Canada - South Sudan Relations

Flag

Canada established diplomatic relations with the Republic of South Sudan following the latter’s independence on July 9, 2011. In South Sudan, Canada maintains an Embassy in Juba. In Canada, South Sudan is represented by its Embassy in Washington, D.C.

Canada supports regional and international mediation efforts towards a peaceful and sustainable resolution of conflict in South Sudan. Canadian government representatives have worked to support peace and development, including through humanitarian assistance, early recovery programming, peacekeeping and peace building, and diplomatic efforts to lay the foundation for sustainable development.

Canada is engaged at multiple levels in the country’s political process for a peaceful resolution to the conflict. Canada currently sits on the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission, the principal oversight body established under the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic South Sudan.

Canada has been contributing to the UN Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS) since its outset in July 2011, to consolidate peace and security and help establish conditions for development. Since 2010, Canada has provided more than $28.6 million in security and stabilization support to South Sudan, including through the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program since 2016. Current projects in South Sudan are aimed at building political constituencies for a peaceful resolution of the crisis, and providing support for peacebuilding and mediation efforts.

International Assistance

In 2015-16, Canada’s international assistance to South Sudan through all channels totaled $97.9 million.

Canada’s development assistance to South Sudan focuses on improving access to quality health services that meet the needs of the most vulnerable - especially women and girls - and on reducing food insecurity. Canada’s humanitarian assistance is helping provide emergency food and nutrition, water and sanitation, healthcare, protection services and shelter for vulnerable conflict-affected populations.

For further information, please visit the Government of Canada – Canadian International Assistance in South Sudan webpage.

Commercial Relations

In 2016, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and South Sudan totaled $1.75 million, consisting of $1.75 million in exports to, and $2,500 in imports from, South Sudan. Canada's commercial footprint in South Sudan is modest, due in large part to ongoing concerns about political stability. In 2015, almost half of Canadian merchandise exports to South Sudan were aircraft parts, followed by pharmaceutical products, oil seeds and oleaginous fruits, and machinery and mechanical appliances. Imports from South Sudan were almost nonexistent.

Other Relevant Information

June 2017

Relations Canada - Soudan du Sud

Drapeau

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la République du Soudan du Sud après l’indépendance de ce pays, le 9 juillet 2011. Au Soudan du Sud, le Canada est représenté par son ambassade à Djouba. Au Canada, le Soudan du Sud est représenté par son ambassade à Washington.

Le Canada soutient les efforts de médiation régionaux et internationaux en vue du règlement pacifique et durable du conflit au Soudan du Sud. Les représentants du gouvernement canadien s’emploient à promouvoir la paix et le développement dans ce pays, y compris par l’intermédiaire de l’aide humanitaire, de programmes de redressement rapide, d’opérations de maintien et de consolidation de la paix et d’efforts diplomatiques visant à jeter les bases d’un développement durable.

Le Canada contribue à plusieurs aspects du processus politique dans ce pays en vue d’un règlement pacifique du conflit. Le Canada siège actuellement à la Commission mixte de suivi et d’évaluation, le principal organe de surveillance mis en place en vertu de l’Accord sur le règlement du conflit dans la République du Soudan du Sud.

Le Canada contribue à la Mission des Nations Unies au Soudan du Sud (MINUSS) depuis ses débuts, en juillet 2011, dont l’objectif consiste à consolider la paix et la sécurité ainsi qu’à créer des conditions propices au développement. Depuis 2010, le Canada a consacré plus de 28,6 millions de dollars à la sécurité et à la stabilisation au Soudan du Sud, y compris, depuis 2016, par l’intermédiaire du Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix. Les projets actuels dans ce pays visent à créer les conditions politiques nécessaires à un règlement pacifique de la crise et à soutenir les efforts de consolidation de la paix et de médiation.

Aide internationale

En 2015-2016, l’aide canadienne au Soudan du Sud s’est chiffrée à 97,9 millions de dollars.

L’aide au développement du Canada au Soudan du Sud vise à améliorer l’accès à des services de santé de qualité qui répondent aux besoins des plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes et les filles, ainsi qu’à réduire l’insécurité alimentaire. Dans le cadre de son aide humanitaire, le Canada contribue à la fourniture d’une aide alimentaire d’urgence et de services de nutrition, d’eau et d’installations sanitaires, de soins de santé, de services de protection ainsi que d’abris pour les populations vulnérables touchées par les conflits.

Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter la page suivante Gouvernement du Canada – L’aide internationale canadienne au Soudan du Sud.

Relations commerciales

En 2016, les échanges de marchandises entre les deux pays ont atteint 4,25 millions de dollars : des exportations canadiennes de 1,75 million de dollars vers le Soudan du Sud et des importations sud-soudanaises de 2 500 dollars au Canada. La présence commerciale du Canada au Soudan du Sud est modeste, surtout en raison des préoccupations persistantes suscitées par l'instabilité politique. En 2015, près de la moitié des marchandises canadiennes exportées vers ce pays étaient des pièces d’avions, suivies de produits pharmaceutiques, de plantes et de fruits oléagineux, de machines et d’appareils mécaniques. Les importations sud-soudanaises au Canada ont été quasi inexistantes.

Autres renseignements pertinents

Juin 2017