Top Canadian Universities to tour Sri Lanka to Promote Canadian Education

Colombo, Sri Lanka, August 19, 2015 – Eight of Canada’s leading universities are visiting Sri Lanka from August 30th to September 1st, 2015 to meet with top students and showcase Canada as a destination of choice for higher education. This will mark the Council of International Schools (CIS) Canadian University Tour’s first visit to Sri Lanka during which the group will meet with schools in Colombo.

The High Commission is pleased to host the CIS tour and contribute to raising awareness within Sri Lanka of the high quality education available to international students in Canada.

“Sri Lanka is emerging as an important source of talented undergraduate students,” said Marc Bavin of The University of British Columbia and CIS Tour Director. “Students coming from Sri Lanka are sought for their academic strength and the unique perspectives and relationships they bring to Canadian university campuses and the broader community. Each year we are seeing more students choosing Canada as their first choice for study. Students from Sri Lanka are drawn to Canada’s flexible work experience options and our universities’ international reputation for academic excellence, state-of-the-art resources, and safe campuses in welcoming locations,” Bavin said.

The tour is of special interest to academically strong students of Sri Lankan national and international curricula who are considering study abroad options, as well as to school guidance counselors and parents.

The universities participating in this year’s tour are: The University of British Columbia, Carleton University, Concordia University, University of Guelph, McGill University, Ryerson University, University of Toronto, York University.

Canadian universities are globally engaged leaders in education through teaching, research and partnerships.  Undergraduate education in Canada is a hybrid of US and UK styles offering breadth of program options, flexibility in choice and a degree that is recognized worldwide.

Students from Sri Lanka choose Canada for a strong education and a positive international experience that provides the foundation for their exciting and successful futures. The quality, affordability and renowned research opportunities are key factors in this decision. University campuses across Canada offer multicultural environments, beautiful spaces and friendly people. Canada’s education system cultivates graduates who are leaders in business, politics, the arts, science and technology.

Council of International Schools Backgrounder - The Council of International Schools (CIS) is a non-profit, international educational organization that facilitates links between institutions of higher education and secondary schools to increase their visibility with school leavers and the school guidance community.  The 30+ CIS Canadian higher education member universities’ interests are supported through the efforts of the eight-person team of member volunteers that comprise the Canadian Higher Education Committee (CHEC). The Committee's goal is to facilitate the exchange of information about Canadian higher education between international schools and the CIS Canadian higher education membership through various activities such as recruitment tours, like the 2015 South Asia tour. This year’s tour is led by Marc Bavin of The University of British Columbia (UBC) in Vancouver and Michelle Beaton of the University of Toronto.

Trade Commissioner Service Backgrounder - The visit of the Council of International schools to Sri Lanka is facilitated and supported by the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) of the Canadian High Commission in Sri Lanka. The TCS is the Canadian government’s network of Trade professionals that promotes Canadian goods and services, facilitates innovation and R&D, as well as builds networks between Sri Lanka and Canada.

-30-

Further information regarding the CIS tour can be obtained from:
Marc Bavin
Tour Director
The University of British Columbia,
Vancouver, British Colombia
Tel: +1.604.827.2744
E-mail: marc.bavin@ubc.ca

Further information on the TCS, or the High Commission of Canada, can be obtained from:
Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

Les meilleurs universités canadiennes en tournée à Sri Lanka pour promouvoir l’enseignement canadien

Colombo, Sri Lanka, le 19 août 2015 – Huit parmi les universités canadiennes les plus cotées seront en visite à Sri Lanka du 30 août au 1er septembre 2015 pour rencontrer les meilleurs étudiants et présenter le Canada comme destination privilégiée pour l’enseignement supérieur. Cet évènement constituera la première visite à Sri Lanka du Conseil des Ecoles Internationales (CIS), dans le cadre d’une tournée des Universités du Canada, durant laquelle le groupe rencontrera des écoles à Colombo.

Le Haut Commissariat est ravi d’accueillir le CIS et ainsi permettre de faire mieux connaître l’enseignement de haute qualité dispensé au Canada et ouvert aux étudiants internationaux.

