"Children of War: Broken Childhood" Exhibition

Visitors explore the exhibition and see the many faces of children in conflict.
The “Children of War: Broken Childhood” exhibition features images of child soldiers and children victims of war from around the world.
 
 
Canadian Chargé d’Affaires, Bradley Bélanger, thanks “John” for his testimony about the realities of children in war. Canadian Chargé d’Affaires, Bradley Bélanger, thanks “John” for his testimony about the realities of children in war.
 
 
Delegates of SAIIA Young Leaders Conference visit the exhibition at Constitution Hill.
 
 
Louise Holt, Director at the High Commission of Canada, delivers opening remarks at the Child Gauge workshop. Louise Holt, Director at the High Commission of Canada, delivers opening remarks at the Child Gauge workshop.
 
 
Participants of the Child Gauge workshop discuss how to improve the child protection system in South Africa.
 
 

When children are involved in the violence and brutality of war their rights, their childhoods, and their futures are violated. Yet, the lives of millions of children around the world are threatened every day as they are subjected to the trauma of armed conflicts.

In an effort to stop this harmful phenomenon, the High Commission of Canada to South Africa, in partnership with Constitution Hill and the United Nations Information Centre, hosted the photo exhibition “Children of War: Broken Childhood.”

The exhibition draws attention to the stark reality that an estimated 300,000 children worldwide are involved in armed conflict and provides a glimpse into the lives of children victims of war. By shedding light on these practices, the exhibition promotes awareness about the prevention of child soldier recruitment, and the need for the rehabilitation of children that have been exposed to hostilities.

The life of a child soldier

The exhibition features photos taken by renowned photographers depicting the lives of child soldiers from around the world. The collection was curated by Leora Kahn of the non-governmental organization, Proof: Media for Social Justice, and with support from the Office of Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict.

The High Commission together with Constitution Hill and the UN Information Centre hosted an opening reception at Constitution Hill in Johannesburg, South Africa to launch the exhibition. The launch coincided with Universal Children’s Day and the 25th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

Marivic Garcia, Senior Psychosocial Trauma Professional for the Centre for Study of Violence and Reconciliation was the keynote speaker for the launch. She spoke about the trauma experienced by children in conflict, most of whom have lost their families or were unwillingly recruited to join armed groups.

Followed by Ms. Garcia’s address, former child soldier “John” (name changed to protect his identity) shared his moving testimony about his life as a child in conflict. His chilling story brought to life the real perspective of the images on the walls of the exhibit. He recounted his experience as a child soldier, from being abducted at the age of 12 by a rebel group in the Democratic Republic of Congo, to his arrival in South Africa as an asylum seeker. His recollection of killing a man at the age of 14 was the most poignant and struck an emotional chord with the audience.

Children’s rights workshops

Canada has long been recognized as a leading advocate on children and armed conflict. To raise awareness about the broader subject of children’s rights, the High Commission of Canada also organized two workshops on the rights of children and youth.

The first workshop was attended by the participants of the South African Institute for International Affairs’ (SAIIA) annual Young Leaders Conference. The young leaders of the conference – fifty-five secondary school students from across South Africa – as well as twenty volunteers and organizers from SAIIA joined a guided tour of the Children of War exhibition. Following the tour, participants engaged in a Q&A session with former child soldier “John.”

The workshop with SAIIA brought together an inspiring group of future leaders. Raising their awareness of the issues faced by child soldiers has helped equipped them as agents of change for the future.

In addition to the SAIIA workshop, the High Commission collaborated with the Synergos Institute to host a second workshop that served to unpack the 2014 Child Gauge report, an annual publication of the Children’s Institute at the University of Cape Town.

The 2014 report focused on the high prevalence of violence against South Africa’s children and youth. The workshop provided a platform for the thirty-five participants from civil society organizations to engage in an interactive conversation about how South Africa’s child protection system can be strengthened to address this situation.

The two workshops and the Children of War exhibition are part of Canada’s commitment towards ending the use of girls and boys in hostilities. In pursuit of this goal, Canada will continue to work with its South African partners and with international organizations to ensure that children affected by armed conflict around the world are protected.

Exposition « Enfants de la guerre, enfance brisée »

Des visiteurs explorent l’exposition et voient les nombreux visages d’enfants dans des situations de conflit.
L’exposition « Enfants de la guerre, enfance brisée » présente des images d’enfants-soldats et d’enfants victimes de la guerre de partout dans le monde.
 
 
Le chargé d’affaires canadien, Bradley Bélanger, remercie « John » pour avoir livré son témoignage sur les réalités des enfants de la guerre. De jeunes filles apprennent l’importance de l’éducation.
 
 
Des délégués de la Conférence des jeunes leaders du SAIIA visitent l’exposition à la Constitution Hill.
 
 
Louise Holt, directrice du Haut-commissariat du Canada, prononce le discours d’ouverture à l’atelier Child Gauge. Des jeunes filles apprennent l’importance de l’éducation.
 
