Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

For close to three decades, Canada has funded modest-scale development assistance projects in over 120 countries through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI). The program is unique within the array of Canada’s international assistance programs as most of the decisions are made at missions. The projects are conceived and designed locally, making the CFLI highly responsive to local needs and interests.

Over the years, CFLI has provided significant assistance to people in the developing world, and has helped to forge Canada’s relationships with individuals and community organizations around the world.

See below for information on recent projects funded in South Africa, Lesotho, Namibia, Madagascar and Mauritius.

Call for Proposals

The call for proposals for financial year 2017-2018 is closed.


Previous CFLI projects

2015-2016 CFLI Projects supported by the High Commission of Canada to South Africa

South Africa

  • Developing a transparent and robust internal control system to enhance community participation and good economic governance: With CFLI funds, WWF-SA improved the ability of fishers in the Kogelberg region of the Western Cape to participate in the marketing of their catches and in so doing improved the sustainable use of local marine resources.
  • Young researchers’ leadership program to promote human rights and youth participation in democratic processes and environmental sustainability: With CFLI funds, the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA) engaged youth on issues of environmental sustainability research and policy making.

Lesotho

  • Strengthening Community Groups through assistance in the formation of Cooperatives for freer market access and an effective enabling environment for local businesses: Through CFLI funding Send a Cow Lesotho conducted training for community cooperatives to increase their bargaining power, gain access to new markets, and reduce risks associated with new enterprises.
  • Strengthening Community’s Structures’ Capacity to fight Child Early and Forced Marriage: With funding from CFLI, Grow Lesotho improved the capacity of community support structures to deal with cases of child early and forced marriage and increased access of girls to community based support services.
  • Building a ‘GIRL4ce’ Movement to Champion Girls’ Rights in Lesotho in order to prevent child, early and forced marriage and sexual and gender based violence: Through CFLI funding, Help Lesotho built community engagement and mobilized a girl-led movement to prevent child, early and forced marriage and sexual and gender-based violence, increasing girls’ ability to champion girls’ rights.

Mauritius

  • Sensitisation and empowering youth leaders on human rights: With CFLI funds, Young Queer Alliance carried out youth leadership conferences and art projects to empower and sensitize young people about human rights, including of LGBT individuals.

Madagascar

  • Expanding the democratic participation of girls in social, economic, cultural and political development efforts in Madagascar through a National Leadership Summit for Girls: With funding from CFLI, Youth First organised a National Leadership Summit to empower girls to participate and take leadership in democratic development.

Namibia

  • Empowering communities, in particular young people, in the Hardap and Karas regions of Namibia to prevent Gender Based Violence: Through CFLI funding, the Ombetja Yehinga Organisation (OYO) raised awareness of the services available to victims of gender-based violence and helped prevent gender-based violence.

2014-2015 CFLI Projects supported by the High Commission of Canada to South Africa

South Africa

  • Raising awareness and understanding of LGBT issues through community engagement: With CFLI funding, the Waterberg Welfare Society worked toward protecting fundamental freedoms by engaging communities in Limpopo in focus group discussions about human rights, in particular the rights of LGBT persons. The project increased awareness and acceptance of diversity. 
  • Improving response to rape and gender-based violence through response system and training: With funds received from CFLI, the Viva Foundation of South Africa developed and distributed a community-based sexual violence prevention system, including developing and delivering training on gender equality. The project built the capacity of women and girls in the Alaska community in Mamelodi to understand their rights and to prevent sexual and gender based violence.
  • Empowerment of sexual crime victims through better knowledge of information rights and further development of the Road to Justice Information System (RJIS): With CFLI funds, the Open Democracy Advice Centre (ODAC) conducted community capacity building sessions on information rights for victims of crime to ensure individuals have the knowledge and information to demand better treatment before, during and after they have reported an incident of violence or a sexual assault. ODAC continued development of a mobile phone based application that can be used for victims of crime to track and monitor progress of their cases through the justice system (the Road to Justice Information System).  
  • Sensitizing paralegals on LGBT issues to raise awareness of LGBT rights: With CFLI funds, the Durban Lesbian and Gay Community and Health Centre brought together legal practitioners and community leaders for training sessions and dialogues on LGBTI issues and how to protect and promote the rights of LGBT persons in the region. The project improved access to information on human rights and legislation as it affects LGBT persons.
  • Improving accountability in Emfuleni municipality: With CFLI funding, the Community Initiative for Social Enhancement (CISE) increased community participation in municipal processes especially in matters of financial accountability. CISE achieved these objectives through social accountability public dialogues, public debates, capacity building workshops and community meetings. In addition, a Local Government Task Team was formed to represent the community in meetings with the Municipality. The project increased collaboration between civil society and local authorities and helped improve public service delivery.  
  • Providing institutional support to five land reform projects: With funds received from CFLI, Lima Rural Development Foundation provided training and support to five Community Property Associations in KwaZulu-Natal on how to manage their land and run businesses – including training sessions on business governance, finances, and administration. The training helped strengthen operative and financial governance within the Associations making them better able to promote economic development in their communities.  
  • Masisukumeni victim empowerment project: With funds received from CFLI, Masisukumeni Women’s Crisis Centre worked to prevent sexual violence and early marriage through public awareness education and advocacy.

Lesotho

  • Creating community dialogues on democracy in Lesotho:With CFLI funding, the Transformation Resource Centre worked to strengthen political parties and civil society groups’ understanding of coalition governments. In addition, the project established women’s community forums within selected councils to ensure that women enjoy equal participation and opportunities in community decision-making processes. The project helped improve governance at local levels.
  • Encouraging acceptance of diversity and awareness of the violations directed toward LGBT individuals:With CFLI funds, the Matrix Support Groupworked through public dialogues and facilitated film screenings to increase acceptance of diversity, increase awareness of and respect for the rights of LGBT persons and to encourage an inclusive and open environment for LGBT persons in Lesotho.  
  • Promoting protection of women and children from sexual violence and early forced marriage in Lesotho:With funding from CFLI, the Federation of Women Lawyers-Lesotho (FIDALES) advanced the promotion of human rights of women and children. The project included public outreach activities to educate communities about the Children’s Protection and Welfare Act, 2011 and the Sexual Offence’s Act, 2003, which has resulted in an increased number of reported cases by women and children who are victims of sexual violence and early forced marriage.

Mauritius

  • Promoting political transparency and integrity: With CFLI funds, Transparency Mauritiusengaged the private sector, as well as youth to participate in the fight against corruption. Transparency Mauritius encouraged private sector CEOs to support transparent and accountable political financing. In addition, Transparency Mauritius engaged with youth clubs to promote issues of transparency and accountability. 
  • Awareness-raising campaign to improve acceptance of the LGBT community of Mauritius: With funds from CFLI, Collectif Arc-en-Ciel held an information campaign to stop prejudice and discrimination against LGBT persons in Mauritius. The campaign included a publicized launch, informational billboards in public places, press conferences and media interviews. The project empowered people to be aware of and address prejudices.

Madagascar

  • Increasing understanding of corruption and supporting victims of corruption: With CFLI funds, Transparency Madagascar contributed to the fight against corruption in local government and promoted the rule of law by providing an information framework and legal support to victims and witnesses of corruption and abuse. The project strengthened the commitment among community leaders to take action against corruption. 
  • Strengthening democracy through citizenship education in Antananarivo:With CFLI funding, ONG Lalana encouraged the participation of vulnerable groups, in particular women in local politics. The project inspired awareness and innovation within the community to identify and develop solutions to challenges they are facing.

Namibia 

  • Action campaign for promoting the rights of Lesbians, Gays, Bisexuals and Transsexuals (LGBT) in Namibia: With funds received from CFLI, Gender Links Namibia conducted a pilot Sixteen Day campaign at the local level with a focus on educating local communities on the rights of LGBT persons. Community training workshops, dialogues and cyber dialogues were conducted. The project increased awareness of and respect for the rights of LGBT persons.

2013-2014 CFLI Projects supported by the High Commission of Canada to South Africa

South Africa

  • Building entrepreneurship and leadership skills of vulnerable youth: With CFLI funding, the African Leadership Academy developed the skills, abilities, and confidence of disadvantaged youth in order to help them independently solve problems, develop their communities, and become ethical leaders. 
  • Promoting human rights through community radio: With CFLI funds, using radio as a platform for change Bush Radio produced programs to promote human rights, including women’s rights, LGBTI rights, and disabled people’s rights. 
  • Strengthening civil society’s contribution to the electoral process: With funds received from CFLI, the Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa worked with civil society organisations to develop voter education materials with a specific focus on youth and to train facilitators, who then provided voter education sessions to members of their communities. 
  • Addressing sexual and gender-based violence through training by peer educators: With funds received from CFLI, Africa Unite provided training and engaged youth in dialogues to increase the understanding of issues of equality between men and women as well as to promote prevention of gender-based violence. 
  • Increasing women’s capacity to prevent and respond to sexual and gender-based violence: With CFLI funding this project by Play at Heart created awareness of gender based violence and empowered women to prevent and address it. 
  • Support for traders who are refugee or asylum-seekers, through development of a manual and training on licensing requirements: With funds received from CFLI, Lawyers for Human Rights provided training and support to shop-owners to ensure that their businesses are lawfully compliant and that, with proper recordkeeping and business practices, the traders can protect their businesses from loss due to attacks and violence.

Namibia

  • Increasing election education: With CFLI funding this project bythe Institute for Public Policy Research raised the level of awareness among Namibian voters about key issues relating to the conduct of elections in Namibia.

Madagascar

  • Support for election education in Madagascar: With CFLI funds the Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa helped to promote equal opportunities and capacity for Malagasy women to be represented in decision-making positions; promoting gender equality in governing and decision-making processes.

2012-2013 CFLI Projects supported by the High Commission of Canada to South Africa

South Africa

  • Promoting social cohesion through conflict resolution mechanisms and peace building initiatives: With CFLI funding this project by the Consortium for Refugees and Migrants in South Africa trained religious leaders in Limpopo, Eastern Cape and KwaZulu Natal on conflict resolution and peace building mechanisms including engaging in advocacy to promote the safety of non-nationals. 
  • Right and Responsibilities training for refugees and other stakeholders in the Eastern Cape: With funds received from CFLI the Refugee Rights Centre contributed to creating a just and rights-based environment for migrants, refugees and asylum seekers in the Eastern Cape. This was done through training sessions on the rights and responsibilities of refugees and the obligations of government departments in terms of the Refugees and Immigration Acts and International legislation. 
  • Community building through strengthening Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) rights in KwaZulu Natal: With CFLI funding the Gay and Lesbian Network were supported in their efforts to expand services in Greater Edendale in Pietermaritzburg.

Lesotho

  • Empowering young mothers in rural Lesotho: With funds received from CFLI, Help Lesotho helped to improve the health status of young mothers by providing access to information and training sessions on maternal health and nutrition, as well as psychosocial support. The project also raised awareness on how to prevent mother to child transmission of HIV/AIDS. 
  • Promoting citizen participation in governance: With CFLI funding the Catholic Commission for Justice and Peace (CCJP) empowered citizens and community based organizations to better engage with community councils, to monitor budget expenditures and service delivery, and to hold the councils accountable. 
  • Enhancing the Capacity of the National Assembly Ethics Committee: With funds received from CFLI, the Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa increased the capacity of National Assembly members by supporting the Lesotho Parliament Ethics Committee and by increasing awareness of ethical practices among parliamentarians.

Namibia

  • Community empowerment through disability engagement: With CFLI funding the Disability Economic Empowerment Project (DEEP) increased the support they provide to disabled community members in Oshakati by providing means of transport, improving income generating opportunities, and increasing awareness of DEEP’s services. 
  • Election education: With funds received from CFLI, the Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR) supported democracy in Namibia by raising the level of awareness among voters on key issues related to the conduct of elections and by providing a platform for discussion on the electoral process as well as election issues.

Madagascar

  • Safeguarding the integrity and transparency of the electoral process: With CFLI funding the Electoral Institute of Southern Africa provided training on how to conduct electoral observation and developed manuals for use during future elections.

Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales

Depuis près de trois décennies, le Canada a financé des projets d’envergure modeste d'aide au développement dans plus de 120 pays par le biais du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales (FCIL). Le FCIL est un programme unique parmi les programmes d’assistance internationale du Canada car la plupart des décisions sont prises par les missions à l’étranger. Les projets sont conçus et élaborés localement, ce qui permet au FCIL de répondre aux besoins et aux intérêts locaux.

Au fil des années, le FCIL a fourni une aide considérable aux populations du monde en développement et a contribué à renforcer les relations du Canada avec les individus et les organisations communautaires dans le monde entier.

Voir ci-après les informations concernant les projets récents financés en Afrique du Sud, au Lesotho, en Namibie, à Madagascar et à Maurice.

