Changing Lives

Sergeant Tracey Coghlin with some of the girls of CCC
 
 
Staff Sergeant Clare Smart of the Calgary Police at CCC.
 
 
At the CCC orphanage.
 
 

Sergeant Tracey Coghlin of the Ontario Provincial Police and Staff Sergeant Clare Smart of the Calgary Police Service have recently returned to Canada from South Sudan where they spent their vacation helping street girls of Juba at the Confident Children out of Conflict (CCC) orphanage. 

Tracey spent one year in South Sudan  in 2011 as part of the Canadian police contingent with the  United Nations Mission to South Sudan (UNMISS) and became involved on a voluntary basis with the non-governmental organization CCC.  CCC cares for approximately 30 street girls who have been victimized by sexual and physical abuse on the streets of Juba.  Many of the girls are orphaned or have been abandoned by their families.  

Meanwhile, Clare spent one year in Darfur on a separate United Nations Mission; the two ladies did not know each other during that time.   When Tracey ended her mission in January 2012, she vowed to return to South Sudan to help at CCC; she made her first return visit in November 2013, then connected with Clare.  The two spent a year raising funds in Canada, and made a joint visit to Juba in November 2014, staying at CCC for three weeks.  The pair assisted with duties on the compound involving the children (including basic first aid, helping with meals, laundry, and school work). 

Tracey and Clare travelled with donated goods for the girls, along with monetary donations.   Tracey has made CCC a personal priority and plans to return in 2015 for a longer period of time.

Changer des vies

La sergente Tracey Coghlin avec des filles de CCC.
 
 
La sergente chef Clare Smart du Service de police de Calgary à CCC.
 
 
À l’orphelinat CCC.
 
 

La sergente Tracey Coghlin de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario et la sergente‑chef du Service de police de Calgary sont récemment rentrées au Canada après avoir passé leurs vacances au Soudan du Sud, où elles ont aidé des filles de la rue à Djouba à l’orphelinat Confident Children out of Conflict (CCC).

Tracey a passé un an au Soudan du Sud en 2011 à titre de membre du contingent de la police canadienne servant au sein de la Mission des Nations Unies au Soudan du Sud (MINUSS) où elle a commencé à faire du bénévolat auprès de l’organisation non gouvernementale CCC. Cette organisation s'occupe d'une trentaine de filles vivant dans la rue qui ont été victimes de violence sexuelle et physique dans les rues de Djouba. Un grand nombre de ces filles sont orphelines ou ont été abandonnées par leur famille.

Pendant ce temps, Clare a passé un an au Darfour dans le cadre d’une mission distincte des Nations Unies; les deux femmes ne se connaissaient pas à ce moment‑là. Lorsqu’elle termina sa mission en janvier 2012, Tracey s’était promis de revenir au Soudan du Sud pour apporter de l’aide à CCC. Elle y est retournée en novembre 2013, où elle est entrée en contact avec Clare. Les deux femmes ont par la suite recueilli des fonds au Canada au cours d’une période d’un an pour ensuite se rendre toutes les deux à Djouba en novembre 2014, effectuant du bénévolat à l’orphelinat CCC pendant trois semaines. Les deux femmes ont participé aux tâches directement liées aux soins des enfants (y compris les premiers soins de base, la préparation des repas et les travaux scolaires).

À leur arrivée, Tracey et Clare ont remis aux filles des biens qui leur avaient été donnés à titre caritatif, ainsi que des dons monétaires à l’orphelinat. Pour Tracey, CCC est devenue une priorité, où elle compte retourner en 2015 et y rester plus longtemps.