 
Les participants de l’atelier Child Gauge discutent de la façon d’améliorer le système de protection des enfants de l’Afrique du Sud.
 
 

Lorsque des enfants sont impliqués dans les actes de violence et de brutalité qui sont commis durant la guerre, on les prive de leurs droits, de leur enfance et de leur avenir. Pourtant, la vie de millions d’enfants dans le monde est menacée chaque jour, alors que ces derniers sont exposés aux traumatismes associés aux conflits armés.  

En vue de mettre fin à ce phénomène pernicieux, le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud, en partenariat avec Constitution Hill et le Centre d’information des Nations Unies, a organisé une exposition photographique intitulée « Enfants de la guerre, enfance brisée ».

L’exposition attire l’attention sur la dure réalité selon laquelle environ 300 000 enfants dans le monde participent à un conflit armé, tout en donnant un aperçu de la vie des enfants victimes de la guerre. En mettant en lumière ces pratiques, l’exposition favorise la sensibilisation à la prévention du recrutement des enfants-soldats et à la nécessité de réhabiliter les enfants qui ont été exposés à des hostilités.

La vie d’un enfant-soldat

L’exposition présente des photographies captées par des photographes réputés illustrant la vie d’enfants-soldats partout dans le monde. La sélection des photos a été organisée par Mme Leora Kahn de l’organisation non gouvernementale Proof: Media for Social Justice, avec l’appui du Bureau du Représentant Spécial du Secrétaire Général pour les enfants et les conflits armés.

Le haut-commissariat, de concert avec la Constitution Hill et le Centre d’information des Nations Unies, a organisé une réception inaugurale à la Constitution Hill, à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud, afin de lancer l’exposition. Le lancement coïncidait avec la Journée mondiale de l’enfance et le 25e anniversaire de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant.  

Marivic Garcia, professionnelle de haut niveau des traumatismes psychosociaux du Centre for Study of Violence and Reconciliation, était la conférencière d’honneur du lancement. Elle y a parlé du traumatisme vécu par les enfants victimes d’un conflit, qui, pour la plupart, ont perdu leur famille ou ont été recrutés contre leur gré pour se joindre à des groupes armés.  

Suivant le discours de Mme Garcia, l’enfant-soldat « John » (dont le nom a été modifié pour protéger son identité) a partagé un témoignage émouvant sur sa vie en tant qu’enfant en situation de conflit. Son histoire effrayante a donné vie à la réalité des images accrochées aux murs de l’exposition. Il a raconté son expérience en tant qu’enfant-soldat, de son enlèvement à l’âge de 12 ans par un groupe rebelle en République démocratique du Congo à son arrivée en Afrique du Sud comme demandeur d’asile. Le souvenir qu’il a partagé d’avoir assassiné un homme à l’âge de 14 ans était le moment le plus poignant de son récit qui a ému le public.

Ateliers sur les droits des enfants

Le Canada est reconnu depuis longtemps comme un des principaux défenseurs des enfants dans les conflits armés. Afin de mobiliser l’attention sur le sujet de la question plus générale des droits des enfants, le Haut-commissariat du Canada a aussi organisé deux ateliers sur les droits des enfants et des jeunes.

Des participants de la Conférence annuelle des jeunes leaders de l’Institut sud-africain des affaires internationales (SAIIA) ont assisté au premier atelier. Les jeunes leaders de la conférence – cinquante-cinq élèves du secondaire venus de partout en Afrique du Sud –, de même que vingt bénévoles et organisateurs du SAIIA, ont pris part à une visite guidée de l’exposition « Enfants de la guerre ». Après la visite, les participants ont eu l’occasion de participer à une séance de questions et réponses avec l’ancien enfant-soldat « John ».

L’atelier avec le SAIIA a réuni un groupe inspirant de futurs dirigeants. Le fait de les sensibiliser aux enjeux auxquels sont confrontés les enfants-soldats a contribué à les outiller en tant qu’agents de changement de l’avenir.

En plus de l’atelier du SAIIA, le Haut-commissariat a collaboré avec l’Institut Synergos afin d’organiser un deuxième atelier qui a servi à éclaircir le rapport 2014 Child Gauge, une publication annuelle du Children’s Institute de la University of Cape Town.

Le rapport de 2014 était centré sur le nombre élevé de cas de violence à l’égard des enfants et des jeunes de l’Afrique du Sud.  L’atelier a fourni une plateforme qui a permis aux trente-cinq participants issus d’organisations de la société civile de mener une conversation interactive sur la façon dont le système de protection des enfants en Afrique du Sud peut être renforcé afin de remédier à cette situation.

Les deux ateliers et l’exposition « Enfants de la guerre » s’inscrivent dans le cadre de l’engagement du Canada à mettre fin à l’utilisation de jeunes filles et de jeunes garçons dans les hostilités. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Canada continuera de travailler avec ses partenaires sud-africains et des organisations internationales afin d’assurer la protection des enfants touchés par les conflits armés dans le monde.