Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Spain.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office

Message from the Ambassador


Matthew Levin

   

 

Welcome to our Website!

It is an honour for me to be ambassador of Canada to Spain and Andorra. From our embassy in Madrid and our consulates in Barcelona and Malaga we work to promote Canada’s values and interests in Spain, Andorra and the world, and to strengthen the relationship between our countries.

2017 marks a very important milestone in Canada’s history: the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the Canadian Confederation ... We are a young country! On July 1, 1867, four provinces came together to give birth to the Dominion of Canada, which has since grown to become the Canada we know today.

Forged throughout history, the relationship between Spain and Canada is excellent. It dates back to the 16th century, when Basque fishermen hunted for whales on the shores of eastern Canada. They created what can be considered as the first foreign commercial operation on Canadian soil. In the 18th century, the numerous Spanish scientific expeditions undertaken on Canada’s west coast contributed to our history and helped us to better understand the life of Canada’s Indigenous people, the First Nations. These explorers left their mark in numerous places in Canada, such as Quadra Island, the city of Port Alberni and the Strait of Malaspina.

Today, Spanish companies bring their world-renowned skills and creativity to the Canadian economy in sectors such as agri-food, infrastructure and renewable energies, among others. They contribute to the economic development of the country and to the well-being of its citizens, as do Canadian companies in Spain. The exchanges between our citizens and especially among our young people have multiplied over the past few years. The resulting personal relationships will allow them to build bridges between our two countries.

Canada, Spain and Andorra share important values such as diversity and inclusion, which strengthen and enrich our societies. Canada and Andorra also belong to the great international community of the Francophonie, a fundamental pillar of our identity and our culture. Our countries are committed to the defence of human rights, the building of peace, democracy and international security. We share the same interest in working towards sustainable economic development and in combating climate change.

In 2016, Canada and the European Union signed a free trade agreement that will, once in force, create jobs and prosperity for the benefit of all. This progressive and inclusive agreement will allow us to increase labour mobility for our citizens, help small and medium-sized companies increase exports and overseas investments, and promote the values shared by Spaniards, Europeans and Canadians.

We invite you to visit our website. You will find detailed information about visiting, and studying in, Canada, business and investment opportunities as well as information of interest to Canadians visiting or residing in Spain.

Do not hesitate to contact us with any comments about our website or any other suggestions you may have.

Matthew Levin
Ambassador

 


Biography

Matthew Levin is Ambassador of Canada to the Kingdom of Spain and the Principality of Andorra since September 2016.

His previous assignment was that of Director General of the Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs at Global Affairs Canada. Through this Bureau and through Canada's mission network overseas, Mr. Levin was responsible for promoting bilateral and commercial relations with fifty-five countries and for managing institutional relations with the European Union.

Since he joined Global Affairs Canada in 1986, Mr. Levin has served abroad in Central America, Washington, and Moscow. He was Canadian Ambassador to Colombia from 2005 to 2008, and Ambassador to Cuba from 2010 to 2013.

Mr. Levin’s headquarters assignments include two years as Chief of Staff to the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs. He was also Director of Operations at the Foreign & Defence Policy Secretariat of the Privy Council Office (the Prime Minister’s foreign and defence policy department).

Prior to joining Global Affairs Canada, Mr. Levin taught English literature at the State University of Milan and worked for Amnesty International in Canada.

Matthiew Levin was born in Winnipeg. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Manitoba, Canada, and a Master’s degree in International Economics from the Monterey Institute of International Studies, in Monterey, California. He is married to Rosalba Imbrogno Levin. They have three adult children.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-03-13

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Espagne.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux

Message de l’ambassadeur


Matthew Levin

   

Bienvenue sur notre site Web!

C’est un honneur pour moi d’être ambassadeur du Canada en Espagne et en Andorre. Notre équipe à l’Ambassade de Madrid et à nos Consulats de Barcelone et de Malaga travaille à promouvoir les intérêts et les valeurs du Canada en Espagne, en Andorre et dans le monde, ainsi qu’à renforcer les relations entre nos pays.