Appel à propositions

L’appel de propositions de financement pour l’année financière 2017-2018 est complété.


Les projets FCIL précédents

Projets 2015-2016 soutenus par le Haut-commissariat en Afrique du Sud

Afrique du Sud

  • L'élaboration d'un système de contrôle interne transparent et solide pour améliorer la participation communautaire et la bonne gouvernance économique : Avec les fonds du FCIL, WWF-SA a amélioré la capacité des pêcheurs dans la région de Kogelberg du Cap occidental afin qu’ils puissent participer à la commercialisation de leurs captures et, ce faisant, améliorer l'utilisation durable des ressources marines locales.
  • Le programme du leadership des jeunes chercheurs pour promouvoir les droits et la participation des jeunes aux processus démocratiques et à la durabilité de l'environnement : Avec les fonds du FCIL, l'Institut sud-africain des affaires internationales (SAIIA) a engagé un dialogue avec les jeunes sur les questions portant sur la durabilité de l'environnement et l'élaboration des politiques. 

Lesotho

  • Le renforcement des groupes communautaires par une assitance à la mise en place de coopératives permettant un accès plus libre au marché et un environnement favorable pour les entreprises locales : Grâce à un financement du FCIL Send a Cow Lesotho ("Envoyer une vache "), a organisé une formation pour les coopératives communautaires afin d'accroître leurs pouvoirs de négociation, de leur permettre d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés et de réduire les risques associés à de nouvelles entreprises.
  • Renforcer la capacité des structures communautaires pour lutter contre les mariages précoces et forcés : Avec le financement du FCIL, Grow Lesotho a amélioré la capacité des structures de soutien communautaire pour traiter les cas de mariage précoce et forcé et pour faciliter l’accès des filles aux services de soutien communautaire.
  • Créer un mouvement GIRL4ce pour promouvoir les droits des filles au Lesotho afin d'empêcher les mariages précoces et forcés ainsi que la violence sexuelle et sexiste : Grâce à un financement du FCIL, Help Lesotho a créé un engagement communautaire et a mis en place un mouvement mené par les  filles  pour empêcher les mariages précoces et forcés et la violence sexuelle et sexiste, afin de renforcer la capacité des filles à défendre leurs droits.

Maurice

  • Sensibilisation et autonomisation des jeunes leaders sur les droits de l'homme : Avec les fonds du FCIL, Young Queer Alliance a organisé des conférences sur le leadership des jeunes ainsi que des projets artistiques afin d'habiliter et de sensibiliser les jeunes sur les droits de l'homme, y compris les personnes LGBT.   

Madagascar 

  • Élargir la participation démocratique des jeunes filles dans les efforts de développement social, économique, culturel et politique à Madagascar par le biais d'un Sommet national sur le leadership des filles : Avec le financement du FCIL, Youth First a organisé un Sommet national sur le leadership afin d’habiliter les filles à participer et à faire preuve de leadership dans le développement démocratique.

Namibie

  • Autonomiser les communautés, en particulier les jeunes, dans les régions de Hardap et de Karas en Namibie pour prévenir la violence sexiste : Grâce à un financement du FCIL, Ombetja Yehinga Organisation (OYO) a sensibilisé les communautés quant aux services offerts aux victimes de violence sexiste et a contribué à la prévention de la violence sexiste.

