“Anchor of My Heart”: Charting the course to end violence in South Africa


Eight South African filmmakers collaborate in the production of Anchor of My Heart .
   

The production team answers questions from the audience at the film’s premiere.
   

The “Global Girls” from Global Girl Media discuss the filmmaking process.
   

Question and answer session opens dialogue about gender-based violence.
   

Gender-based violence (GBV) is sadly a reality in the lives of a startling number of South African women.  Whether physical, sexual, economic or psychological, GBV is a violation of human rights that has lasting consequences for women and their communities.

Social norms, such as the widespread belief that rape is not a crime, are at the root of the problem of GBV in South Africa. Changing these norms to end violence against women requires support from both women and men in South Africa.

To help broaden the dialogue on GBV, the High Commission of Canada to South Africa partnered with Global Girl Media to produce the film, Anchor of My Heart. Creating a film that would aid discussions with youth – especially boys – on gender roles, respect for women, and to challenge the social norms that put the safety of women and girls at risk was the goal of the partnership.

“Reel” stories from South Africa

The short film profiles inspiring female and male South African community leaders who are helping to improve the lives of women by working towards ending GBV.

Eight young South African women, each aspiring to enter the filmmaking industry, produced the film. This project offered the girls an opportunity to develop their filmmaking skills, from concept development to scripting and editing. It also helped to broaden their awareness on issues related to GBV and to experience the impact that a positive male role model can have in women’s lives firsthand.

This small film with a big heart has had a great impact on these young girls,” said Isabelle Rorke, the film’s production manager.

Before shooting the film, the eight girls were asked whether they had any male role models in their lives. Not one girl had known a male who had made a positive influence in her life. Filming Anchor of My Heart was both emotional and transformative for the girls because it introduced them to men in their communities who are making a difference as advocates against GBV.

Premiere of the film

To commemorate South African Human Rights Day and International Women’s Day, the High Commission of Canada hosted the premiere of Anchor of My Heart at the Market Theatre Laboratory in Johannesburg.

In his opening remarks, Bradley Bélanger, Canadian Chargé d’Affaires, highlighted the importance of local projects such as this film, which has helped empower young women and raise local awareness about GBV.

A question and answer session followed the film, which provided the audience an opportunity to engage with the filmmakers on a variety of topics, ranging from their own experiences with GBV and the filmmaking process.

The High Commission will feature the film in its future outreach activities with youth and the community to open dialogue about ending GBV in South Africa.

Canada is proud to support initiatives, such as Anchor of My Heart, that are helping to empower women and girls around the world. Ending gender-based violence is essential for a more stable and prosperous world.

« Anchor of My Heart » : Tracer la voie pour mettre fin à la violence en Afrique du Sud


Huit cinéastes sud-africaines ont collaboré à la production d’Anchor of My Heart.
   

L’équipe de production répond aux questions posées par le public à l’occasion de la première du film.
   

Les « Global Girls » de Global Girl Media discutent du processus cinématographique.
   

Séance de questions et de réponses pour amorcer le dialogue sur la violence fondée sur le sexe.
   

La violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS) est une triste réalité dans l’existence d’un nombre surprenant de femmes sud-africaines. Qu’elle soit de nature physique, sexuelle, psychologique ou économique, la VFS est une violation des droits de la personne qui a des répercussions durables sur les femmes et leurs communautés.

En Afrique du Sud, la croyance largement répandue que le viol n’est pas un crime fait partie des normes sociales qui sont à l’origine du problème. Pour changer la donne et mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes, la participation des hommes et des femmes d’Afrique du Sud est essentielle.

En vue d’élargir le dialogue sur la VFS, le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud s’est associé à Global Girl Media pour produire le film Anchor of My Heart. Ce partenariat visait à créer un film qui susciterait la discussion avec les jeunes, plus précisément les garçons, sur les rôles liés au sexe et le respect des femmes et remettrait en question les normes sociales qui mettent en danger les femmes et les filles.

Histoires « sur bobine » d’Afrique du Sud

Le court métrage trace le portrait de dirigeants et de dirigeantes de la communauté sud-africaine qui sont une source d’inspiration et contribuent à l’amélioration de la vie des femmes en s’employant à mettre un terme à la VFS.

Huit jeunes femmes sud-africaines désirant faire carrière dans l’industrie cinématographique ont produit le film. Ce projet leur a fourni l’occasion de consolider leurs compétences de cinéaste, en travaillant sur l’élaboration du scénario, la scénarisation et le montage. L’initiative a également contribué à les sensibiliser davantage aux questions de VFS et à constater directement l’impact que peut avoir sur la vie des femmes un modèle masculin positif.

« Ce petit film au grand cœur a eu beaucoup d’impact sur ces jeunes femmes », a indiqué Isabelle Rorke, directrice de production du film.

Avant le tournage, on a demandé aux huit jeunes femmes si elles avaient un quelconque modèle masculin dans leur existence. Pas une n’a indiqué connaître un homme qui avait influencé de façon positive son vécu. Pour les filles, le tournage d’Anchor of My Heart fut à la fois une expérience transformatrice et chargée d’émotions; en effet, elles ont rencontré des hommes de leurs communautés qui agissent concrètement en luttant contre la VFS.

Première du film

Pour célébrer la Journée sud-africaine des droits de l’homme et la Journée internationale de la femme, le Haut-commissariat du Canada a projeté la première d'Anchor of My Heart au Market Theatre Laboratory, à Johannesburg.

Dans son discours d’ouverture, le chargé d’affaires canadien, Bradley Bélanger, a souligné l’importance de projets locaux comme ce film, qui a contribué à renforcer l’autonomie de jeunes femmes et à sensibiliser la population locale au problème de la VFS.

Le film a été suivi d’une séance de questions et de réponses durant laquelle le public s’est entretenu avec les cinéastes sur divers sujets, portant entre autres sur leurs propres expériences avec la VFS et le processus cinématographique.

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada présentera le film lors des prochaines activités de mobilisation des jeunes et des membres de la communauté afin de susciter la discussion visant à mettre un terme à la VFS en Afrique du Sud.

Le Canada est fier de soutenir des initiatives de ce type qui jouent un rôle pour renforcer l’autonomie des femmes et des filles dans le monde entier. Pour vivre dans un monde plus stable et plus prospère, il est de notre devoir de mettre fin à la violence fondée sur le sexe.