Canada continues support to make Sri Lanka ‘Mine-Free’

Colombo, Sri Lanka, April 1, 2015 – The High Commission of Canada to Sri Lanka and Maldives is pleased to mark ‘International Day for Mine Awareness and Assistance in Mine Action’ on 4 April with the announcement of continued Canadian support to Sri Lanka’s efforts to create a mine-free environment following the conclusion of the war in 2009.  

The Government of Canada will provide $850 000 in support of work by the Mines Advisory Group (MAG) to remove landmines in the Mannar District in Sri Lanka, facilitating the release of over 1,000 ha of highly productive farm land for the resettling over 500 families.

The High Commissioner of Canada, Her Excellency Shelley Whiting, stated “this funding will play a role in keeping Sri Lankans living in mine-affected areas safe. It builds on the significant work already undertaken in mine clearing in the country. The devastating impact of landmines on civilians is without question.  It is my hope that the considerable work undertaken by the Government of Sri Lanka, with the support of partners such as Canada, will save lives, facilitate returns and lead to eventual ratification of relevant international treaties aimed at bringing an end to the use of these indiscriminate weapons.”

The International Day for Mine Awareness and Assistance in Mine Action calls for continued efforts by States to foster the establishment and development of national mine-action capacities in countries, where mines and explosive remnants of war constitute a serious threat to the safety, or an impediment to social and economic development.

The 2015 theme of the International Day for Mine Awareness and Assistance in Mine Action 'More than Mines' takes into account the various types of explosive threats faced by countries and brings attention to the importance of eliminating the different types of explosive hazards. 

In keeping with this theme, the Government of Canada announced, on March 17th, Canada’s ratification of the Convention on Cluster Munitions, and $2.4 million in support of demining efforts, including demining activities in Sri Lanka.  With this announcement “Canada is taking action to rid the world of cluster munitions because of the devastating impact they have on civilians” stated Rob Nicholson, Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs.

This new funding builds on previous significant Government of Canada contributions to demining efforts in Sri Lanka through support to international mine clearing organizations such as MAG and HALO Trust, whose operations have resulted in removing a large variety of explosive devices from former conflict areas. This has in turn helped to resettle thousands of displaced people in their original places of abode.

-30-

For Further information, media representatives may contact:

Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3

Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

Le Canada prolonge son soutien pour débarrasser Sri Lanka des mines antipersonnel

Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1er avril 2015 - Le Haut-commissariat du Canada  au Sri Lanka et aux Maldives est heureux d’annoncer à l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la sensibilisation au problème des mines et de l’assistance à la lutte antimines, le 4 avril, le renouvellement du soutien canadien aux efforts du Sri Lanka pour débarrasser le pays des mines comme suite à la fin de la guerre en 2009.

Le gouvernement du Canada fournira 850 000 $ pour soutenir le travail du Mines Advisory Group (MAG) afin d’éliminer les mines terrestres dans le district de Mannar au Sri Lanka, facilitant ainsi l’accès à plus de 1 000 ha de terres agricoles de grand rendement et la réinstallation de plus de 500 familles.

Le Haut-commissaire du Canada, Son Excellence Madame Shelley Whiting, a déclaré que « ce financement jouera un rôle important dans le maintien en sécurité des Sri Lankais vivant dans ces zones touchées par les mines. Il s’appuie sur le volumineux travail de déminage déjà entrepris dans le pays qui démontre combien l'impact dévastateur des mines terrestres sur les civils est indubitable. J’espère que le travail considérable entrepris par le gouvernement sri lankais, avec le soutien de partenaires tel que le Canada, pourra sauver des vies, faciliter les retours des populations dans les zones infestées et conduire à une éventuelle ratification de traités internationaux sur ce point visant à mettre un terme à l'utilisation de ces armes qui frappent sans discrimination."

La Journée internationale de la sensibilisation au problème des mines et de l’assistance à la lutte antimines appelle à la poursuite des efforts des États à promouvoir la constitution et le développement de dispositifs antimines nationaux, dans les pays où il reste des mines et des explosifs de guerre constituant de la sorte une menace grave pour la sécurité et un obstacle au développement social et économique

« Bien Plus que des Mines » (More than Mines) qui est le thème en 2015 de la Journée internationale de la sensibilisation au problème des mines et de l’assistance à la lutte antimines prend en compte les différents types de menaces occasionnées par des explosifs auxquelles les pays doivent faire face et attire l'attention sur l'importance d'éradiquer tous les effets néfastes dus à ces engins.

Dans la continuité de ce thème, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé, le 17 mars, que le Canada avait ratifié la Convention sur les Armes à sous-munitions, et que 2,4 millions de dollars allaient contribuer aux efforts de déminage, y compris ceux au Sri Lanka. Avec cette déclaration « le Canada prend des mesures pour débarrasser le monde des armes à sous-munitions en raison de leur impact dévastateur sur les civils », a déclaré Rob Nicholson, ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada.

Ce nouveau financement s’ajoute aux précédentes et significatives contributions du Gouvernement du Canada aux efforts de déminage au Sri Lanka à travers le soutien à des organisations internationales spécialisées dans le déminage tel MAG et HALO Trust, dont les opérations ont conduit à la collecte d'une grande variété de dispositifs explosifs dans d’anciennes zones de conflit. Des milliers de personnes déplacées ont ainsi pu regagner leurs lieux d’habitation d'origine.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants médias peuvent contacter :

Indirani Jayawardena
Agent responsable des questions politiques
Haut-commissariat du Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3

Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352,
Courriel: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca