Canada and Sri Lanka launch skilled volunteer program to support economic and employment opportunities for women and youth

Colombo, March 3, 2016 – Ms. Susan Gregson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Global Affairs Canada and Mr. Priyantha Rathnayake, Director General, Ministry of National Policies and Economic Affairs, today signed a memorandum in favour of a Canadian Volunteer Cooperation Program in Sri Lanka. This five year program, called UNITERRA, will support the growth of market and employment opportunities of women and youth in the garment, tourism and hospitality sectors through the exchange of skilled volunteers.

The High Commissioner of Canada, Her Excellency Shelley Whiting expressed delight with the UNITERRA volunteer program in Sri Lanka, noting that “the program will foster closer relations between our two countries while contributing to sustainable economic growth in sectors of significant importance to the Sri Lankan economy." High Commissioner Whiting noted that "UNITERRA will bring valued technical assistance, create opportunities for enhanced cooperation and build lasting friendships between the Canadian and Sri Lankan participants.”

Funded by Global Affairs Canada, UNITERRA is a global volunteer program spanning 14 countries. UNITERRA is focused on improving socio-economic conditions by strengthening networks and organizations and pooling expertise and knowledge. The UNITERRA program is being implemented in Sri Lanka by World University Service of Canada (WUSC) and the Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI).

For Further information, media representatives may contact:

Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3

Tel: 522 6232  Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

Le Canada et Sri Lanka lancent un programme de bénévolat qualifié pour soutenir les opportunités économiques et d'emploi pour les femmes et la jeunesse

Colombo, le 3 mars 2016 - Mme Susan Gregson, ministre déléguée adjointe pour les Affaires mondiales Canada, et M. Priyantha Rathnayake, Directeur général au Ministère des Politiques nationales et des Affaires économiques, ont signé aujourd'hui un mémorandum en faveur d'un programme de coopération volontaire du Canada au Sri Lanka. Ce programme de cinq ans, appelé UNITERRA, soutiendra, à travers l'échange de bénévoles qualifiés, la croissance du marché, l'emploi des femmes et des jeunes, dans les secteurs de l'habillement, du tourisme et de l'hôtellerie.

Le Haut-commissaire du Canada, Son Excellence Mme Shelley Whiting a exprimé sa joie de voir ce programme de bénévolat UNITERRA au Sri Lanka se développer, en notant que « le programme favorisera des relations plus étroites entre [les] deux pays, tout en contribuant à la croissance économique durable dans des secteurs très importants pour l'économie du Sri Lanka ». Le Haut- commissaire Whiting a également noté que « UNITERRA apportera une assistance technique de grande valeur, ouvrira des possibilités de coopération renforcée et permettra de nouer des amitiés durables entre les participants canadiens et sri lankais ».                                       

Financé par les Affaires mondiales Canada, UNITERRA est un programme de bénévolat mondial couvrant 14 pays. UNITERRA se concentre sur l'amélioration des conditions socio-économiques en renforçant réseaux et organisations à l’aide d’une mise en commun des expertises et des savoirs. Le programme UNITERRA est mis en œuvre au Sri Lanka par l'Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (EUMC) et le Centre d'études et de coopération internationale (CECI).

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias peuvent contacter

Indirani Jayawardena
Agent responsable des questions politiques
Haut-commissariat du Canada
33A, 5e Ligne, Colombo 3

Tél.: 522 6232 Ext: 3352
Courriel: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca