Canada - Guinea Relations

Canada - Guinea Relations

Canada and Guinea established diplomatic relations in March 1962. The Embassy of Canada in Dakar, Senegal, ensures the representation of Canada in Guinea. Canada also has an Honorary Consul in the capital, Conakry. Guinea has been represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa since 1980 and is also represented by Honorary Consuls in Montreal, Toronto, Calgary and Vancouver. Canada's bilateral relations with Guinea are based on a long tradition of cooperation in the mining sector and a common membership in La Francophonie.

Canada has an established trade relationship with Guinea. In 2014, trade reached $61.3 million, including more than $10.5 million of exports and more than $50.8 million of imports from Guinea. Canada announced the conclusion of negotiations for a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) with Guinea in December 2013. The FIPA was signed on May 27, 2015 by the Canadian Ambassador to Guinea, Mr. Philippe Beaulne, and Guinea's Minister of Trade Mark Youmbouno in Conakry, Guinea.

Since February 2014, Guinea is dealing with an outbreak of the Ebola virus that caused many deaths in that country. Canada was one of the first countries to respond to the epidemic of Ebola in West Africa. To date, Canada has contributed more than $112.4 million to counter the spread of the Ebola virus in West Africa, including in Guinea.

Canada does not provide bilateral development assistance to the government of Guinea. Guinea can receive Canadian development assistance delivered by international and other partners who may apply for funding by linking to the DFATD “calls for proposals” page. In 2013-2014, Canadian development assistance, estimated at $5.45 million for Guinea, targeted the following sectors: democratic governance and the involvement of civil society, agriculture and industrial development. For more information on projects with Guinea, see DFATD’s Project Browser.

The Embassy of Canada to Guinea in Dakar finances small local projects to promote human rights, peace and stability and good governance through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

May 2015


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Relations Canada - Guinée

Relations Canada - Guinée

Le Canada et la Guinée ont établi des relations diplomatiques le 28 mars 1962. L’ambassade du Canada à Dakar, au Sénégal, assure la représentation du pays en Guinée. Le Canada a également un consul honoraire dans la capitale, Conakry. La Guinée est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa depuis 1980 et par un consul honoraire à Montréal, à Toronto, à Vancouver et à Calgary. Les relations bilatérales du Canada avec la Guinée sont fondées sur une longue tradition de coopération dans le secteur minier et sur une appartenance commune à la Francophonie.

Le Canada a une relation commerciale bien établie avec la Guinée. En 2014, les échanges commerciaux ont atteint 61,3 millions $, dont plus de 10,5 millions $ d’exportations et plus de 50,8 millions $ d’importations venant de la Guinée. Le Canada a annoncé la conclusion des négociations pour un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) avec la Guinée en décembre 2013. Le processus est en cours pour la signature et la ratification de l’APIE.

Depuis février 2014, la Guinée fait face à une épidémie de fièvre hémorragique Ébola qui a fait plusieurs cas. Le Canada a été l'un des premiers pays à répondre à l'épidémie d'Ébola en Afrique de l’Ouest. Jusqu’à ce jour, le Canada a contribué plus de 112,4  millions $ pour contrer la propagation du virus Ébola en Afrique de l’Ouest, incluant en Guinée.

 

Le Canada ne fournit pas d'aide bilatérale au développement pour le gouvernement de Guinée. La Guinée peut recevoir de l'aide canadienne au développement par le biais de partenaires internationaux ou autres partenaires, qui peuvent appliquer pour recevoir du financement en se référant à la page d’appels de propositions du MAECD. En 2013-2014, l’aide canadienne au développement, estimée à 0,89 million $ pour la Guinée, concernait les secteurs suivants: la gouvernance démocratique et l’implication de la société civile, l’agriculture et le développement industriel. Pour plus d’informations sur les projets concernant la Guinée, voir la banque de projets du MAECD.

L’Ambassade du Canada en Guinée à Dakar finance de petits projets locaux visant à promouvoir les droits de la personne, la paix et la stabilité et la bonne gouvernance par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Mai 2015


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.