Projets 2014-2015 soutenus par le Haut-commissariat en Afrique du Sud

Afrique du Sud

  • Sensibilisation et promotion des droits des personnes LGBT par intervention communautaire : Grâce au financement du FCIL, le Waterberg Welfare Society a œuvré pour la protection des libertés fondamentales en faisant participer les communautés de la province de Limpopo à des groupes de discussion sur les droits humains, en particulier les droits des personnes LGBT. Le projet a contribué à une meilleure compréhension et acceptation de la diversité. 
  • Amélioration des mesures pour répondre au viol et à la violence fondée sur le genre par un système d’intervention:Avec les fonds reçus de FCIL, la Fondation Viva d'Afrique du Sud a élaboré et disséminé un système d’alarme communautaire pour la prévention de la violence domestique et sexuelle. Viva a aussi offert des ateliers de sensibilisation sur l'égalité des sexes. Le projet a renforcé la capacité des femmes et des filles dans la communauté d'Alaska à Mamelodi à comprendre leurs droits et à prévenir la violence sexuelle et sexiste. 
  • Émancipation des victimes de crimes sexuels par une meilleure connaissance du droit à l’information et le développement du système d’information Road to Justice (RJIS) :Avec les fonds du FCIL, le Open Democracy Advice Centre (ODAC) a organisé des sessions d’informations pour renforcer les capacités communautaires sur les droits à l'information pour les victimes d'actes criminels. Le but était d'assurer que les personnes aient les connaissances et les informations nécessaires pour exiger un meilleur traitement avant, pendant et après avoir signalé un incident de violence ou d’agression sexuelle aux autorités. L’ODAC est en train de développer une application de téléphone mobile qui permettrait aux victimes d'actes criminels d'assurer le suivi de leurs cas par le biais de leur système d'informations "Road To Justice Information System".
  • Sensibilisation des techniciens juridiques aux questions liées aux droits des personnes LGBT et aux droits connexes: Avec les fonds du FCIL, la Communauté gay et lesbienne et le Centre de santé de Durban ont réuni des juristes et des dirigeants communautaires pour des sessions de formation et de dialogues sur les questions LGBT et la façon de protéger et de promouvoir les droits des personnes LGBT dans la région. Le projet a amélioré l'accès à l'information sur les droits de la personne et les lois qui impactent les personnes LGBT. 
  • Amélioration de la reddition de comptes dans la municipalité d’Emfuleni : Grâce au financement du FCIL, le Community Initiative for Social Enhancement (CISE) a augmenté la participation de la communauté aux processus municipaux, notamment en matière de responsabilité financière. Leur objectif a été atteint par le biais de dialogues publics portant sur la responsabilité sociale, de débats publics, d’ateliers de renforcement des capacités et de réunions communautaires ainsi que la formation d’une équipe spéciale du gouvernement local qui représentera la communauté aux réunions avec la municipalité. Le projet a mené à une collaboration plus étroite entre la société civile et le gouvernement local, et a aidé à améliorer la prestation de service public. 
  • Offre de soutien institutionnel à cinq projets de réforme agraire : Avec les fonds reçus du FCIL, la Lima Rural Development Foundation a fourni une formation et un soutien à cinq associations de propriété communautaires  dans le KwaZulu-Natal sur la gestion de leurs terres et leurs entreprises. Les ateliers de formation ont inclus des séances sur la gouvernance d'entreprise, les finances et l'administration et ont permis de renforcer la gouvernance financière et opérationnelle des associations afin que ces associations soient plus en mesure de promouvoir le développement économique. 
  • Projet du Centre Masisukumeni pour l’autonomisation des victimes de violence sexuelle : Avec les fonds du FCIL, le Centre de crise pour les femmes de Masisukumeni a  contribué à la prévention de la violence sexuelle et du mariage précoce par des actions de sensibilisation et de plaidoyer.

Lesotho

  • Instauration de dialogues communautaires sur la démocratie au Lesotho :Grâce au financement du FCIL, le Transformation Resource Centre a travaillé à renforcer la compréhension des partis politiques et de la société civile sur les gouvernements de coalition. En outre, le projet a créé des forums communautaires de femmes au sein de conseils sélectionnés pour veiller à ce que les femmes jouissent des mêmes droits et opportunités dans la participation et les processus de prise de décision communautaires que les hommes. Le projet a contribué à l’amélioration de la gouvernance locale. 
  • Encourager l'acceptation de la diversité et  la sensibilisation des violations visant les personnes LGBT : Avec les fonds du FCIL, le groupe de soutien “Matrix Support Group”  a renforcé, par l'entremise de dialogues publiques et de projections de films, l'acceptation de la diversité et une sensibilisation accrue pour le respect des droits des personnes LGBT. Il a également encouragé un environnement inclusif et ouvert pour les personnes LGBT au Lesotho. 
  • Promotion de la protection des femmes et des enfants contre la violence sexuelle et les mariages forcés précoces au Lesotho : Grâce au financement du FCIL, la Fédération des femmes juristes-Lesotho (FIDALES) a fait progresser la promotion des droits humains des femmes et des enfants. Le projet comprenait des activités de sensibilisation du public sur la loi de la protection de l'enfance de 2011 ainsi que la loi sur les infractions sexuelles de 2003. Le projet a mené à une augmentation du nombre de cas rapporté d‘instances de violence sexuelle et de mariage précoce.

