Canada’s University of Calgary partners with Universities of Moratuwa and Peradeniya to grant scholarships

Colombo, August 12, 2015 – The High Commission of Canada is pleased  to announce that two Sri Lankan universities have been selected to benefit from the Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships program launched by the Government of Canada to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne. This program facilitates Canadian and other international Commonwealth students to pursue their undergraduate and graduate level studies in Canada and other developing countries in the Commonwealth. The program will provide up to 40 million Canadian dollars towards 1,500 scholarship recipients over five years. The University of Calgary has been granted partial funding from this scholarship program and has selected the Universities of Moratuwa and Peradeniya as partnering institutions to the University of Calgary’s school of engineering and surrounding disaster risk resilience.  The signing of the agreements between the three universities took place in the presence of representatives from the Ministry of Higher Education, the University Grants Commission and distinguished Canadian alumni in Sri Lanka.

The High Commissioner of Canada, Her Excellency Shelley Whiting, speaking at the event stated that “this partnership has opened up great opportunities to strengthen further collaboration between Canada and Sri Lanka in the field of education” and noted “that it will provide great exposure to the next generation of innovative leaders in the two countries to actively contribute to their local and global communities”.

The scholarships aims to encourage the young academics build and share their skills, knowledge and experience and furthering the Commonwealth’s shared goals in democracy and development to achieve their goals as entrepreneurs, public servants, community leaders and academics. The program will support Canadian students to study at one of the partner institutions in Sri Lanka, and in turn students from Sri Lanka to come to the University of Calgary through 2018. The agreement is fully supported by the Canadian High Commission’s Trade Commissioner Service (TCS), the Canadian government’s network of Trade professionals that promote Canadian goods and services, facilitate innovation and R&D, as well as build networks between the two countries.  Canada is a much sought after destination for high quality and affordable education.

-30-

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Indirani Jayawardena

Political Officer

High Commission of Canada

33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3

Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352, E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

L’université canadienne de Calgary en partenariat avec les universités de Moratuwa et Peradeniya accorde des bourses étudiantes 

Colombo, le 12 août 2015 - Le Haut Commissariat du Canada est ravi d’annoncer la sélection de deux universités sri-lankaises pour bénéficier de bourses étudiantes grâce au programme « Bourses canadiennes du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II », lancé par le gouvernement du Canada en l’honneur du 60e anniversaire de l’accession au trône de sa Majesté, la Reine Elizabeth II. Ce programme encourage les étudiants canadiens et d’autres pays du Commonwealth à entreprendre des études supérieures au Canada ou dans d’autres pays du Commonwealth. Le programme fournira jusqu’à 40 millions de dollars canadiens qui seront attribués à 1 500 boursiers sur une durée de cinq ans. Il subventionne en partie l’Université de Calgary et cette dernière a choisi les Universités de Moratuwa et de Peradeniya comme partenaires pour son école d’ingénierie et de réduction des risques de catastrophes. La signature des accords entre les trois universités a eu lieu en présence de représentants du Ministère de l’enseignement supérieur, de la Commission des bourses universitaires et d’anciens étudiants au Canada à Sri Lanka.

La Haute Commissaire du Canada, son Excellence Shelley Whiting, qui s’est exprimée durant la cérémonie, a indiqué que « ce partenariat a créé de grandes opportunités pour renforcer la collaboration en matière d’éducation entre le Canada et Sri Lanka » et elle a précisé qu’« il offrira une superbe expérience à la prochaine génération de leaders de nos deux pays pour une plus grande participation dans leur communauté, à l’échelle locale comme mondiale ».  

Ces bourses ont pour but d’encourager les jeunes étudiants à développer et à partager leurs compétences, connaissances et expériences pour accomplir les objectifs des pays du Commonwealth en terme de démocratie, de développement, mais aussi pour leur permettre d’atteindre leurs propres objectifs d’entrepreneurs, de fonctionnaires, de chefs de file et d’enseignants. Le programme soutiendra des étudiants canadiens pour venir étudier dans l’une des institutions partenaires à Sri Lanka, mais aussi, en retour, aidera des étudiants Sri Lankais à se rendre à l’Université de Calgary en 2018. L’accord est soutenu par le Service des Délégués commerciaux du Haut Commissariat du Canada (TCS), le réseau de professionnels du commerce du gouvernement Canadien qui promeut les biens et services canadiens, facilite l’innovation, la recherche et le développement, et construit les réseaux entre les deux pays. Le Canada est une destination prisée pour son éducation abordable et d’excellente qualité. 

-30-

Pour plus d’information, les chargés de communication peuvent contacter :
Indirani Jayawardena
Agent en charge des questions politiques
Haut Commissariat du Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
Tél. : 522 6232 Ext. : 3352,
E-mail : indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca