Canada supports the Viva Foundation on Nelson Mandela International Day


Singing 'Happy Birthday Madiba'

Heeding the call to take action for good on Nelson Mandela International Day, staff of the High Commission of Canada in South Africa and their families commemorated Nelson Mandela's 95th birthday by volunteering at a Viva Foundation project.


High Commissioner Barban and High Commission staff building and planting trees at Viva Connect Enterprise Development Centre.


Building the structure for a shop.


Drawing and colouring at the Viva Daycare Centre.


Singing "Heads, shoulders, knees and toes".

The Nelson Mandela International Day, also known as Mandela Day, is celebrated every year on Mandela’s birthday, July 18. Nelson Mandela dedicated 67 years to fight for justice. To honour that commitment, Mandela Day is a global call for people to give 67 minutes of their time to volunteerism and community work based on the principle that each individual has the power and ability to make an impact, no matter how small.

The Canadian High Commission staff provided trees, shrubs, and building materials to help the Viva Foundation establish an enterprise development and communication centre in the Alaska Informal Settlement in Mamelodi, a town east of Pretoria.

Four years ago, the Alaska settlement was known to be the most dangerous place in Mamelodi with rape, car theft and prostitution being the biggest challenges.

To help bring stability and development to the region, the Viva Foundation is focusing on supporting the local community. The centre will provide a secure environment for small businesses to connect with suppliers and clients, and build successful marketing and management strategies.

Staff got their hammers and shovels out to garden and to build a structure that will eventually be used as a shop by a trader from the area.

Looking at the structure being built, one entrepreneurial young man declared "This will be my shop. I will sell chips in this shop, [because] everyone likes chips. I will save for six months to buy equipment."

Other members of staff entertained the children at the Viva Daycare Centre. The children range from newborns to 6 year olds. There was much playing, singing, and laughter.

The daycare is a crucial support program for the community. In order for parents to work, most children are sent back to the rural areas, also known as “bush prison”, when parents can’t afford to put them into schools.

These children grow up without education or health support and are often subject to abuse and negligence. Thanks to the Viva daycare Centre, children are exposed to one of the best preschool curriculums available thus preparing the child for school.

Mothers in particular are now able to look for work, improving the living standards for the entire family. Many children attend the preschool free of charge and as the family’s economical position improve, parents pay fees which helps the center take on more children.

"It is important for everyone in the world to get involved in uplifting the most disadvantaged people in our communities, especially on this day, when we acknowledge the selfless contribution of Nelson Mandela to the promotion of social justice and human rights." - High Commissioner Gaston Barban

High Commissioner Barban also thanked and commended High Commission staff and their families for getting involved in this initiative.

Journée internationale Nelson Mandela : le Canada appuie la Viva Foundation


">« Joyeux anniversaire… Madiba! »

Les membres du personnel du haut-commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud et leurs familles ont répondu à l’appel de la Journée internationale Nelson Mandela. Se retroussant les manches, ils ont fêté le 95e anniversaire de Mandela en faisant du bénévolat pour un projet de la Viva Foundation.


Le haut-commissaire Barban et le personnel du haut-commissariat en plein travail au centre Viva de soutien à la PME.


Érection de la charpente d’une future échoppe.


Les enfants jouent au Viva Daycare.


Des comptines et des chants!.

C’est le 18 juillet, jour de son anniversaire, que l’on célèbre la Journée Nelson Mandela. Cet homme a voué 67 ans de sa vie à lutter pour la justice. Pour rendre hommage à son engagement, on demande aux citoyens de la planète de consacrer 67 minutes de leur temps à du bénévolat ou à du travail communautaire en partant du principe que chaque citoyen de la Terre a la capacité de poser un geste, aussi modeste soit-il.

Les employés du haut-commissariat ont fourni des arbustes, des plantes et des matériaux de construction afin d’aider la Viva Foundation à mettre sur pied un centre de communications et d’aide à la petite entreprise dans le bidonville d’Alaska à Mamelodi, une ville située à l’est de Pretoria.

Il y a 4 ans, le bidonville d’Alaska était réputé comme l’endroit le plus dangereux de Mamelodi. Les viols, les vols de voiture et la prostitution étaient parmi les plus importants problèmes.

Pour aider à ramener la stabilité et le développement dans ce secteur, la Viva Foundation met l’accent sur le soutien à la collectivité locale. Le centre assurera un environnement sûr où les petites entreprises pourront rencontrer fournisseurs et clients, et établir des stratégies de gestion et de commercialisation prometteuses.

Le personnel a sorti les pics, les pelles et les marteaux pour aménager le terrain et ériger la charpente de ce qui servira éventuellement de boutique à un commerçant du secteur.

Observant la construction de la structure, un jeune homme déterminé s’est écrié : « C’est ma boutique qui va être ici. Je vais y vendre des croustilles; tout le monde aime les croustilles. Je vais faire des économies pendant six mois pour m’acheter l’équipement de cuisson. »

D’autres employés ont diverti les enfants du service de garde Viva qui les accueille du berceau à l’âge de 6 ans. On y a entendu des rires, des chansons et des cris de joie.

Ce service à la petite enfance est un programme essentiel pour ce milieu. Pour que les parents puissent travailler, la plupart des enfants sont envoyés chez des proches à la campagne – ce qu’on appelle la prison de brousse – lorsque la famille n’a pas les moyens de les envoyer à l’école.

Ces enfants grandissent sans éducation ni soins de santé, souvent maltraités et négligés. Grâce au Viva daycare Centre, les enfants bénéficient de l’un des meilleurs programmes préscolaires existants qui les prépare à poursuivre des études.

Les mères, en particulier, peuvent maintenant chercher un emploi et améliorer la qualité de vie de toute la famille. Un grand nombre de ces enfants fréquentent le service de garde gratuitement. Au fur et à mesure que la situation économique des familles s’améliore, les parents paient des frais qui permettent au centre d’accueillir plus d’enfants.

« Il est important que chaque citoyen de ce monde s’engage afin d’améliorer le sort des plus défavorisés de nos sociétés, particulièrement en cette journée où nous rendons hommage à l’altruisme de Nelson Mandela et à son dévouement en faveur de la justice sociale et des droits de la personne. » Haut-commissaire Gaston Barban.

Le haut-commissaire Barban a également remercié et salué le personnel et les familles pour avoir participé à cette initiative généreuse.