopération du Golfe, un marché prioritaire pour Affaires Étrangères et Commerce International Canada.


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-21