Women in Parliament: Increased Participation - Strengthened Democracies

Colombo, Sri Lanka, January 29, 2015 – The High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka and Maldives, H.E. Shelley Whiting, today launched the Regional Women’s Parliamentary Initiative which brings leading women parliamentarians from Afghanistan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka together for a two-day series of meetings and discussions in Colombo on opportunities for enhanced women’s political participation in the region.

The Colombo component of this initiative is being organized by the High Commission of Canada to Sri Lanka and Maldives with the cooperation of the Government of Sri Lanka, most specifically the Ministry of Women’s Affairs and the Women’s Parliamentary Caucus, as well as Canadian Embassies and High Commissions in Afghanistan, India, and Pakistan.

Speaking on the importance of women’s political participation, High Commissioner Whiting stated, “we are all working to the same end, whether in Canada, or here in this region, and that is to support strengthened women’s political participation at all levels of government. Canada is committed to the view that gender equality is not only a human rights issue, but is also an essential component of sustainable development, social justice, peace, and security. We’ve all come a long way, and we all have valuable insight to share on how to continue to improve.”

Participating parliamentarians will engage in a series of meetings with key Sri Lanka parliamentarians, government officials and civil society activists promoting women’s political participation. In addition, they will share their views and perspectives on challenges and opportunities to increased political participation during a seminar on January 30 entitled “Because it is 2016” – inspired by a quote from Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau who, when asked why he prioritized gender parity in his Cabinet, responded “Because it is 2015.”

“The participants of this initiative come from countries in the region with rich political and cultural heritages and share the experience of being women leaders. They bring that wealth of knowledge and experience to the table. I am honoured to host them here and look forward to sharing perspectives on best practices, challenges, opportunities and next steps in our respective countries and the region with regard to increasing women’s political participation – which I believe is key to strong and healthy democracies,” stated High Commissioner Whiting.

While considerable strides have been made throughout the region and in Canada in increasing and supporting women’s political participation, more work remains to be done. The objective of the initiative is to foster regional dialogue amongst women parliamentarians on an issue of global and regional importance. The dialogue will also provide a platform for constructive, positive discussions among participants with a view to identifying local and regional synergies and networks and identifying areas for future collaborations.

Media representatives may wish to follow developments in the Regional Women’s Parliamentary Initiative online at http://ow.ly/Xw5Vc or by means of the hashtags #FemParl, #Becauseits2016 and @CanHCSriLanka.

-30-

For Further information, media representatives may contact:

Indirani Jayawardena
Political Officer
High Commission of Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
@CanHCSriLanka
Tel: 522 6232 Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca

Les femmes au Parlement : participation accrue – Démocraties renforcées

Colombo, Sri Lanka, 29 Janvier 2015 - La Haute-Commissaire du Canada à Sri Lanka et aux Maldives, S.E. Mme Shelley Whiting, a lancé aujourd'hui l'Initiative parlementaire régionale pour les Femmes qui regroupe des femmes parlementaires à la tête de l'Afghanistan, l’Inde, les Maldives, le Népal, le Pakistan et le Sri Lanka pour une série de réunions et de discussions, pendant de deux jours à Colombo, dans le but d’améliorer la participation politique des femmes dans la région.

La composante de Colombo pour cette initiative est organisée par le Haut-Commissariat du Canada à Sri Lanka et aux Maldives avec la coopération du gouvernement de Sri Lanka et, plus particulièrement, du Ministère des Affaires des femmes et du Caucus des Femmes parlementaires, ainsi que les ambassades et les hautes-commissions canadiennes en Afghanistan, Inde et Pakistan.

Évoquant l'importance de la participation politique des femmes, la Haute-Commissaire Whiting a déclaré : « nous travaillons tous dans le même but, que ce soit au Canada ou ici dans cette région, celui de soutenir le renforcement de la participation politique des femmes à tous les niveaux du gouvernement. Le Canada est convaincu que l'égalité des sexes est non seulement une question relative aux droits humains, mais qu’elle est également une composante essentielle du développement durable, de la justice sociale, de la paix et de la sécurité. Nous avons tous accompli un long parcours et nous avons tous des informations précieuses à partager sur la façon de continuer à progresser ».

Les participantes parlementaires assisteront à une série de réunions avec d’influents parlementaires sri-lankais, des responsables gouvernementaux et des militants de la société civile afin de promouvoir la participation politique des femmes. En outre, ils partageront leurs points de vue et leurs perspectives sur les défis et les possibilités d’accroître l’engagement politique des femmes lors d'un séminaire le 30 janvier intitulé « Parce que nous sommes en 2016 » - inspiré par une citation du Premier ministre canadien Justin Trudeau qui, lorsqu'on lui a demandé pourquoi il posait en priorité la parité des sexes dans son cabinet, a répondu « Parce que nous sommes en 2015 ».

« Les participantes à cette initiative viennent de pays de la région munis de riches héritages politiques et culturels, partageant également l'expérience d'être des femmes dirigeantes. Elles apportent à la table des débats cette richesse de connaissances et d'expériences. Je suis honorée de les accueillir ici et je me réjouis des perspectives partagées pour de meilleures pratiques, les défis, les opportunités et les prochaines étapes à entreprendre dans nos pays respectifs et dans la région en vue d'augmenter la participation politique des femmes – ce qui, je crois, est la clé pour construire des démocraties fortes et saines », a déclaré la Haute-Commissaire Whiting.

Alors que des progrès considérables ont été réalisés dans la région et au Canada afin d’accroître et de soutenir la participation politique des femmes, bien du travail cependant reste encore à accomplir. L'objectif de l'initiative est de promouvoir le dialogue régional entre femmes parlementaires sur une question d'importance mondiale et régionale. Le dialogue fournira également une plate-forme pour des discussions constructives et positives entre les participants en vue de d'identifier des synergies et des réseaux locaux et régionaux ainsi que de nouveaux domaines pour de futures collaborations.

Les représentants des médias qui souhaiteraient suivre l'évolution de l'Initiative parlementaire régionale pour les Femmes peuvent se rendre en ligne sur http://ow.ly/Xw5Vc ou consulter les hashtags #FemParl, # Becauseits2016 et @CanHCSriLanka.

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias peuvent contacter

Indirani Jayawardena
Agent en charge des questions politiques
Haute-Commissariat du Canada
33A, 5th Lane, Colombo 3
@CanHCSriLanka
Tél. : 522 6232 Ext: 3352,
E-mail: indirani.jayawardena@international.gc.ca