Canada contributes to workshops in support of refugee rights


Refugees picket for better services.


Refugees seeking assistance outside the Refugee Rights Centre offices.


Women refugees learn how to access government services.

Canada recently helped out the Refugee Rights Centre, an NGO at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth and the only organization in the Eastern Cape dedicated to assisting and providing legal advice to asylum seekers and refugees.

This small team provides assistance to a vulnerable group who often arrive in South Africa traumatized, destitute, unable to speak the country’s languages and unaware of their rights.

Canada’s CAD$15,000 helped the Centre deliver workshops to educate refugees and asylum seekers on their rights and obligations. Workshops also targeted governmental service providers, law enforcement and other refugee community stakeholders.

Refugee and Asylum Seekers

Workshops for refugees and asylum seekers focused on access to services such as health, employment and education; their rights if they are stopped, arrested or detained by the police, or if a crime is committed against them; and their obligations under residency permits. 

“I’m happy that my children are going to get birth certificates and I’m also excited that they have a right to education and can go to school.”

Some workshops were given specifically to help refugee women deal with the poor treatment and discrimination they often experience in hospitals, with the police and in public.

“There was a lot I didn’t know about human rights. Now I can proudly say I know my rights and my children’s rights.”

Service Providers and Stakeholders

The Centre also provided workshops for public officials in law enforcement. Junior police officers learned about the arrest, detention and deportation of asylum seekers and refugees and their rights, while senior police officers were given information about the refugee and immigration acts.

Stakeholder forums addressed the criminal justice system and legislation affecting refugees and asylum seekers. Many participants, which included government staff providing services to the refugee community and various refugee groups, expressed reservations about the benefits of such a workshop, but changed their attitude by the end of the day.

“This was such an eye opener. Had I known this, I would have acted differently,” stated one government official.

“Upholding the principles of human rights is important to Canada. We help empower some of the most vulnerable people when we support projects that provide essential information and services .” – Gaston Barban, High Commissioner of Canada to South Africa.

Canada’s contribution came from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives—a program that supports small projects by local NGOs and other grassroots organizations.

Le Canada s’associe à des ateliers sur les droits des réfugiés


Des réfugiés manifestent pour de meilleurs services.


Des réfugiés viennent chercher de l’aide au bureau du Centre pour les droits des réfugiés.


Des femmes réfugiées s’informent sur l’accès aux services de l’État.

Récemment, le Canada a apporté son soutien au Centre pour les droits des réfugiés, une ONG installée à l’Université métropolitaine Nelson Mandela de Port Elizabeth. Dans la province de Cap-Oriental, il est le seul organisme à venir en aide aux demandeurs d’asile et aux réfugiés, et à leur offrir des conseils juridiques.

La petite équipe fournit de l’aide à des personnes vulnérables qui arrivent souvent traumatisées et démunies en Afrique du Sud, incapables même de parler les langues du pays et sans connaître leurs droits.

La contribution de 15 000 $ CA du Canada a permis au Centre d’organiser des ateliers afin d’enseigner aux réfugiés et aux demandeurs d’asile leurs droits et obligations. Ces ateliers étaient également destinés aux fournisseurs de services de l’État, aux autorités policières et à d’autres intervenants dans le domaine des réfugiés.

Réfugiés et demandeurs d'asile                

Pour les réfugiés et les demandeurs d’asile, les ateliers étaient orientés sur l’accès à des services tels la santé, l’emploi et l’éducation. On y abordait également la question de leurs droits en cas de contrôle, d’arrestation ou de détention par la police, ou s’ils sont victimes d’un crime, ainsi que leurs obligations en vertu de leur carte de séjour. 

« Je suis heureuse que mes enfants puissent obtenir un certificat de naissance, et tellement contente qu’ils aient le droit d’aller à l’école et d’étudier. »

Certains ateliers visaient particulièrement les femmes réfugiées afin de pouvoir réagir au piètre traitement et à la discrimination qu’elles subissent dans les hôpitaux, et de la part des policiers et des citoyens.

« Je ne savais pas grand-chose sur les droits de la personne. Maintenant, je peux dire fièrement que je connais mes droits et ceux de mes enfants. »

Fournisseurs de services et intervenants

Le Centre a également donné des ateliers à des fonctionnaires de police. Des policiers stagiaires ont été informés des procédures d’arrestation, de détention et de déportation des demandeurs d’asile et réfugiés, ainsi que de leurs droits. Des policiers ont reçu de l’information sur les lois portant sur l’immigration et les réfugiés.

Les exposés donnés aux intervenants portaient sur le système de justice pénale et sur les lois qui touchent réfugiés et demandeurs d’asile. Bien des participants, dont des fonctionnaires prestataires de services à divers groupes de réfugiés, s’étaient montrés réticents quant aux bienfaits de ce type d’ateliers, mais à la fin de la journée, ils avaient changé d’opinion.

« Ça m’a véritablement ouvert les yeux. Si j’avais su ce que je sais maintenant, j’aurais agi différemment », a affirmé l’un des fonctionnaires présents.

« Défendre les principes des droits de la personne est important pour le Canada. En soutenant des projets qui offrent des informations et des services vitaux, nous permettons aux populations les plus vulnérables de relever la tête. » – Gaston Barban, haut-commissaire du Canada en Afrique du Sud.

La contribution du Canada provient du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales – un programme d’appui à de petits projets menés par des ONG locales et par des organisations communautaires.