Canadian Volunteer Cooperation Program recommences activities in Sri Lanka

Colombo, August 26, 2015 – The High Commission of Canada is pleased to announce the return of the UNITERRA volunteer cooperation program in Sri Lanka implemented by World University Service of Canada (WUSC) and the Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI). The five year program will support the development of inclusive market opportunities for the tea, garment, and tourism and hospitality sectors through the exchange of skilled volunteers.  The UNITERRA program, which was in operation in Sri Lanka for five years prior to its interruption in 2009, will bring together, once again, Sri Lankans and Canadians for enhanced technical cooperation while fostering lasting friendships and interactions between the various communities.

The High Commissioner of Canada, Her Excellency Shelley Whiting, met with the first batch of Canadian and Sri Lankan volunteers on August 6th, stating “I am delighted at the recommencement of the UNITERRA exchange program, which builds on decades of volunteer exchanges between Canada and Sri Lanka. This program will further the close relations between our two countries while contributing to sustainable economic growth in high-demand sectors in Sri Lanka”.  

Under this program, UNITERRA volunteers will build capacity and facilitate linkages between sectors and supporting contributors, such as Chambers of Commerce and vocational training institutes, to better respond to the employment needs of women and youth across the island. The volunteers will identify the key needs of each sector and develop exchanges to share skills, with the purpose of improving the employability of women and youth.  The tea, garment, and tourism and hospitality sectors, are the focus for the program as these industries are in high demand, offer long term opportunities and have high income earning potential for women and youth. Another central feature of the program will be to promote quality and dignity of employment.      

UNITERRA is a global volunteer program spanning 14 countries and is focused on improving socio-economic conditions by strengthening networks and organizations and pooling expertise and knowledge. It is funded by the Government of Canada’s Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD), and jointly implemented by World University Service of Canada (WUSC) and the Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI).

-30-

For further information, media representatives may contact:
Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

Le programme de coopération volontaire du Canada reprend ses activités au Sri Lanka

Colombo, le 26 août 2015 – Le Haut-commissariat du Canada est heureux d’annoncer le retour du programme de coopération volontaire UNITERRA au Sri Lanka, mis en place par l'Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (EUMC) et le Centre d’étude et de coopération international (CECI). Ce programme de cinq ans soutiendra le développement d’opportunités de marché intégratives dans les secteurs du thé, du textile, du tourisme et de l’hôtellerie grâce à l’échange de volontaires qualifiés. Le programme UNITERRA, qui fut déjà institué au Sri Lanka pendant cinq ans avant son interruption en 2009, unira de nouveau Sri Lankais et Canadiens en une coopération technique de pointe tout en cultivant des amitiés durables et des échanges entre les différentes communautés.

La Haute-commissaire du Canada, son Excellence Madame Shelley Whiting, a rencontré le premier groupe de volontaires canadiens et sri lankais le 6 août dernier, déclarant : « Je suis ravie de la reprise du programme d’échange UNITERRA qui s’est construit sur des décennies de rencontres entre volontaires du Canada et du Sri Lanka. Ce programme va renforcer les relations étroites entre nos deux pays tout en contribuant à la stabilité de la croissance économique dans des secteurs à forte demande au Sri Lanka. »

Sous l’égide de ce programme, les volontaires d’UNITERRA vont contribuer à améliorer les compétences et faciliter les liens entre certains secteurs et leurs contributeurs, tels que les chambres de commerce et les instituts de formation professionnelle et ce, afin de répondre plus particulièrement aux besoins en matière d’emploi des femmes et des jeunes dans toute l’île. Les volontaires vont identifier les besoins clés de chaque secteur et développer des échanges pour partager leurs compétences avec le but d’améliorer l’employabilité des femmes et des jeunes. Les secteurs du thé, du textile, du tourisme et de l’hôtellerie sont ainsi les cibles prioritaires du programme, puisque ces industries suscitent une forte demande, offrent des opportunités sur le long terme et ont de surcroît un potentiel de revenus élevé pour les femmes et les jeunes. Un autre axe prioritaire du programme sera de promouvoir la qualité et la dignité des emplois.

UNITERRA est un programme de volontariat mondial présent dans 14 pays, centré sur l’amélioration des conditions socio-économiques grâce à la consolidation des réseaux et des organisations en associant expertise et connaissance. Ce programme est financé par le Ministère canadien des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD) et est mis en œuvre en partenariat avec l'Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (EUMC) et le Centre d’étude et de coopération internationale (CECI).

-30-

Pour plus d’information, les chargés de communication peuvent contacter :

Indirani Jayawardena
Agent responsable des questions politiques
Haut Commissariat du Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tél. : 522 6232 Ext. : 3352,
Courriel : indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca