Canada’s Queen’s School of Business to Promote Canadian Education in Sri Lanka

Colombo, Sri Lanka, September 10, 2015 – Queen’s University School of Business, an acclaimed higher learning institute will be visiting Sri Lanka to promote its Master of Business Administration (MBA) program for Sri Lankan students.  The School will be meeting with prospective students and parents on Thursday 17 September 2015, from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. at the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel, Colombo. The event is open to the public.

Queen’s School of Business housed within Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario is one of the world’s premier business schools and is renowned for exceptional programs, outstanding faculty and research, and the quality of its graduates. MBA degrees from Queen’s have been ranked in the Financial Times top 100 global rankings for 2015.

The High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka Her Excellency Shelley Whiting stated that “the visit of Queen’s comes at a time when there is an increased demand in Sri Lanka for the high quality, world recognized qualifications offered in Canada. I am pleased that there has been growing interest from many Canadian educational institutions to explore opportunities in the Sri Lankan market and to attract high-achieving students”.  

Education qualifications offered in Canada are recognized and respected the world over. Students learn in an environment that is cost-competitive, diverse, welcoming and safe and these programs of study build skills, knowledge and competencies necessary for exciting and successful careers. The High Commission of Canada in Sri Lanka is actively engaged in promoting the education sector as part of the effort to build bilateral trade relations between Canada and Sri Lanka. The visit of Queen’s School of Business is supported by the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS), the Canadian government’s network of trade professionals that promotes Canadian goods and services, facilitates innovation and R&D, as well as builds networks between Sri Lanka and Canada.

Queen’s University will be visiting Sri Lanka as a part of ‘The MBA Tour’, an independent initiative offering unique opportunities for top business schools and potential students for engagement and interaction.  

Further information on the TCS, or the High Commission of Canada, can be obtained from:

Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tel: 522 6232 Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

L’école de commerce Queen’s du Canada promeut l’enseignement canadien à Sri Lanka

Colombo, Sri Lanka, le 10 septembre 2015 – L’école universitaire de commerce Queen’s, institut d’études supérieures de renom, sera en visite à Sri Lanka pour promouvoir son programme de maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) auprès d’étudiants sri lankais. L’école va rencontrer des jeunes susceptibles d’être intéressés et leurs parents le jeudi 17 septembre 2015, entre 17 et 22 heures, au Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel à Colombo. Cet évènement est ouvert à tous.

L’école de commerce Queen’s, qui fait partie de l’Université de Queen’s à Kingston en Ontario, est l’une des meilleures écoles de commerce au niveau mondial. Elle doit sa très bonne réputation à des programmes exceptionnels, un excellent corps enseignant à l’origine de remarquables travaux de recherche, et le niveau élevé de ses diplômés. Les diplômes de MBA de Queen’s sont dans le classement mondial des 100 meilleurs programmes en 2015 établi par le Financial Times.

La Haute Commissaire du Canada à Sri Lanka, Son Excellence Madame Shelley Whiting, a d’ailleurs déclaré : “la visite de l’école Queen’s arrive à un moment où s’exprime à Sri Lanka une demande croissante pour des diplômes de grande qualité, reconnus mondialement et disponibles au Canada. Je suis ainsi heureuse d’annoncer qu’il existe un intérêt grandissant de la part des instituts d’études canadiens pour explorer les potentialités du marché sri lankais et ainsi être en mesure d’attirer les étudiants les plus à même de réussir. »  

Les diplômes disponibles au Canada sont reconnus et respectés dans le monde entier. Les étudiants apprennent dans un cadre compétitif - en matière de coûts -, polyvalent, accueillant et sécurisé. Ces programmes d’études développent les compétences, les connaissances et les atouts nécessaires pour entamer des carrières stimulantes et réussies. Le Haut-Commissariat du Canada à Sri Lanka cherche  à promouvoir activement le secteur éducatif, comme une partie prenante de ses efforts de développement des échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et le Sri Lanka. La visite de l’école de commerce de Queen’s est soutenue par le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (TCS), le réseau canadien de professionnels du commerce, attachés à la promotion des biens et services canadiens, pour faciliter l’innovation, la recherche et le développement, tout en élaborant des réseaux entre les deux pays.

La visite de l’Université de Queen’s à Sri Lanka fait partie d’un ‘MBA Tour’, une initiative indépendante unique pour permettre à d’éventuels étudiants d’interagir avec les meilleures écoles de commerce.

Pour plus d’information sur le TCS ou le Haut-Commissariat du Canada, veuillez contacter : 

Indirani Jayawardena 
Agent en charge des questions politiques 
Haute Commission du Canada 
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3 
Tél. : 522 6232  Ext. : 3352,  
E-mail : indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca