High Commissioner Sandra McCardell Congratulates former Prime Minister Brian Mulroney

On behalf of the High Commission of Canada, I would like to congratulate the Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, former Prime Minister of Canada, on receiving the "Order of the Companions of O.R. Tambo in Gold", the highest honour possible for a non-South African, for his exceptional contribution to the liberation movement against apartheid and his steadfast support for the release of Nelson Mandela.

This prestigious award recognizes the contribution of foreign leaders and citizens to the advancement of democracy in South Africa and to the improvement of the lives of its citizens.

Under the leadership of then-Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Canada led an international campaign in the Commonwealth, the Group of 7 (G7) and La Francophonie to put in place sanctions against the apartheid regime.

As Canadians, we are proud of the role of our country played in bringing an end to apartheid.  Only four months after his release, Nelson Mandela travelled to Ottawa, Montreal and Toronto as a gesture of thanks for our contribution.  In 1998, Mr. Mandela became the first foreign leader awarded the Order of Canada and in 2001 he became the first living person to be awarded honorary Canadian citizenship

Félicitations de la part de la Haut Commissaire Sandra McCardell à l’ancien PM Mulroney

Au nom du Haut-Commissariat du Canada, je tiens à féliciter le très honorable Brian Mulroney, ancien premier ministre du Canada, qui a reçu l' "Ordre des compagnons d'OR Tambo en or", la plus haute distinction pour un non-sud africain, pour sa contribution exceptionnelle au mouvement de libération contre l'apartheid et son soutien indéfectible pour la libération de Nelson Mandela.

Cette récompense prestigieuse honore la contribution des dirigeants étrangers et des citoyens à l'avancement de la démocratie en Afrique du Sud et à l'amélioration de la vie de ses citoyens.

Sous le leadership de Brian Mulroney, le premier ministre à l'époque, le Canada a mené une campagne internationale dans le Commonwealth, le Groupe des sept (G7) et La Francophonie pour mettre en place des sanctions contre le régime de l'apartheid.

En tant que Canadiens, nous sommes fiers du rôle que notre pays a joué pour mettre un terme à l'apartheid. Seulement quatre mois après sa libération, Nelson Mandela s'est rendu à Ottawa, Montréal et Toronto en geste de remerciement pour notre contribution. En 1998, M. Mandela a été le premier dirigeant étranger ayant reçu l'Ordre du Canada et, en 2001, il a été la première personne en vie à avoir reçu la citoyenneté canadienne à titre honorifique.