Reaching for the Stars at SciFest Africa


Model satellites at the Canada in Space exhibition


High Commissioner Barban meets Mandla Maseko who, in 2015, is to become the first black African to travel to space.


High Commissioner Barban discusses Canada’s rich aerospace history.


Dr. Thomas Auf der Heyde, Deputy Director General of the Department of Science & Technology, looks in amazement at the RADARSAT image of Canada. (Credit: Jason Hudson).


High School students learn about the use of satellite mapping in defence applications.


High School students admire the beautiful exhibition photos.

SciFest Africa is an annual science festival that takes place in Grahamstown, South Africa. With over 500 lectures, exhibitions and interactive activities taking place over the course of a week, SciFest is the largest festival of its kind in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Canada participated in the festival for the first time this year, contributing an exhibition and a lecture, in addition to bringing scientists together to share knowledge.

Promoting youth development, higher education, and science and technology are among Canada’s top priorities in South Africa. SciFest was a great opportunity to help secure the option for children and youth to pursue a future career in Africa’s burgeoning science and technology fields.

50 years of Canadian space exploration

The art gallery in the festival’s main venue featured an exhibition celebrating Canada’s history in space. First displayed in Washington D.C. in 2012, the exhibition highlights Canadian capabilities in the space industry and, more broadly, in science and technology.

“From building railways and airplanes and from establishing telephone and radio networks, Canada’s need to overcome distance and geography has led it to build and be a leader from satellites to space stations.” – High Commissioner Gaston Barban

When it launched its first scientific satellite in September 1962, Canada became the first nation after the USSR and the USA to design and manufacture its own satellite. The launch marked Canada’s entry into the space age and since that time, Canada has excelled in the area of atmospheric sciences, communications, robotics, remote sensing and advanced technologies that support space exploration.

Today, Canada’s space industry employs about 8000 highly skilled men and women.

Second-generation Canadian space robotics technology has been critical to the building, maintenance and ongoing operations of the International Space Station (ISS). 75% of the ISS was built using the Canadarm2.

Looking into the near future, the RADARSAT Constellation Mission is a fleet of three sophisticated remote-sensing satellites that will monitor all of Canada’s land and ocean territories and 95% of the world’s surface.

Cassiope: the Super Storm Chaser

To complement the exhibition, Dr. Andrew Yau of the University of Calgary delivered a lecture on the hybrid satellite Cassiope, which is making a significant contribution to unraveling the mysteries of space weather.

But it was not only the attendees of SciFest who had the opportunity to learn about Cassiope from Dr. Yau. Canada also organized a lecture at the Mae Jemison Reading Room in Mamelodi township to a group of disadvantaged high school students from the area.

In addition, Dr. Yau connected with academics at the University of Pretoria who work with the South African National Space Agency and who were interested in tapping into his expertise on a specialized radiation sensor they are developing for a small satellite.

Canada’s presence at SciFest was a great opportunity for Dr. Yau to make new connections and renew existing scientific contacts which could lead to fascinating inter-university collaborations in the future.

Dawn of the Afronaut

At the exhibition’s opening, High Commissioner Gaston Barban discussed the rich elements of Canada’s aerospace history, and drew attention to commonalities between South Africa and Canada with regards to our relationship with space travel.

“Events like these, where you can showcase such truly impressive projects like the Square Kilometre Array, nano satellites and the Southern African Large Telescope, to name a few, serve to correct misconceptions and turn the world’s eyes to Africa and to South Africa to see what is being accomplished and what will be achieved by African scientists and technologists in this decade.” – High Commissioner Gaston Barban

High Commissioner Barban also had the opportunity to meet Mandla Maseko, a former civil engineering student and self-styled “afronaut” who is set to become the first black South African to go into space.

Maseko won a seat on a 2015 space flight after completing aptitude tests in a contest organised by AXE Apollo Space Academy, Unilever and Space Expedition Corporation.

Maseko’s story signals the beginning of an exciting time in space exploration. Canada’s new Space Policy Framework launches the next chapter of Canada’s history in space, in which we will continue with our commitment to the International Space Station, to working with other countries on major space projects, and to the advancement of knowledge for generations to come.

Vers de nouveaux sommets à SciFest Afrique


Des maquettes de satellites à l’exposition Le Canada dans l’espace


Le haut-commissaire Barban rencontre Mandla Maseko qui, en 2015, deviendra le premier Africain noir à voyager dans l’espace.


Le haut-commissaire parle de la riche histoire de l’aérospatiale au Canada.


Le Pr Thomas Auf der Heyde, sous-directeur général du Département des sciences et de la technologie, regarde avec stupéfaction une image du Canada fournie par RADARSAT. (Photo de Jason Hudson).


Des élèves du secondaire découvrent les applications de la cartographie par satellite dans le domaine de la défense.


Des élèves du secondaire admirent les superbes photos de l’exposition.

SciFest Afrique est un festival annuel des sciences qui se déroule pendant une semaine à Grahamstown, en Afrique du Sud. Théâtre de plus de 500 exposés et conférences, expositions et activités interactives, c’est le plus gros festival de ce genre en Afrique subsaharienne.  

Le Canada y a participé pour la première fois cette année, en présentant une exposition et une conférence, et en faisant profiter de ses connaissances les scientifiques participants. 

Promouvoir l’épanouissement des jeunes, les études supérieures, la science et la technologie figure parmi les principales priorités du Canada en Afrique du Sud. Le SciFest était une occasion formidable pour susciter l’espoir chez les enfants et les jeunes de faire carrière un jour dans les domaines florissants des sciences et de la technologie en Afrique.

50 ans d’exploration spatiale au Canada

La galerie d’art sur le site principal du festival offrait aux visiteurs une exposition sur l’aventure spatiale canadienne. Présentée pour la première fois à Washington (D.C.) en 2012, l’exposition met en relief le génie canadien dans l’industrie spatiale, et de façon plus générale, dans les sciences et la technologie.

« Que ce soit pour construire des chemins de fer ou des aéronefs ou pour monter des réseaux téléphoniques ou radiophoniques, le Canada a toujours eu à gérer les problèmes de distance et de géographie, et c’est ce qui a fait de lui un bâtisseur et un chef de file dans le domaine des satellites et des stations spatiales » – Le haut-commissaire Gaston Barban.

Quand il a lancé son tout premier satellite scientifique en septembre 1962, le Canada est devenu la première nation, après l’URSS et les États-Unis, à concevoir et à construire son propre satellite. Cet événement marquait l’entrée du Canada dans l’ère spatiale et notre pays a toujours excellé depuis dans les sciences atmosphériques, les communications, la robotique, la télédétection et les technologies de pointe au service de l’exploration spatiale.

L’industrie spatiale canadienne emploie aujourd’hui quelque 8 000 travailleurs hautement spécialisés.

La technologie canadienne de seconde génération en matière de robotique spatiale a joué un rôle essentiel dans la construction, la maintenance et le fonctionnement de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI), assemblée aux trois quarts à l’aide du Canadarm2.

Dans un avenir rapproché, la mission Constellation RADARSAT, une flotte de trois satellites de télédétection ultrasophistiqués, surveillera tout le territoire canadien et 95 % de la surface de la Terre, océans et terres émergées compris.

Cassiope : le super chasseur de tempêtes

En guise de complément à l’exposition, le Pr Andrew Yau de l’Université de Calgary a prononcé une conférence sur Cassiope, un satellite hybride qui contribue largement aux efforts visant à percer les mystères de la météo spatiale.

Mais les personnes présentes au SciFest n’ont pas eu l’exclusivité des propos du Pr Yau sur Cassiope. Le Canada a aussi organisé une conférence dans la salle de lecture Mae-Jemison du townsip de Mamelodi, au profit d’un groupe d’élèves du secondaire de ce milieu défavorisé.

Le Pr Yau s’est aussi entretenu avec des théoriciens de l’Université de Pretoria qui travaillent avec l’Agence spatiale nationale de l’Afrique du Sud et qui voulaient profiter de son savoir-faire pour mettre au point un capteur de rayonnement destiné à équiper un petit satellite.

La présence du Canada à SciFest s’est avérée, pour le Pr Yau, une occasion en or de tisser de nouveaux liens et de renouer les liens existants avec la communauté scientifique dans l’espoir de profiter un jour de riches collaborations entre universités.     

L’avènement de l’afronaute

À l’ouverture de l’exposition, le haut-commissaire Barban a rappelé quelques pans intéressants de l’histoire de l’aérospatiale au Canada et fait état de points communs avec l’Afrique du Sud quant à notre place dans l’aventure spatiale.  

« Des événements comme celui-ci, où des projets vraiment impressionnants tels le Réseau kilométrique carré, les nanosatellites et le radiotélescope géant d’Afrique du Sud, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, sont mis en valeur, aident à corriger les fausses croyances et à révéler au monde entier les réalisations passées des scientifiques et technologues africains et sud-africains, ainsi que leurs projets et objectifs au cours de la présente décennie. » – Le haut-commissaire Gaston Barban

M. Barban a aussi eu le plaisir de rencontrer Mandla Maseko, cet ancien étudiant en génie civil s’étant lui-même affublé du sobriquet d’« afronaute », qui s’apprête à devenir le premier Africain noir à voyager dans l’espace.

Maseko s’est mérité une place à bord d’une navette qui s’envolera dans l’espace en 2015, après avoir réussi tous les tests d’aptitudes dans le cadre d’un concours organisé par l’Académie de l’espace AXE Apollo, la société Unilever et la Space Expedition Corporation.

L’expérience que vivra Maseko marque le début d’une période captivante de l’histoire de l’exploration spatiale. Le nouveau Cadre de la politique spatiale du Canada ouvre le prochain chapitre de l’aventure spatiale canadienne, où nous continuerons de contribuer à la Station spatiale internationale, en plus de participer avec d’autres pays à des projets spatiaux d’envergure et à l’enrichissement des connaissances au profit des générations à venir.