Maurice

  • Promotion de la transparence et de l’intégrité en politique : Avec les fonds du FCIL, Transparency Mauritius a incité le secteur privé, ainsi que les jeunes à participer à la lutte contre la corruption. Transparency Mauritius a encouragé les PDG du secteur privé à appuyer un financement politique transparent et responsable. En outre, Transparency Mauritius a collaboré avec des clubs de jeunes pour promouvoir les questions de transparence et de responsabilité. 
  • Campagne de sensibilisation pour une meilleure acceptation de la communauté LGBT mauricienne :Avec des fonds du FCIL, le Collectif Arc-en-Ciel a tenu une campagne de sensibilisation pour mettre fin aux préjugés et à la discrimination contre les personnes LGBT à Maurice. La campagne a inclut un lancement de campagne médiatisé, des panneaux publicitaires dans des endroits visibles et stratégiques, des conférences de presses et entrevues avec les médias. Le projet a conscientisé les gens avec pour but de combattre les préjugés.

Madagascar 

  • Amélioration de la compréhension de la corruption et soutien aux victimes de corruption :Avec les fonds du FCIL, Transparency Madagascar a contribué à la lutte contre la corruption et a favorisé la primauté du droit dans l'administration locale en fournissant un cadre d'information et de soutien juridique aux victimes et aux témoins de cas de corruption ou d'abus. Le projet a renforcé l’engagement des chefs communautaires à prendre des mesures pour lutter contre la corruption. 
  • Renforcement de la démocratie par l’éducation citoyenne à Antananarivo :Grâce au financement du FCIL, l'ONG Lalana a encouragé la participation des groupes vulnérables, en particulier des femmes, dans la vie politique locale. Le projet a provoqué la sensibilisation et l’innovation dans la communauté pour identifier et trouver des solutions aux défis dont elle fait face.

Namibie

  • Campagne d’activités de promotion des droits des lesbiennes, des gay, des bisexuels et des transgenres (LGBT) en Namibie : Avec les fonds reçus de FCIL, Gender Links Namibie a mené une campagne pilote de seize jours au niveau local, avec un accent sur l'éducation des communautés locales sur les droits des personnes LGBT. Des ateliers de formation communautaires, des dialogues et des cyber dialogues ont été organisés. Le projet a contribué à une meilleure compréhension et respect des droits des personnes LGBT.

Projets 2013-2014 soutenus par le Haut-commissariat en Afrique du Sud

Afrique du Sud

  • Renforcer l’entreprenariat et l’apprentissage des compétences en leadership chez les jeunes vulnérables : Avec le financement du FCIL, la African Leadership Academy a développé les compétences, les aptitudes et la confiance des jeunes défavorisés afin de les aider à résoudre leurs problèmes par eux-mêmes, à développer leurs communautés et à devenir des dirigeants intègres. 
  • Promouvoir les droits de la personne par le biais de la radio communautaire : Avec le financement du FCIL et en utilisant la radio au profit du changement, Bush Radio a créé des programmes pour promouvoir les droits de la personne, y compris les droits des femmes, des LGBTI et des personnes handicapées. 
  • Renforcer la contribution de la société civile au processus électoral : Avec le financement du FCIL, l’Institut électoral pour une démocratie durable en Afrique ("Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa”) a collaboré avec les organisations de la société civile pour élaborer des supports pédagogiques pour les électeurs en ciblant spécifiquement les jeunes et la formation des animateurs, qui ensuite donnaient des sessions d’apprentissage aux membres de leurs communautés. 
  • Traiter la question de la violence sexuelle et de la violence fondée sur le sexe par l’entremise d’une formation par les éducateurs pairs : Avec le financement du FCIL, Africa Unite a donné une formation et facilité le dialogue parmi les jeunes pour favoriser la compréhension des questions d’égalité entre les hommes et les femmes et pour promouvoir également la prévention de la violence fondée sur le sexe. 
  • Accroître la capacité des femmes à prévenir et à lutter contre la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe : Avec le financement du FCIL, le projet Play at Heart a sensibilisé les femmes sur la violence fondée sur le sexe et les a habilitées à la prévenir et à y faire face. 
  • Appuyer les commerçants, réfugiés ou demandeurs d’asile, à l’aide d’un manuel et d’une formation sur l’attribution des permis : Avec le financement du FCIL, Lawyers for Human Rights a fourni une formation et un soutien aux commerçants afin que leurs commerces soient légaux et qu’avec des pratiques commerciales et de comptabilité adéquates, les commerçants puissent protéger leurs commerces des pertes dues à des attaques et à la violence.

