Women’s Parliamentary Participation is Essential


South Asia regional tour inspires dialogue and results

"We are all working to the same end…and that is to support strengthened women’s political participation at all levels of government…(this) is not only a human rights issue, but is also an essential component of sustainable development, social justice, peace, and security."
 
-Shelley Whiting, High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka


#Femparl delegates


While considerable strides have been made throughout South Asia, and in Canada, in increasing and supporting women’s political participation, more work remains to be done. 

Canadian High Commissions (Sri Lanka, India, Afghanistan and Pakistan) in the South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) region came together to organise a Women Parliamentarian Regional Tour in February 2016 #FemParl to host a regional dialogue amongst women parliamentarians.

Women’s leadership in governance, the economy and civil society enable the transformation of social, political and economic processes to work in favor of women and gender equality.

This initiative, which included leading women parliamentarians from Afghanistan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, served as a platform for women parliamentarians in the region, and other leaders in democracy and governance, to help build a dialogue.


Women’s Participation is Essential

"The participants of this initiative come from countries in the region with rich political and cultural heritages and share the experience of being women leaders…I…look forward to sharing perspectives on best practices, challenges, opportunities and next steps in our respective countries and the region with regard to increasing women’s political participation – which I believe is key to strong and healthy democracies."
 
-Shelley Whiting, High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka


The importance local governments and organizations are placing on women’s parliamentary participation was clear as key meetings with key Sri Lanka and Indian parliamentarians and high-level government officials, including the Sri Lankan Prime Minister, and civil society activists promoting women’s political participation were included in the program.

The Results are In!

  • On February 10, shortly after the conclusion of the #FemParl event, the Sri Lankan Parliament passed a Bill to establish a quota of 25% women in local governments.
  • The Minister of Women and Child Affairs delivered a speech on the floor of the House, and referred to both Prime Minister Trudeau and this #FemParl Women Parliamentarians Tour.
  • The government of Sri Lanka has launched a constitutional reform process, which will result in a new constitution. 
  • The Canadian High Commission in Sri Lanka, through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, is supporting Women and Media Collective, along with IFES, two of the participants in the Women Parliamentarians Tour, to form a group which would prepare and propose draft language on women's rights within the new constitution. Canada will support this critical constitutional process with Sri Lanka, ensuring the inclusion of women’s voices in all aspects of the process.

Canada is proud to have been able to serve as a platform to bring key stakeholders together and to contribute to important breakthroughs in the region. 

Canada looks forward to further opportunities to support the development of true equality for women in the region.

“Never retreat, never explain, never apologize. Get the thing done and let them howl.”
 
– Nellie McClung, Canadian suffragette from Manitoba, 1916

La participation essentielle des femmes au sein du Parlement


Une visite régionale de l’Asie méridionale inspire le dialogue et des résultats

Nous travaillons toutes et tous vers un but commun, [...] soit soutenir le renforcement de la participation des femmes en politique au sein de tous les ordres de gouvernement. [...] Il s’agit non seulement d’un enjeu de droits de la personne, mais également d’un élément crucial du développement durable, de la justice sociale, de la paix et de la sécurité

-Shelley Whiting, haute-commissaire du Canada au Sri Lanka


#Femparl Delegates.

Bien que d’énormes progrès aient été accomplis à la grandeur de l’Asie méridionale, ainsi qu’au Canada, en matière d’accroissement et de soutien de la participation des femmes en politique, il reste encore du travail à faire. 

Les hauts-commissariats du Canada (Sri Lanka, Inde, Afghanistan et Pakistan) de la région de l’association pour la coopération régionale en Asie méridionale (SAARC) se sont rassemblés dans le but d’organiser une visite régionale des femmes du Parlement en février 2016 #FemParl, et ce, pour accueillir un dialogue régional parmi les femmes du Parlement.

Le leadership des femmes sur le plan de la gouvernance, de l’économie et de la société civile permet la transformation des processus politiques et socioéconomiques en faveur des femmes et de l’égalité des sexes.

Cette initiative, qui comprend les grandes figures féminines du Parlement d’Afghanistan, d’Inde, des Maldives, du Népal, du Pakistan et du Sri Lanka, a servi de plateforme pour les femmes du Parlement dans la région, ainsi que d’autres chefs de file de la démocratie et la gouvernance, et ce, afin d’aider au dialogue.


La participation des femmes est essentielle

Les participantes à cette initiative viennent de pays dans la région avec de forts patrimoines culturels et politiques et partagent l’expérience d’être des femmes dirigeantes. [...] Je me réjouis à l’idée du partage de divers points de vue sur les pratiques exemplaires, défis, possibilités et étapes à venir dans nos pays respectifs et la région, et ce, dans l’optique d’accroître la participation des femmes à la politique, ce qui selon moi constitue la condition essentielle pour des démocraties solides et saines.

-Shelley Whiting, haute-commissaire du Canada au Sri Lanka

Des rencontres fondamentales avec de principaux membres du Parlement du Sri Lanka et d’Inde, des hauts fonctionnaires (dont le premier ministre du Sri Lanka) et des militants de la société civile visant à encourager la participation des femmes à la politique comprises dans le programme ont permis de clarifier l’importance que les gouvernements et organismes locaux accordent à la participation des femmes au sein du Parlement.

Les résultats sont maintenant connus!

  • Le 10 février, peu après la conclusion de l’événement #FemParl, le Parlement sri-lankais a adopté un projet de loi visant à établir un quota de 25 % de femmes au sein des gouvernements locaux.
  • La ministre de la Condition des femmes et des enfants a prononcé un discours à la Chambre et a mentionné le premier ministre Trudeau, ainsi que la visite des femmes du Parlement #FemParl.
  • Le gouvernement du Sri Lanka a lancé une réforme constitutionnelle qui donnera une nouvelle constitution. 
    Le haut-commissariat du Canada au Sri Lanka, par le biais du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, appuie le Women and Media Collective et l’IFES, deux organismes qui participent à la visite des femmes du Parlement, dans l’optique de former un groupe en mesure de préparer et proposer un libellé provisoire sur les droits des femmes au sein de la nouvelle constitution.
  • Le Canada appuie ce processus constitutionnel essentiel avec le Sri Lanka et veille à ce que les voix des femmes soient entendues dans tous les aspects du processus.

Le Canada est heureux de pouvoir servir de plateforme permettant de regrouper les principaux intervenants et de contribuer à des percées d’envergure dans la région. 

Le Canada attend avec impatience de participer à d’autres occasions de soutenir la promotion d’une véritable égalité pour les femmes de la région.

Il ne faut jamais battre en retraite, ne jamais s’expliquer ni jamais s’excuser. Faites ce que doit et laissez-les hurler.

– Nellie McClung, suffragette canadienne du Manitoba, 1916