« Le Sri Lanka possède une source importante de très bons étudiants de premier cycle », a déclaré Marc Bavin de l’Université de Colombie britannique et directeur de la tournée du CIS. « Les étudiants de Sri Lanka sont recherchés pour les compétences académiques, les perspectives et la sociabilité qu’ils apportent aux campus des universités canadiennes et à leur communauté élargie. Chaque année, on observe une hausse des étudiants optant pour le Canada comme premier choix pour leur éducation supérieure. Les étudiants de Sri Lanka sont attirés par le Canada pour ses possibilités de travail plus flexibles et la réputation internationale de ses universités - lieux d’excellence académique, munies d’équipements de pointe, avec des campus sécurisés dans des environnements accueillants » a déclaré Bavin.

Cette tournée est particulièrement intéressante pour les meilleurs étudiants Sri Lankais, académiquement parlant, s’étant déjà engagés dans un parcours national ou international, et qui envisagent d’étudier à l’étranger, de même qu’elle intéresse aussi les parents et les conseillers d’orientation.

Cette année, les universités participant à la tournée sont : l’Université de Colombie Britannique, l’Université de Carleton, l’Université de Concordia, l’Université de Guelph, l’Université de McGill, l’Université de Ryerson, l’Université de Toronto et l’Université d’York.

Les universités canadiennes sont globalement des leaders en matière d’éducation, engagées au niveau mondial à travers leur enseignement, la recherche et leurs partenariats. L’enseignement universitaire au Canada est une combinaison des modes américain et britannique, offrant ainsi de nombreuses options dans les programmes, une grande variété de choix, et des diplômes mondialement reconnus.

Les étudiants de Sri Lanka choisissent le Canada pour obtenir une éducation de qualité et vivre une expérience internationale positive fournissant une base solide pour se préparer un avenir stimulant et réussi. La qualité, le caractère abordable et les opportunités de recherche avérées sont les facteurs clés dans ce choix. Les campus universitaires du Canada se définissent par un univers humainement chaleureux et accueillant, des environnements multiculturels et des espaces somptueux. Le système éducatif canadien forme des diplômés leaders en affaires, en politique, en arts, en science et en technologie.

Information sur le Conseil des Ecoles Internationales – Le Conseil des Écoles Internationales est une organisation à but non lucratif traitant de l’éducation internationale, dont l’objectif est de faciliter les liens entre les institutions d’éducation supérieure et les écoles secondaires afin d’augmenter leur réputation auprès des jeunes quittant le système scolaire et les conseillers d’orientation scolaire. Les intérêts des 30 universités canadiennes membres de CIS sont défendus par une équipe de huit membres volontaires du Comité d’éducation supérieure du Canada (CHEC). Le but du comité est de faciliter l’échange d’informations au sujet de l’éducation supérieure au Canada entre les écoles internationales et promouvoir l’affiliation au CIS Canada pour l’éducation supérieure et ce, à l’aide de nombreuses activités telles les tournées de recrutement, comme la tournée d’Asie du Sud de 2015. La tournée, cette année, est dirigée par Marc Bavin de l’Université de Colombie britannique (UBC)  à Vancouver et Michelle Beaton de l’Université de Toronto.

Informations sur le Service des Délégués Commerciaux – La visite du Conseil des Écoles Internationales à Sri Lanka est rendue possible et soutenue grâce au Service des Délégués Commerciaux (TCS) du Haut Commissariat du Canada à Sri Lanka. Le TCS est le réseau des professionnels du commerce du gouvernement Canadien qui promeut les biens et services canadiens, facilite l’innovation, la recherche et le développement, et construit les réseaux entre le Canada et le Sri Lanka.

-30-

Pour plus d’informations à propos de la tournée CIS, contacter :
Marc Bavin
Directeur de la tournée
Université de la Colombie britannique
Vancouver, British Colombia
Tel: +1.604.827.2744
E-mail: marc.bavin@ubc.ca

Plus d’informations à propos du TCS ou du Haut-commissariat du Canada, peuvent être obtenues en contactant :
Indirani Jayawardena
Agent en charge des questions politiques
Haut Commissariat du Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tél. : 522 6232 Ext. : 3352,
E-mail : indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca