High Commissioner Sandra McCardell

Message from the High Commissioner

Welcome to the website of the Canadian High Commission in South Africa!  Our team is based in Pretoria, with a Trade Office in Johannesburg, but we are  accredited to a broader region, including the mountain kingdom of Lesotho, the Indian Ocean financial hub of Mauritius, Namibia with two deserts and mineral wealth, and Madagascar known for its unique ecological diversity.  With all these countries, Canada shares historic ties through the Commonwealth and La Francophonie. 

Well-known as a base for the broader region, South Africa is a diverse, cosmopolitan country with business opportunities in many sectors, including mining, agriculture and agri-food, transportation, ICT, and engineering and consulting services.  As a sign of our confidence in the country and the continent, Export Development Canada (EDC) has joined our Johannesburg office to connect more Canadian businesses with the growing supply chains of intra-African trade.   

Through our development programme, Canada supports South Africa’s efforts to improve the functioning of its public service, to strengthen civil society, and to build the capacity of the government to respond more effectively to its citizens’ needs.  We also work with Canadian universities and companies to promote partnerships in education and research and innovation. 

For Canadians travelling to or resident in any of our countries of accreditation, the High Commission in Pretoria provides consular and passport services -- take a look at our web page to consult travel reports or to register so we can reach you in case of emergency.  We also have great information for those who want to learn more about Canada, or who are interested in immigrating or travelling for study or work.

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

 

Warm regards,

Sandra McCardell 
High Commissioner

High Commissioner Sandra McCardell

Haut-commissaire Sandra McCardell

Message de la Haut-commissaire

Bienvenue sur le site du Haut-Commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud ! Notre équipe est basée à Pretoria  avec un bureau commercial à Johannesburg, Toutefois, nous sommes accrédités auprès d'une région plus étendue, comprenant le royaume montagneux du Lesotho,  Maurice, pôle financier de l'océan Indien, la Namibie avec ses deux déserts et sa  richesse minérale, et Madagascar connue pour sa diversité écologique unique. Avec tous ces pays, le Canada partage des liens historiques par le biais du Commonwealth et de la Francophonie.

Connue comme base pour une vaste région, l'Afrique du Sud est un pays varié et cosmopolite avec des opportunités commerciales dans de nombreux de secteurs, y compris l'exploitation minière, l'agriculture et l'agroalimentaire, le transport, les TIC et l'ingénierie ainsi que les services de conseil. Comme signe de notre confiance dans le pays et dans le continent, Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) s’est joint à notre bureau de Johannesburg pour connecter un plus grand nombre d'entreprises canadiennes au réseau croissant de chaînes d'approvisionnement au sein du commerce intra-africain.

Par l’entremise de notre programme de développement, le Canada appuie les efforts de l'Afrique du Sud pour améliorer le fonctionnement de son service public, renforcer la société civile, et renforcer la capacité du gouvernement à répondre plus efficacement aux besoins de ses citoyens. Nous collaborons également avec les universités et les entreprises canadiennes  pour promouvoir des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de recherche ainsi que d'innovation.

Pour les Canadiens qui voyagent ou qui résident dans nos pays d'accréditation, le Haut-Commissariat à Pretoria offre des services consulaires et de passeport. Jetez un coup d’oeil sur notre page Web pour consulter les rapports de voyage ou pour vous inscrire afin que nous puissions vous joindre en cas d'urgence. Nous avons aussi beaucoup d'informations pour ceux qui souhaiteraient en savoir davantage sur le Canada, ou pour ceux  qui désireraient immigrer ou voyager pour étudier ou travailler au Canada.

N'oubliez pas de nous suivre sur Twitter et Facebook!

 

Meilleures salutations,

Sandra McCardell
Haut-commissaire

Haut-commissaire Sandra McCardell