Namibie

  • Améliorer l’éducation des électeurs : Avec le financement du FCIL, ce projet mené par l’Institute for Public Policy Research a sensibilisé les électeurs namibiens quant aux questions clés relatives à la conduite des élections en Namibie.

Madagascar

  • Soutien pour l’éducation des électeurs à Madagascar: Avec le financement du FCIL, l’Institut électoral pour une démocratie durable en Afrique a favorisé la promotion de l’égalité des chances pour les femmes malgaches devant être représentées dans des postes de décision ainsi que la promotion de la parité dans les processus de gouvernance et de prise de décisions.

Projets 2012-2013 soutenus par le Haut-commissariat en Afrique du Sud

Afrique du Sud

  • Promotion de la cohésion sociale grâce à des mécanismes de résolution des conflits et des initiatives de renforcement de la paix : Avec le financement du FCIL, ce projet, mené par le Consortium pour les réfugiés et les migrants en Afrique du Sud, a formé des chefs religieux au Limpopo, au Cap oriental et au KwaZulu Natal sur la résolution des conflits et les mécanismes de renforcement de la paix tout en promouvant la sécurité des non-ressortissants. 
  • Formation sur les droits et les responsabilités pour les réfugiés et les autres acteurs du Cap oriental : Avec le financement du FCIL, le Centre des droits des réfugiés a favorisé la création d’un environnement fondé sur les droits pour les migrants, les réfugiés et les demandeurs d’asile du Cap oriental. Des sessions de formation sur les droits et les responsabilités des réfugiés et les obligations des ministères publics conformément aux lois sur les réfugiés et l’immigration et la législation internationale ont été organisées. 
  • Sensibilisation communautaire sur le renforcement des droits des lesbiennes, des homosexuels, des bisexuels, des personnes transgenres et intersexes (LGBTI) au KwaZulu Natal :le financement du FCIL a appuyé le Réseau des homosexuels et des lesbiennes pour les aider dans leurs efforts pour accroître leurs services dans la zone du Greater Edendale à Pietermaritzburg.

Lesotho

  • Autonomisation des femmes en milieu rural au Lesotho : Avec le financement du FCIL, Help Lesotho a facilité l’amélioration de la santé des jeunes mères en leur offrant un accès à des informations et à des formations sur la santé maternelle et la nutrition ainsi qu’un soutien psychosocial. Le projet a également sensibilisé les femmes sur la façon d’empêcher la transmission du VIH/SIDA de la mère à l’enfant. 
  • Promotion de la participation des citoyens dans la gouvernance : Avec le financement du FCIL, la “Catholic Commission for Justice and Peace” (CCJP) a habilité les citoyens et les organisations communautaires à mieux dialoguer avec les conseils communautaires, à contrôler les dépenses budgétaires et la fourniture des services, et à rendre les conseils responsables devant leurs membres. 
  • Renforcement des capacités de la commission d’Éthique de l’Assemblée nationale : Avec le financement du FCIL, l’Institut électoral pour une démocratie durable en Afrique a accru la capacité des membres de l’Assemblée nationale en appuyant la commission d’Éthique du Parlement du Lesotho et en sensibilisant les parlementaires sur les pratiques conformes à la déontologie.

Namibie

  • Sensibilisation communautaire par un engagement en faveur des personnes handicapées : Avec le financement du FCIL, le “Disability Economic Empowerment Project” (DEEP) a accru le soutien donné aux personnes handicapées d’Oshakati en leur fournissant des moyens de transport, en améliorant leurs sources de revenus et en les sensibilisant sur les services du projet DEEP. 
  • Education des électeurs : Avec le financement du FCIL, l’Institute for Public Policy Research a appuyé la démocratie en Namibie en sensibilisant davantage les électeurs sur les questions clés concernant le conduite des élections et en offrant une plateforme de discussion sur le processus électoral ainsi que sur les questions électorales.

Madagascar

  • Sauvegarde de l’intégrité et de la transparence du processus électoral : Avec le financement du FCIL, l'Institut électoral d'Afrique australe a offert une formation en matière d’observation électorale et a conçu des manuels à utiliser lors de prochaines élections.