Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

saudiarabia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Saudi Arabia Relations

In Saudi Arabia, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Riyadh.

Saudi Arabia is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa.

Bilateral relations between Canada and Saudi Arabia include common interests on many peace and security issues, including energy security, humanitarian affairs (including refugees), and counter-terrorism. The Saudi government plays an important role in promoting regional peace and stability.

Saudi Arabia is a leader of the Arab and Muslim worlds, and Guardian of the Two Holy Mosques (Mecca and Medina). Every year thousands of Canadians are among the approximately two million Muslims who perform the annual hajj, or pilgrimage, to Mecca.

Saudi Arabia is the world’s leading oil exporter. It holds 25% of the world’s known oil reserves, plays a key role in the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and has considerable influence on the global economy.

The Kingdom continues to be an important source of foreign students for Canada. There are more than 15,000 Saudi students in Canada, including 800 resident physicians and specialists who provide care to the Canadian population.

Regarding trade, Saudi Arabia is currently Canada’s second largest export market in the region. Trade and economic interests continue to be at the forefront of Canada’s bilateral relations with Saudi Arabia. However, Canada is seeking to diversify its relations with the Saudi Kingdom.

When King Abdullah attended the G20 Summit in Toronto in July 2010, he established a $5.33 million Chair for Dialogue among Civilizations at the University of Toronto.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

arabiesaoudite.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Arabie Saoudite

En Arabie saoudite, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Riyad.

L’Arabie saoudite est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa.

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et l’Arabie saoudite comportent des intérêts communs sur bon nombre de questions relatives à la paix et à la sécurité, notamment la sécurité énergétique, les affaires humanitaires (y compris les réfugiés) et la lutte contre le terrorisme. Le gouvernement saoudien joue un rôle important dans la promotion de la paix et de la stabilité dans la région.

L’Arabie saoudite est un chef de file des mondes arabe et musulman et le gardien des deux mosquées saintes (La Mecque et Médina). Des milliers de Canadiens figurent parmi les quelque deux millions de musulmans qui font le hajj annuel (ou pèlerinage) à La Mecque.

L’Arabie saoudite est le premier exportateur de pétrole au monde. Il détient 25% des réserves de pétrole connues dans le monde. Elle joue un rôle de premier plan au sein de l’Organisation des pays exportateurs de pétrole (OPEP) et son influence sur l’économie mondiale est significative.

Le Royaume demeure une source importante d’étudiants étrangers au Canada. Plus de 15,000 Saoudiens étudient au Canada, notamment 800 médecins résidents et spécialistes qui offrent ainsi leurs soins à la population canadienne.

En ce qui a trait aux échanges commerciaux, l’Arabie saoudite est actuellement le deuxième marché d’exportation en importance du Canada dans la région. Les intérêts commerciaux et économiques demeurent au premier plan des relations bilatérales du Canada avec l’Arabie saoudite. Le Canada cherche néanmoins à diversifier ses relations avec le royaume saoudien.

A l’occasion de la participation du Roi d’Arabie saoudite au Sommet du G20 en juillet 2010 à Toronto, le Roi Abdullah a établi une chaire de 5.33 millions de dollars pour le dialogue des civilisations à l’Université de Toronto.


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-21