Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

southafrica.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada presents Nelson Mandela with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal


High Commissioner Adèle Dion and Mbuso Mandela
   

In commemoration of the sixtieth anniversary of Her Majesty’s Accession to the Throne, Her Excellency Adèle Dion, High Commissioner of Canada in South Africa, had the great honour of presenting the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to Mr. Mbuso Mandela, who accepted the medal on behalf of his grandfather, former President of South Africa, the Right Honourable Nelson Mandela. 

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is a new commemorative medal created to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. It is a tangible way to honour Her Majesty for her service to Canada. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. Mr. Mandela is bestowed this honour as he was appointed honorary Companion of the Order of Canada in 1998.


Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal
   

Universal symbol of the triumph over oppression, Mr. Mandela is a source of inspiration for his peaceful struggle against intolerance and injustice. A dominant figure in the transition from Apartheid to a democratic South Africa, he is recognized as one of the greatest statesmen and humanitarians of the century, universally acknowledged for his dignity, his moral strength and his integrity. The struggle he has led all his life in favour of freedom, justice and equality as well as his advocacy for nonviolence and passive resistance guarantees his presence in the chronicles of history.

Ms. Dion remarked that the values encompassed by Mr. Mandela – reconciliation, forgiveness, compassion - are all values to which Canadians aspire. “Although no title or medal will ever be an important enough recognition of the incredible lessons of wisdom that Madiba has taught Canadians and the world, I am still incredibly honoured to present this medal that Canada has bestowed on him in honour of Her Majesty’s Jubilee. Mr. Mandela is admired by all and Canada is especially proud to count him as one of our honorary citizens,” she said.

The obverse of the medal depicts a crowned image of the Sovereign, in whose name the medal is bestowed. The reverse marks the sixtieth, or diamond, anniversary of the accession to the Throne of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The anniversary is expressed by the central diamond shape, by the background composed of a pattern of diamonds, and by the two dates. The Royal Cypher consists of the Royal Crown above the letters EIIR (i.e., Elizabeth II Regina, the latter word meaning Queen in Latin). The maple leaves refer to Canada, while the motto VIVAT REGINA means “Long live The Queen!”

The ribbon uses a new arrangement of the blue, red and white colours found in the 1953 Coronation Medal, the 1977 Silver Jubilee Medal, and the 2002 Golden Jubilee Medal.

The presentation was held at Canada’s Official Residence in Pretoria.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-23

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

afriquedusud.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada décerne la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II à Nelson Mandela


Haut-commissaire Adèle Dion et Mbuso Mandela
   

Pour commémorer le 60e anniversaire de l’accession au trône de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, Son Excellence Adèle Dion, haut-commissaire du Canada en Afrique du Sud, a eu l’honneur de remettre la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II à M. Mbuso Mandela qui l’a acceptée au nom de son grand-père, le très honorable Nelson Mandela, ancien président de l’Afrique du Sud.

La Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II est une nouvelle médaille commémorative créée pour souligner le 60e anniversaire de l’accession au trône de Sa Majesté en tant que Reine du Canada. Elle représente un moyen tangible de rendre hommage à Sa Majesté pour son dévouement à l’égard du Canada. Cette distinction permettra par ailleurs d’honorer les contributions et les réalisations importantes de Canadiens et de Canadiennes. M. Mandela est ainsi honoré après avoir été nommé Compagnon de l’ordre du Canada en 1998.


Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II
   

Symbole universel de la victoire sur l’oppression, M. Mandela est une source d’inspiration pour son combat pacifique contre l’intolérance et l’injustice. Figure dominante de la transition du régime de l’apartheid à l’Afrique du Sud démocratique d’aujourd’hui, cet homme est reconnu comme l’un des plus grands chefs d’État et humanistes de notre époque, mondialement apprécié pour sa dignité, son intégrité et sa force morale. La lutte qu’il a menée au cours de sa vie pour la liberté, la justice et l’égalité ainsi que la promotion qu’il a faite de la non-violence et de la résistance passive lui assurent une présence indéniable dans les chroniques de l’Histoire.

Mme Dion a rappelé que les values prônées par M. Mandela – réconciliation, pardon, compassion – sont des valeurs auxquelles les Canadiens aspirent. « Même si aucune distinction ni aucun titre ne pourront jamais reconnaître à leur juste valeur les formidables leçons de sagesse que Madiba a transmises aux Canadiens et au reste du monde, je suis honorée de lui remettre cette médaille décernée par le Canada à l’occasion du jubilé de diamant de Sa Majesté. M. Mandela est admiré de tous, et le Canada est particulièrement fier de le compter parmi ses citoyens honoraires », a-t-elle déclaré.

L’avers de la médaille présente le profil de la souveraine au nom de laquelle elle est décernée, alors que le revers souligne le soixantième anniversaire de l’accession au trône de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, son jubilé de diamant. Cet anniversaire est illustré par la forme du losange central, par le fond marqué d’une série de diamants et par les deux dates. Le monogramme royal est composé de la couronne royale qui surmonte l’inscription EIIR (Elizabeth II Regina, soit « reine » en latin). Les feuilles d’érable évoquent le Canada, tandis que la devise « VIVAT REGINA » signifie « Longue vie à la Reine! ».

Le ruban reprend de façon différente l’agencement des couleurs bleu, rouge et blanc qui figurent sur le ruban de la Médaille du couronnement de 1953, de la Médaille du jubilé d’argent de 1977 et de la Médaille du jubilé d’or de 2002.

La remise de la distinction a eu lieu à la résidence officielle du Canada à Pretoria.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-23