L’année 2017 marque un moment clé de l’histoire du Canada : nous fêtons le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne… notre pays est bien jeune! Le 1er juillet 1867, quatre provinces ont réalisé leur union, donnant naissance au Dominion du Canada, qui allait plus tard s’agrandir jusqu’à devenir le Canada actuel.

Construite sur des années d’histoire, la relation entre l’Espagne et le Canada est excellente. Elle remonte au XVI siècle, alors que les pêcheurs basques chassaient la baleine au large de la côte est du Canada. Ceux-ci ont alors créé une des premières exploitations commerciales du pays. Au XVIIIe siècle, les nombreuses expéditions scientifiques espagnoles sur la côte ouest du Canada contribuèrent également à forger notre histoire en nous permettant de mieux comprendre la vie des Premières Nations à cette époque. Ces explorateurs laissèrent leur marque à travers les innombrables lieux qui aujourd’hui portent encore leur nom, tel que l’île Galiano, l’île Quadra, la ville de Port Alberni ou le détroit de Malaspina.

Aujourd’hui, les entreprises espagnoles contribuent, avec leurs techniques de pointe et leur créativité, à la richesse de l’économie canadienne dans des secteurs tels que l’agroalimentaire, les énergies renouvelables et les infrastructures. Elles participent au développement économique du pays, comme le font les entreprises canadiennes en Espagne. C’est également grâce aux échanges entre les citoyens de nos deux pays et, tout spécialement, entre les jeunes, que nous pouvons construire des liens encore plus forts entre le Canada et l’Espagne.

Le Canada, l’Espagne et l’Andorre partagent les valeurs essentielles de diversité et d’inclusion, sources de richesse pour nos sociétés. Le Canada et l’Andorre appartiennent d’autre part à la grande communauté internationale de la francophonie, un élément fondamental de notre identité et notre culture. Nos pays sont engagés dans la défense des droits de l’homme, la construction de la paix, la démocratie et la sécurité internationale. Le développement économique durable et la lutte contre les changements climatiques font également partie de nos priorités communes. L’accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Union européenne permettra sans aucun doute d’approfondir nos relations et favorisera la création d’emplois et la prospérité au profit de tous.

Nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web. Vous trouverez des informations détaillées sur les études au Canada, les opportunités commerciales et les possibilités d’investissement, ainsi que d’autres données d’intérêt pour les Canadiens qui habitent en Espagne ou visitent le pays.

Matthew Levin
Ambassadeur

 


Biographie 

Matthew Levin est ambassadeur du Canada auprès du Royaume d'Espagne et de la Principauté d'Andorre depuis septembre 2016.

Il était auparavant directeur général de la Direction générale des affaires européennes et eurasiennes au ministère des Affaires mondiales. Au sein de la Direction générale comme dans l’ensemble du réseau des missions canadiennes à l’étranger, M. Levin était responsable de promouvoir les relations commerciales et bilatérales avec cinquante-cinq pays et de gérer les relations institutionnelles avec l’Union européenne.

Depuis son entrée au ministère des Affaires mondiales en 1986, M. Levin a travaillé en Amérique centrale, à Washington et à Moscou. Il a été ambassadeur en Colombie de 2005 à 2008 et ambassadeur à Cuba de 2010 à 2013.

À l’Administration centrale du ministère des Affaires mondiales, M. Levin a notamment occupé pendant deux ans le poste de chef de cabinet du sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères. Il était aussi directeur des opérations au Secrétariat de la politique étrangère et de la défense au Bureau du Conseil privé (le service de politique étrangère et de défense du premier ministre), à Ottawa.

Avant d’entrer au service du ministère des Affaires mondiales, M. Levin a enseigné la littérature anglaise à l’Université de Milan et a travaillé pour Amnistie internationale au Canada.

Matthew Levin est né à Winnipeg. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université du Manitoba, au Canada, et d’une maîtrise en économie internationale du Monterey Institute of International Studies, à Monterey, en Californie. Il est marié à Rosalba Imbrogno Levin. Le couple a trois enfants d’âge adulte.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-03-13